Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Melinda from St Louis

Our last minute choice.

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
We planned a late vacation at high season so not many places were available. This Inn was adequate but not for a person who is picky. The beds were quite comfortable and the rooms were clean. I was expecting a bit more charm since the building was built in 1799 but the ceilings are low and renovations were so-so. It has a nice patio area and a nice restaurant and bar. We got a two bedroom suite for two couples with a shared bath. The only problem was that the shared bath was in one of the bedrooms rather than between them so that you had to go through the other person's room to get to the bathroom. In a pinch, it will do.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

historically charming

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Clean room with comfy bed. Loved the charm and history of this 117 year old mansion/inn! Small town hospitality at its finest!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but t disappointed

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Wrong bed size and told there was because it was an Internet order. No breakfast but told we could go to the bakery next door and get 10% off our purchase.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

A small room with an unpleasant smell.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: It is nicely situated in the downtown area.
Cons: the general condition of the inn needs work.
Location: Not an issue for our stay.
The room was unusually small for having a king size bed. The furniture was old and mismatched and the entire room had an odd, unpleasant smell. The room was in no way similar to the photo which was used to represent the rooms at this inn. We did not stay for the duration booked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible DO NOT GO HERE

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely disgusting!! Indoor camping at best!
5 out of 5
by Amber from New York NY

Spooked?

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
I was really pumped when I found The Kennebunk Inn online for I love staying at "Haunted locations" as much as possible to increase my chances of seeing something paranormal. I saw that the reviews werent quite good but that most of the negatives were older posts so I went for it and Im glad I did! Service was incredible (Diane at the front desk was super friendly) We were lead to our room, she dropped helpful information along the way. We stayed in the Jefferson Room which had a king sized bed, comfortable. TINY TV (Seriously, we couldnt read ANYTHING off of it. The room was quite big. Bathroom was a bit tiny though (Im 5'9 and the shower was pretty low)Everything is almost jammed together tightly in the bathroom. After 9pm, the inn pretty much closes down. Im not sure how many other rooms they had booked but it felt like zero because it got QUIET. We didnt see a single other person till around 9am the next morning. Theres no one at the front desk, restaurant/bar closes down. It almost felt like you had to fend for yourself. Its a pretty good sized inn so it was really creepy feeling isolated. (Make sure you grab snacks and drinks for the rest of the night cause you wont find anything at the inn) Which was PERFECT for our haunted night... But we didnt see any ghosts, I felt EXTREMELY comfortable and slept like a baby. (Though, my bag did seem to throw itself off the bed right when we got there. It was weird.) I liked it, definitely would stay at again.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Massachusetts

Disappointing

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
the accomodations are old, tired and unfriendly. very disappointing stay.We were there over a holiday and expected it to be quiet but not to the point of having no Inn emoployees available to answer questions. The desk had NO reception except for the day of check IN when a nice young lady showed us to our rooms but was difficult to understnad due to a heavy accent. After that we were on our own to wander around and fugure things out.........Hospitality was very much lacking!
5 out of 5
by Joanne from Nevada

Who could imagine such great weather in Dec.?

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Went during Christmas Prelude--very relaxing, weather ws excellent (60's during day 28-30 at nite during the first week of December!) Explored Oqunquit, went to Freeport and LL Beans, hit the Maine Diner). Very relaxing and enjoyable. Inn staff were great--tavern a must visit.