Ratings based on 1,347 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Centrally located hotel with spacious rooms

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Location: Central downtown location. Walking distance from many of the downtown sights and shopping in Portland. Close to Amtrak station.
We had a great stay. We booked a corner room for our party--a couple with one teen--and found it to be spacious and relaxing. The decor is modern and attractive. We slept very well on the comfortable mattresses and pillows. We had a good breakfast in the restaurant on the 8th floor, Urban Farmer. The space is really attractive and tables are placed in a bunch of little nooks for privacy. There are also a bunch of cozy chairs and couches for relaxing and eating. I went down and had a drink in one of those spots during our stay. There's also a rooftop bar/restaurant, which seems to attract a local crowd in addition to those staying at the hotel. The view is amazing but it was too busy and loud for what we were looking for during this visit. Another time ... Many of the restaurants I wanted to eat in were over in the NE quadrant of the city so we had to go out of the neighborhood for dinner. It was only an $8 Lyft ride though so not a huge trek.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Fantastic!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The modern elegance and all the frills without the uncomfortable formality.
Cons: The Urban Farm was spendy but it was just okay. In their defense, they "made things right" by not charging a few items and threw in a free dessert.
Location: Fantastic location. We were able to walk to everything, including three donut shops to do the Portland donut challenge!
Top notch service with a casual, non-stuffy vibe. Wonderfully appointed guestroom - fluffy robes, plus slippers and waters left out for us during turndown service. Loved the funky lobby with multiple differently-decorated areas to hang out. We were upgraded to a club room, so we got access to the club lounge - very nice!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but beware

Posted Feb 21, 2017
50% of the staff was outstanding while the other 50% bumbled things so badly it made the stay very unpleaset for a hotel where we were paying $550 a night. I have stayed at this Hotel 3 times in the past 6 years and I am disappointed to say they have fallen off their mark substantially and I won't be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
This was my first stay at The Nines. I had been looking forward to it as I had heard so many good things. I was sorely disappointed. I booked and paid for a club floor room on the outside (so you can see out a window to the natural light). We were placed on the 10th floor in a room with a small window to the atrium (very stuffy). The bath room had not been cleaned both the shower and toilet where dirty. I politely alerted the front desk to this on my way out to dinner and asked if they could see to it while I was out. Someone did come to the room as the empty conditioner was refilled but the shower was still gross. Three of us tried to get a drink at Urban Farmer, we waited 20 minutes for any staff member to speak to us and after we ordered 3 basic martinis we waited another 20 minutes before we gave up and let the hostess know we wouldn't need those drinks after all as we had reservations to make. If I had paid a third of the price I could have rolled with a few of these short comings. However I paid a considerable amount and the state of the room and the quality of service was unacceptable. I will not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Lovely stay and will definitely return in the future. Staff was delightful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle

New standard for hotels in Portland

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Portland hotels have been gradually picking up their game over the last decade. The Nines is a big improvement. The rooms are spacious, gracious, quiet, and comfortable. The quiet part is a big deal, because a number of the nicer hotels in Bridgetown are afflicted with 4AM garbage truck banging. The staff was super nice. The big atrium lobby has all kinds of cool, comfy nooks where you can sit and catch up with friends or email. Really nice gym. Cool decor and art, but manages not to be goofy and over-the-top-- some trying-too-hard-to-be-hip places blow it in that respect, but The Nines hits the sweet spot. Food in the lobby restaurant is darned good, too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Slow TV system. Bed too soft. Weird to not have and outside window. Great restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel nice; Hotels.com not so nice!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed the night for our anniversary. The hotel itself was nice. Booking through Hotels.com was the WORST experience I've ever had. And even after I thought I had gotten thru the worst part (of booking), when I got to the hotel they were not able to give me the room that I booked, and paid for I might add, because Hotels.com did not tell them that I upgraded to a city view. If I ever stay downtown Portland again, I may stay at The Nines, but I'll never book through Hotels.com again. I've learned my lesson.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels