Ratings based on 1,239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose ca

Good service, conveniently located in downtown

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: see above, lobby was nice to hang out, Urban farmer had nice brunch, didn't order room service though from what I could tell it looked really good
Cons: The food at Departure could be improved, didn't see any DVD player to watch one on our movies that we brought
Location: Great location, everything was close, could walk everywhere
Clean, nice decor, Departure restaurant had beautiful view but the food was ok thought service was excellent, front desk and concierge was very nice and helpful, made beds at night and provided water which was nice touch, room was spacious, hotel was conveniently located to mass transit
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Centrally located and quite expensive.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The convenience and quality of the "Urban Farmer" restaurant is amazing.
Takes a while to get used to the lobby being on the eighth floor. In talking with other guests it was considered expensive when adding the taxes, fees, and a $50 per day parking charge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

This hotel like 2star hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
They don't have pool and they don't have bath top in bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite a 5 Star

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Clean. Lively. Great location. Cordial staff. Minimal room/ bathroom amenities. 4/5 Stars
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

5 Star hotel in heart of downtown Portland shoppin

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Location steps away from shopping, Courthouse and blocks from everything else!
Location: Shopping, dining, tours, food truck central, Voodoo donuts, Stumptown coffee and waterfront. The Nines is the perfect location.
The Nines Hotel is the perfect location in the heart of downtown Portland. Steps away from Portland shopping, monuments, restaurants and just a few blocks away from some of the must-do/must-eat/must-experience things to do. From the valet service to check-in to our stay, the service and staff were very welcoming and very professional. We visited Portland 4th of July weekend and week so it was a busier time but our process was flawless.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Poor business practices at The Nines

Posted Jul 7, 2016
I was recently scheduled to take a business trip to Portland. Unfortunately, several days before the trip was to take place, my business contact had a family emergency come up that took him out of the office. Since I had no other business to attend to in Portland, I had to cancel the trip. The Nines would not allow me to cancel my reservation and refused to reverse the room charges, which had already hit my credit card. This just seems like very poor business practices to me. I understand that I booked a non-refundable rate, but the circumstances that led to my cancellation were not under my control. There is a strong likelihood that I will be traveling to Portland several times again in the near future, but there is little to no chance that I would consider booking at the Nines after this experience. I wish I had a better experience to report, as I was really looking forward to staying in this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Restful Haven in downtown Portland

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything. Oh! If you have a hybrid car, your valet parking is half price. Woo Hoo!
Cons: The plastic seats at the outdoor bar Departure. Very hard to sit on and rather uncomfortable.
Location: Great location. Right downtown, easy walking to the art museum, Pearl Districe, Powels bookstore, the river. Restaurants everywhere!
Valet, concierge, front desk all friendly and helpful. Room was very nice, lovely furnishings, clean smelling, very quiet (somewhat soundproof I guess). Bathroom was spacious and clean. Towels, bathrobes, down (or down like) comforters and pillows fluffy and wonderfully comfortable! Location is right downtown, half a block from Nordstrom's, eating establishments nearby, everything quite walkable. 10 blocks from the art museum, maybe 5 to 8 blocks to the river, 10 blocks to the Pearl district, great location. Roof top bar quite the gathering spot with views all over. Their seating was plastic so..hard. They have huge umbrellas which are needed in the strong Portland sun, but still a fun place to unwind with a frosty drink of any kind. Definitely would recommend The Nines in Portland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in downtown Portland

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Our family had a lovely stay at The Nines. The room was spacious, beautiful and spotless. The staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upscale in heart of Portland. Good with our kids

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Rooms at club level with access to great food and drink amenities
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Business Stay

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Location, walkability, restaurants in atrium on 8th floor, gym, business center, proximity to rail.
Cons: pool/jacuzzi
Location: train across street, restaurants everywhere
Stayed one night on business and enjoyed staff, accommodations, room quality and comfort, great gym, no pool/spa thought ;-(, but proximity of hotel to train and restaurants makes this a great walkable luxury hotel.