Ratings based on 1,329 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Fantastic!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The modern elegance and all the frills without the uncomfortable formality.
Cons: The Urban Farm was spendy but it was just okay. In their defense, they "made things right" by not charging a few items and threw in a free dessert.
Location: Fantastic location. We were able to walk to everything, including three donut shops to do the Portland donut challenge!
Top notch service with a casual, non-stuffy vibe. Wonderfully appointed guestroom - fluffy robes, plus slippers and waters left out for us during turndown service. Loved the funky lobby with multiple differently-decorated areas to hang out. We were upgraded to a club room, so we got access to the club lounge - very nice!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but beware

Posted Feb 21, 2017
50% of the staff was outstanding while the other 50% bumbled things so badly it made the stay very unpleaset for a hotel where we were paying $550 a night. I have stayed at this Hotel 3 times in the past 6 years and I am disappointed to say they have fallen off their mark substantially and I won't be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
This was my first stay at The Nines. I had been looking forward to it as I had heard so many good things. I was sorely disappointed. I booked and paid for a club floor room on the outside (so you can see out a window to the natural light). We were placed on the 10th floor in a room with a small window to the atrium (very stuffy). The bath room had not been cleaned both the shower and toilet where dirty. I politely alerted the front desk to this on my way out to dinner and asked if they could see to it while I was out. Someone did come to the room as the empty conditioner was refilled but the shower was still gross. Three of us tried to get a drink at Urban Farmer, we waited 20 minutes for any staff member to speak to us and after we ordered 3 basic martinis we waited another 20 minutes before we gave up and let the hostess know we wouldn't need those drinks after all as we had reservations to make. If I had paid a third of the price I could have rolled with a few of these short comings. However I paid a considerable amount and the state of the room and the quality of service was unacceptable. I will not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Lovely stay and will definitely return in the future. Staff was delightful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle

New standard for hotels in Portland

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Portland hotels have been gradually picking up their game over the last decade. The Nines is a big improvement. The rooms are spacious, gracious, quiet, and comfortable. The quiet part is a big deal, because a number of the nicer hotels in Bridgetown are afflicted with 4AM garbage truck banging. The staff was super nice. The big atrium lobby has all kinds of cool, comfy nooks where you can sit and catch up with friends or email. Really nice gym. Cool decor and art, but manages not to be goofy and over-the-top-- some trying-too-hard-to-be-hip places blow it in that respect, but The Nines hits the sweet spot. Food in the lobby restaurant is darned good, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel for Black Friday in Portland

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Around the block from the end of Macy's parade, blocks away from tree lighting ceremony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hip luxury hotel in the middle of it all

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location, ambiance, bed
Cons: Bathroom amenities. There were no cotton swabs, cotton pads and no shower caps.
Location: Right in the shopping district of Portland and walking distance to great food and drink options
We went to the Nines for a short weekend getaway. The property is very centrally located, has an excellent rooftop bar (top floor) and atrium lobby (8th floor), and the room was very comfortable. Especially the beds were great: high quality bedding makes all the difference!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

over priced for quality inconvenient

Posted Nov 28, 2016
No place to pull in for valet parking. Lobby on 8th floor. No special services. Small room. Shower didn't work. Embassy suite portland much much superior!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 25, 2016
First time at this hotel it's definitely what you pay for you get ; nice clean comfortable worth your stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and relaxing

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful experience. Hotel is perfectly located downtown. Close to everything