Ratings based on 1,266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The valet and front desk staff were very nice and friendly. The housekeeping staff probably needs some coaching on cleaning lamps- the finials and tops of the shades in room 1541 are atrocious. The rest of the room was fine. We never got a breakfast menu option for breakfast in bed- got the newspaper once out of the three mornings we were there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in Downtown Portland

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: This hotel was luxurious with accommodating and friendly staff. The rooms are beautiful.
Cons: For those with contacts, you might not like the sink drain. You need to touch the drain, there's no handle on the faucet spout.
Location: It's in Downtown Portland surrounded by tons of eateries and shopping. Wonderful location.
There are two things that immediately impacted me when we got here. How wonderfully fancy, beautiful, and immaculate this hotel was. The second was that the room was just a bit smaller than expected, but I was definitely willing to overlook that for how nice this room was! I had a room that looked inwards (think of the hotel like a donut). It was so cool and interesting to look down at the Urban Farmer's Restaurant below. Another great aspect of being inward facing was that I was insulated from any potential road noise for those facing the street. Perhaps my only quibble with my specific stay is that I was on the 14th floor right below the Departures Restaurant. I only mention this for business travelers who need to get to bed early. The noise and footsteps on the 14th floor generally don't stop until about 11:30pm to Midnight. As someone on vacation, these noises did not bother me. The staff here was extremely friendly and I would high recommend this hotel for someone who wants to live in the lap of luxury for a bit. This was probably one of the most luxurious hotels I've ever stayed in. Turn down service anyone? Yes please!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel experience

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Roof top bar and also a very nice restaurant in the hotel
Location: Had dinner at Ruth's Chris and breakfast at the Urban Farmer in the hotel
My Wife and I were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary at the Nines. It's expensive, but most hotels downtown are. Friendly staff and a relaxing 1 night stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hood River

Good stay

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Location: Located next to Pioneer Square, the shopping is way too good. And we enjoyed dinner at Higgins, a long time favorite
We had a good experience with the staff, the room, the service. Everything functioned well, turn down service was nice, and we slept like a log in the ac under a perfect comforter. Only downside was that a couple of elevators were out of action so there were some longish waits to get up to our floor. And the upstairs restaurant doesn't really have much room for those who just want a drink. But overall a very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Our stay was great, beautiful hotel, great room and amenities. A+
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in downtown PortlandQ

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Do not charge for wifi and parking
The hotel is in a nice location in downtown Portland. Close to many good resturants. What I didn't like was that I feel the price was high. Also much less star rated hotels offer free wifi but this hotel charges for it. Also there is no parking at the hotel so you must pay $47.00 for overnight parking which is ridiculous
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in great location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Service was excellent. Complimentary bottles of water. Rooms were large and comfortable.
Hotel is in a great location across from Pioneer Square and the MAX startions. A block from the Pioneer Place shopping centre and close to several great coffee shops and restaurants. The room was very comfortable and the quality of beds met the expectations of a Starwood hotel. The restaurant was a bit pricey for breakfast with not many options but the quality was good. Especially liked there was complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby as there are no coffee makers in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Very central and pleasant place to stay

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: location is very central. efficient and friendly service
Cons: our atrium view room lacked natural light and had a small window so was a bit gloomy as a result with a blank wall where another window should be
Location: Central to Portland attractions - all walk-able
Just here 1 night. - should have made it more as Portland has more to offer. Hotel is very central and nicely appointed. Only valet parking so expect a significant bill if driving, but they are very efficient. Room was comfortable and quiet, with some unusual design touches. We had a room overlooking the large atrium, but this was a little odd in that the window was small and heavily curtained. This gave the room a bit of an underground feel with no real natural light. Ok for a one night stop over, but of staying longer I would avoid the atrium view rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Nice trendy hotel with exceptional staff. Ready to help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PDX

Past its prime

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Staff was rude and condescending. Mildew in the shower. Crying baby down the hall all night. Heard people in neighboring room talk and laugh thru the ducting while in the bathroom. Lack of privacy. New glitchy TV system charged $38.99 worth of adult films to my account even though I didn't watch TV during this stay. Was told about glitchy system when I challenged the charge during check out. I could go on. For the amount of money I spent on this room I expected more. This was my second stay here, but never again.