Ratings based on 603 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location for touring Portland

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Well located within downtown and near old port area. Shuttle service pick ups and drop offs within 3 mi of the hotel very useful. The Back Bay Grill --Portland's first and best gourmet restaurant is only 5 minutes away. Park your car in the adjacent public garage and save !0.00 on valet parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Would definitely stay here again. Pleasant staff, amazing restaurant and rooftop bar! Our suite was huge and bed was super comfy. My husband and I loved it here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great in every way!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Perfect! Great location. Easy parking. Friendly staff. Clean room. Nice towels and bathroom toiletries. Water in the lobby was refreshing. Lovely place and staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Dirty bathroom floors

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Was only staying one night as a stop over and didn't bother complaining because we didn't want to go through the hassle of switching rooms. The bathroom floor was fairly dirty so we just used flip flops.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, terrible Valet service

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Cons: Valet Service
We ended up missing our scheduled Portland activities because the valet took over 1.5 hours to find and return my car. The rest of the stay was as expected for the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Jeffery B, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to read of your disappointment with our valet team. I have shared your concerns with my manager of this area and we're working hard to assure these types of things do not happen in the future. Warm regards, Jeffery Burrell
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michign

Trying to be something they are not.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Modern facilities.
Cons: The staff needs to training to take them beyond budget hotel effectiveness.
Location: 20 minute walk from the old port.
Very disappointed with the hotel and the staff. My wife and I booked a room with one bed for a romantic week in Maine and were told only two single beds were available. No choice in the matter that was that. Overall service lacked many times the room was not cleaned until late evening despite us being gone all day. They try to pretend they are a nice high end facility but the service is budget hotel at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Jeffery B, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent stay. We are always seeking opportunities to improve and appreciate your feedback. While we try to honor as many bedding requests as possible, we sometimes are unable to. I do hope that despite these issues that you and your wife were able to enjoy your time in the city. Warm regards, Jeffery Burrell
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrific Stay

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, amenities!
Cons: na
Good location, close to the port and downtown. Wonderful staff and modern amenities. Loved the experience and hope to be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Jeffery B, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate the feedback and am very happy you enjoyed the great amenities of Portland. We look forward to having you back very soon. Warm regards, Jeffery Burrell
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from princeton, nj

Nice hotel with modern amenities.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable and quiet
Location: The harbor and some really great bakeries and restaurants!
Very clean and well put together hotel. In a quiet location a little further away from the action but I personally liked that - didn't hear people from the streets. 15 min walk to the harbor but that's ok - loved to walk. Hotel has a shuttle but even on a hot humid day, was not at all a bother.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Jeffery B, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review - I'm happy that you were pleased with our amenities and location. We love our Arts District location - close to everything Portland is known for but away from the "tourist-centric" Old Port area of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Jeffery Burrell
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New hotel in historic building

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Everything you would expect. New and clean. Bit of a walk to the harbour action but we like to have a stroll before and after dinner. Very efficient valet parking for extra charge. Adequate fitness facility. Cute park outside to sit and have a coffee in the summer sun.Beware the door stop in the bathroom placed on the floor right in front of the shower entrance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: The hotel is located close to good stores and restaurants and has updated decor.
Cons: Room service food trays need to be cleared from the corridor. Carpets in the corridors need to be cleaned.
Location: Good location for stores and restaurants and the waterfront.
We chose this hotel as it was close to stores and restaurants and a short walk to the waterfront. The staff were polite and the hotel was very modern. Parking was easy. We did not like seeing the dirty room service trays that had been left lying in the corridor. The carpets in the corridor were not clean. One of our rooms had a nasty sweaty smell. The shower had sharp edge that we kept catching our feet on. The elevators in the hotel and car park were not working properly. I would recommend checking out alternate hotels if you are visiting Portland.