Ratings based on 905 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I booked online last minute only to discover this Westin was going through a renovation. As if that wasn't enough they gave me a room next to the elevators and so waking up at 5:30am really made my day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, california

in downtown

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: really spacious, the suites are lovely, and the room service was great.
Cons: Everything was up to par, only downside was the construction but waiting for the one elevator in use out of the two there isn't a big deal.
10/10 would stay again. Within walking distance of great food like sky city restaurant, the stay weird mural, all the food stands you could imagine, and even the smallest park in portland is in walking distance. It's really a hot spot of all the tourist spots in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

An impressive variety of noise

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The location was very central to downtown, though this meant shady characters at night. The valet kindly let me park my motorcycle in a secure spot.
Cons: Improve sound dampening, especially for rooms near the fitness center & stairwell doors. Do not place guests in rooms within earshot of the renovation
Location: All the major downtown and Pearl District locations are within walking distance, and there are trains/trams to take you further afield if needed.
I am a business traveler. I have stayed in all kinds of accommodations all over the world. This was one of my most miserable hotel experiences. I am a deep sleeper and I have mastered sleeping on the road. I arrived at the Westin late after a long day of work and travel, took a Zzzquil, put in ear plugs, and fell asleep around 1am. Some time after 5am I learned my room shared a wall with the fitness center. The sleeping pill, ear plugs, exhaustion, and pillows sandwiching my head were no match for the reverberation of dropped weights and treadmill footsteps, which literally vibrated the walls and my bed. At around 7am the construction noise started from the remodel downstairs. I understand renovations need to happen and I have stayed in many hotels during renovations. However, it is irresponsible and greedy to place guests in rooms that will be significantly affected by the noise from construction. I wish I could post here the video I took in my room of the noise level. The saws and drills sounded as if they were in my room and were loud enough I would have had to raise my voice to be heard over them. Upon checkout, I was asked how my stay was and I responded that it was awful due to the noise. She responded quickly "oh yeah, sorry about the construction. Have a nice day." There was no offer of anything to make up for my horrible night or the fact that I was going to be a wreck for my long day of meetings. No Westin location will ever get my business again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Best pet policy I've experienced

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Pet policy
Cons: honestly can't think of anything
Location: shopping, great food
I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel: * The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. * The pet policy is the best I've seen. There is no fee, and they even give your dog a comfy bed, treats, and water/food bowls. * Check in was fast and efficient. Even though I booked through a third party, the hotel staff were happy to make sure I had a room that met our needs. * The location is great for shopping and dining, plus close to public transportation. * The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean (our room had 2 beds, a sitting area, plus a bathroom with a rain shower and soaking tub). One thing to note: In late Feb 2017 when we stayed at the Westin, the lobby/bar/restaurant were closed for remodeling, so don't expect a glam lobby. We probably got a slightly lower rate as a result of the remodeling activity, but I have nothing to compare. They did offer us drink vouchers to compensate for the bar being closed (limited selection, but nice). The friendliness of the staff more than made up for the small inconvenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Very Comforting

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Had lots of fun. Accommodated special requests. Gave me a very nice room. Will come back. Exceptionally clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Construction going on that I wasn't aware of There was a pretty big beetle in my room. Didn't love that but good room and excellent staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Disappointingly Underwhelming

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Soaking tub, shower
Cons: Lighting, accurate room description, affordances, parking valet staff
Location: Lan Lu Chinese garden, Oregon Historical Museum, shopping, bar hopping
Stayed over the weekend, the location is very good. The room was very dark even with all of the small lights on. The room could really use better lighting, we ended up using our iPhones for additional illumination. We were also disappointed that the advertised "entire wall of windows" was not true. The wall had two windows but also two blank walls. A wall length drape is not a wall of windows! The bathtub and shower are quite wonderful, although the bathroom could use more hooks. There was only one and it was not convenient to hang robes, another towel, clothing. Despite the room being a suite, the room felt sparse, small (no room for a suitcase in closet), dim and overall not very pleasant to stay in. PROS * Location * Large bathtub and amazing shower CONS * Dim lighting * Nothing like the advertised "entire wall of windows" * Inept parking valets * Not enough affordances (clothing/towel hooks in bathroom)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel in a great location downtown

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Really nice spot downtown with deep soaking tubs in the room. When we checked in he asked what time we would like to leave, we said we weren't sure and the gentleman checking us in set the checkout time to 1:00pm just in case. Excellent! Could not have been happier with staff service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Always my favorite!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
I always like staying at the Westin because I love the Heavenly bed! I get my best sleep at a Westin hotel with the cozy comforters, cotton sheets and fluffy pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very nice rooms, great location.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Room size, cleanliness, location.
Cons: It is being improved right now but when we were there the lobby was going thru a renovation, but it didn't effect anything for us.
Location: Fantastic coffee right up the street, food trucks also right up the street, great shopping all around as well.
The rooms were very nice, good size and the bathroom was great with the shower. The location is in a nice place, everything from the hotel was very walkable, great coffee and food all over.