Ratings based on 815 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Close to downtown Portland with good parking.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
A little noise from the bar restaurant below and I would say not kid friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite nice for an older building. Tasteful deco

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Close to the car rental return. Excellent fresh fruit. Good coffee.
Cons: A host that greeted you in the morning. More friendly would be nice.
We used the room to sleep, shower, and prepair for the next day. It was quiet enough to sleep--had a table to make plans and eat our breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Good hotel in nice location. Bar underneath has good food and drinks!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A clean room and good value. Excellent staff.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: A few things, but they would raise the price, and I was looking for a good value, which is exactly what I got.
Location: Close to Portland's excellent public transportation system. Also close to the freeway.
It was what I wanted, a good, clean room, and a very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable for a night.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Cons: Fix WiFi, take some pride in making guests comfortable.
WiFi was not working, still had to pay full price for room. Currently waiting to see if they will give me a credit. Barking dog in a parked car in the hotel parking lot right outside my room. Hotel staff did nothing to attempt to locate owner. The hallway smelled like weed. Was greeted by the sounds of sex emanating from the neighboring room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon coast

Better than expected

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Travel Lodge SW 4th Ave Portland OR. I stayed because pop was in the hospital. This Travel Lodge was very close sitting at the bottom of the hill where at least 4 hospitals are located. I new going in it was old and on a busy street. That being said, the hotel was cleaner and in better shape than newer hotels I've stayed in. The beds were clean & comfortable, the rooms were spotless, and the $ was not bad at all for a last minute booking. Yes there was some road noise but if you're not expecting that when you get to the hotel then you weren't paying attention to the location when you arrived. It is very convenient to get to the hospitals on the hill in Portland and they offer a continental breakfast which looked pretty good when went by but had no time to stop. There's a bar with good food underneath open late so when I arrived after 9:00 pm and it was still happy hour it was great. Yes I would stay here again and yes if someone needed a place close to the hospitals or suddenly in the middle of the night I'd recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No wifi or data available in Rm 17

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Proximity to downtown New mattresses with removable liners
Cons: Remove the rude, younger white man at the front desk. Has poor customer service skills Replace the old carpeting in the rooms Better wifi coverage
Location: Portland State University, river, lots of restaurants, downtown
Upon checking in, the young white man at the front desk was very unfriendly and short with me. I'm not sure if he just had terrible interpersonal communication skills or if he was just not a nice person. Either way, he was not well suited for customer service interactions. I gave a 3 star rating because every other staff member (older white man and asian woman) were super nice. The most disappointing thing for us was that there was no wifi available despite promoting that there was. Neither my friend nor myself, both Verizon customers, were able to access wifi nor data in our room. If I wanted to check my email or plan my trip, I had to sit in the front office to do so. Very inconvenient. Some positive qualities were that the location near downtown was very convenient. The room cleanliness was also well done, with the exception of the old carpets. No amount of vacuuming can get those carpets to look clean, they are just old and need replacing. It looked like they had gotten a new shipment of mattresses while I was there. They even took the extra step to put a removable mattress liner around the whole mattress that can be washed when soiled. Overall, I would never patronize this facility again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Good value. Convenient location south of downtown shopping, 5-10 minute walk from trains. Free parking. Modest continental breakfast is included. Free parking. No noise problems. Good option if other downtown hotels are too expensive or fully booked. Easy access to Hwy 405 & I-5.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for a cheap hotel. Good location.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The managers and staff were keen on getting the room charge posted to my credit card before doing anything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Trevligt , rent och stora bekväma rum. Ligger 5 min promenad från centrum och nära med bussar och spårvagn .