Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

In and out of Portland

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Easy access to the highway, fast room warming heater
Location: I didn't spend any time in Portland, apparently there is whale watching.
I only stayed one night on my way from Melbourne to Adelaide, and arrived late in the afternoon. The lady at reception was very helpful when I asked about available food and where I could get an early breakfast from. The room was very clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable and the heater warmed the room quickly and the room stayed warm even without the heater on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Macclesfield SA

Quick Trip to Portland

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Easy to get to, good parking, very comfy beds.. Just an overall good nights resting place
Location: Motel is out of Portland a bit, but its only a 5-10 min drive to Hotels, Shops etc.
Good Motel - Easy Access off the main Rd. Comfy Beds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australa

Nice Hotel - Convenient location

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location, price and convenience
Cons: N/A
Location: on the outskirts or town but only 4 minutes from the town centre
Nice hotel on the outskirts or town made it the perfect spot for my trip. Only 4 minutes from the centre of town, and very nice greeting upon my arrival and as I checked out. For the price cant go wrong
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great value

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Location: We were in Portland to do the 14 day 250K Great South West Walk. We stayed at the Whalers Inn before and after the walk.
Great value for money. Large room with modern bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Whalers Rest, Hotel Management
Warren we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and had an enjoyable time doing the Great south west walk. Regards Dean & Pamela Millard Owners of the Whalers Rest Motel.
5 out of 5
by Monika

nice and clean

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
very warm and friendly welcome. room spacios and clean, bed very comfortable. when leaving we received a lot of tips for the countinuation of our trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017
Hi Monika, thank you for your review hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday Regards, Dean & Pamela Millard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Good value motel with plenty of parking

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Presentation was Very Good and cleanliness
Cons: The Water temperature fluctuated a bit when showering.
Location: Well located, Great fishing location at Portland to take kids out on the breakwalls.
Very neat and tidy motel with all the basic facilities, friendly staff/owners. Located just out of Portland but very quiet location on the highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Whalers Rest, Hotel Management
Glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday Regards, Dean & Pamela Millard
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Room was a good size but the bed was very hard

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Bathroom was clean and good size
Cons: new beds
I had a smoker in the next room smoking outside my room and the smoke was coming in through the bathroom window and around the door. If the rooms are non smoking the all smoking should be done away from all rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Whalers Rest, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. If you had notified us that the guest next door was smoking and it was coming into your room I would have gone up and told them that the wind was blowing their smoke inside your room and asked them to go over to the BBQ area. It is so disappointing to read this review when it could have been resolved straight away. Regards, Dean & Pamela Millard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vic

excellent establishment

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing comes to mind
Location: close to everything
from online booking to exit after the stay, everything experienced here as of exceptional standard
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Whalers Rest, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay, And had a great day at the drags Regards, Dean & Pamela Millard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Wotif
Great for a quiet night away. Staff lovely and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Whalers Rest, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards, Dean & Pamela Millard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and tidy

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Wotif
When looking through photo gallery thought we had sea views, but only view was carpark or shrubs with noisy neighbours within two metres!!! Room very tidy and comfy, bathroom bit small