Ratings based on 2,236 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

The customer is a big problem here!

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: Good customer service
Location: Terrible neighborhood
I tried to check in early and was told that no rooms where clean. I came back at 5 PM and was told the only room available was a room upstairs even though a week ago I told them I needed a lower level room. So much drama! It was never recorded etc. I asked for a lower level room when I tried to chek in at 11:30 and they assigned me one.Finally after ALOT of drama I was given a room. don't expect much here, it smells and the walls are all messed up and I am not sure the sheets were clean, its dirty here. I asked fr a 4AM wake up call. It did not happen and I missed my plane, The front desk guy said it was not his fault. I just told him I did not get the call and as he was telling me it wasn't his fault I put down the phone. He kept calling me and yelling at me saying Oh I am sorry we keep getting disconnected, did you think it was MT FAULT you missed your plane. He kept calling me yelling at me! It was about me not him, what a JERK!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western WA

Trip to Portland

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Close to airport.
Cons: Fan in bathroom didn't work. There was only a sheet and a thin blanket on the bed. Most everything was worn and poorly maintained.
Location: airport
Decided to visit this weekend and needed a place near the airport to stay. With the Howard Johnson name I expected a comfortable place to stay. Mistake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

Disappointment

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Location: Not much.
The condition of the facility was poor (e.g. the telephone didn't work and had to be repaired. It was done so promptly and courteously. The big complaint was that the online description said the airport shuttle service ran from 4AM to 3 AM. The last service was 12:30 AM. I needed to book a cab to get me there for a 5 AM flight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth $50

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Only $50 and close to the places I wanted to see.
Cons: The motel needs to be updated and repaired to make it more then 3 stars.
Location: Easy to get to from the 205 freeway. Annie's Doughnuts is close to the motel.
Not bad for the price. I would not stay there if it cost more due to the condition of the room I stayed in. The small room was clean but needed to be detailed out and fixed up.Since we only needed a place to sleep it fulfilled our requirements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, Alaska

Close to airport

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Great hotel for quick night stay to catch early morning flight
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yakima

Cheap it used to not be!So scketcy!

Posted Dec 22, 2017
None stop noise outdoors doors don't close at all and it was freezing.Back half like New Jack City!!!And messed up shuttle UGH!!GREAT STUFF
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in .

Posted Dec 22, 2017
We arrived and had no blankets on our bed , we were not provided a comforter until we asked several times and then had to make our own bed . Our room Keys didn't work ( three different times ) and the hotel smelled like mildew . The bathroom was also not cleaned and had several types of hairs covering the floor , the toilet and shower . I would never stay in a Howard Johnson again . Also the fridge and heater had to be in plugged as they made the most horrific noises all night .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not too happy

Posted Dec 21, 2017
1. We drove to portland to catch a very early flight We requested a wake up call at 4:15 am No wake up call The staff person's answer was sometimes our system does not work 2. I called a head to find out the cost for parking our car at the hotel while were gone We were told $5.00 a day ( great ) when we got there and setting up the parking they told us it was $ 10.00 a day because we booked with expedia twice as much 3. Went to take a bath The tub jets were broken Called the front desk their answer " sorry "
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Needs repairs, dirty, broke tv, etc etc

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hotel will need big renovation
Location: Location was good, near the airport, Church etc.
In our entire 4 day stay our room was never clean. We called front desk about our tv that was not working. Someone came and adjusted it the next day it was the same issue, it wasn’t working. Some lights was not working also, so the room was kinda dark. We were scared the entire time we stayed in the hotel. We saw people that stayed there appears to be high on drugs. It was a terrible experience. Never again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Hotel staff were really nice. The housekeeper barged in without knocking which startled us. Would have been better if she knocked and waited for a response before opening door. The floors were the creakiest I've ever heard. Otherwise, it was quiet and clean.