Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK West Midlands

Romantic spot, secluded with lovely view over harb

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Only problem is car parking which is inadequate for a hotel of this standing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Secluded Hotel by the sea

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Our third visit to this hotel, the room was over the kitchen and a little noisy in the evening and creaky floor boards from the room above when the occupants were moving around. The treats left in the room, hot water bottle and hot chocolate with cookies and muffins were a nice touch. Being Easter we had an additional treat of a Lindt Easter bunny on the Sunday. The breakfast were very good and always freshly cooked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in quiet location

Posted Mar 25, 2018
The hotel maintains the standards of previous visits. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, the staff friendly and helpful. The food is good quality and well presented, though some dishes varied from day to day, presumably having been prepared by different chefs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous location and completely tucked away

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: Personal service and location
Cons: The room we had was a little on the small side but had lovely views so maybe that is the compromise!
Location: Hidden gardens of Helligan and St Mawes were both worth a visit!
The hotel is a gorgeous small hotel which offers a lovely personal service. We found the staff to be warm and welcoming and there were lots of little touches that made it special - home made biscuits and mini muffins in your room for a late afternoon cup of tea, hot chocolate at bedtime etc etc. The lounge area was comfortable and a perfect place to have pre-dinner drinks and the dining room has stunning sea views. Whilst we visited in the winter, I would love to spend a couple of nights there in the summer sitting on the terrace whilst the sun disappears... I would certainly recommend this hotel and we will hopefully be back one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hereford

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: The position, the staff,the food and also the whole experience. It was amazing, felt so comfortable and well looked after there. Loved the stay there.
Cons: As I stated earlier, I feel that a rubber mat in the bath would be very useful. It can be used by those who need it, or put aside by other residents.
Location: Loved the location, cliff walks available for the able. Loved Truro, Fowey and also the church at Veryan. Beautiful coves around, a beautiful area
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lugger. The staff, the situation and the food were excellent. Our only criticism is that there was no rubber bath mat. May not be needed by many residents, but for me recovering from a broken hip, I felt insecure - appreciated the rail. Room was superb, very clean and well equipped, loved the hot water bottle at night and the hot chocolate provided. The sweets, cakes provided were very much appreciated. We appreciated the parking provided, Portloe is a very beautiful place but parking is very difficult there. Staff were excellent, very attentive and provided the answers to all the questions we asked about the area. I would recommend The Luger to all my friends, it has been a long time since I stayed at such a wonderful place. We only had a meal there one night because we wanted to explore the area and get a feeling of the peninsula, an area we have not visited before. The evening meal we had was excellent, also service was excellent. Breakfasts were excellent too, choice, service and quality superb. We booked the hotel through Expedia, but would be grateful to hear of offers from the hotel. I have given them my email address and hope to hear from them soon. A hotel we would love to return to. As you will see there was only one critism, I hope that this is taken notice off. Room 302 was a wonderful room, able to step outside and appreciate the view, also when weather is good a beautiful place to sit. This stay has been amazing Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Birthday Weekend

Posted Feb 1, 2018 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with great service. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming. Some great little touches such as a turn down service with a hot water bottle in the bed, fresh milk in the fridge and water and sweets for the journey home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by Janis, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your very positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you in future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in idyllic location

Posted Jan 15, 2018
I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at The Luger hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful upon arrrival and throughout our stay. The room was very clean, spacious and had a beautiful view from the balcony. In terms of location it would be hard to beat this hotel. You walk out of the door and you are right on the beach. The coastal walks that begin just opposite the hotel are beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by JANIS, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind words. This means a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Lugger once again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2018 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing hotel - so friendly and chilled out. Food and cocktails amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by Janis, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Location, location, location.

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Outstanding position and great food. First class staff and service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by JANIS, Hotel Management
Thank You! Your Feedback is very much appreciated.