Ratings based on 583 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel am Strand

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Netter Empfang, Upgrade in eine Suite, gutes Essen Schöner Aufenthalt 15 min vom Flughafen entfernt 👍 Nähe zur Stadt auch perfekt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel with a beautiful sea view

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel was located right beside the sea. Spectacular view.
Cons: We wanted to stay an extra night. However all the bedrooms with sea view were sold out. We were offered another room but could not check in until 3 pm
Location: We visited Malahide castle and walled garden and Avoca Café had lovely cakes.
We had a very enjoyable stay. Our bedroom had a beautiful sea view. The bed was comfortable with a large shower. The breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Nice hotel, but terrible staff!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Cons: Front desk staff was terrible
Location: Golf and Mallahide
Enjoy the location, views, and facilities, but the front desk staff was incredibly rude and ruined the stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Hotel and Golf

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: We loved the golf course and proximity to Dublin, Malahide, Howth and other golf courses.
Cons: Hotel rooms are not air conditioned, didn't bother us but it may have if we stayed in the summer months.
Location: Visit the towns of Malahide and Howth they are within a 30 minute cab ride from Portmarnock Hotel, both are scenic and have great restaurants.
Chose Portmarnock Hotel because of the golf course. Great hotel by the sea about 20 minutes from Dublin Airport by car and 30 minutes from Dublin City Center by train. The staff was wonderful!! well informed on places to see.The golf shop assisted us with booking tee times at other courses, everyone at the hotel was terrific. Visited the towns of Malahide and Howth, you can take the train to Dublin from Malahide. Go to Malahilde Castle its has lovely gardens and a nice shopping area and food emporium. Had lunch in Howth at The Deep...great seafood restaurant with wonderful staff and service. Had a great time at Portmarnock can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Very nice, but a little disappointing

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Staff at Front Desk, bell staff and pro shop
Cons: Housekeeping and add air conditioning
Location: several close by golf courses, charming villages (in particular Mullahide and Howth) and easy access to Dublin.
The front desk staff was helpful and friendly beyond belief. Maid service was slow and inconsistent (one day coffee was not refilled an one day towels were not provided). Carpeting in the room was soiled and worst of all no air conditioning in the guest rooms. Bar staff was slow, but friendly. Bar managers were cold. Golf course was beautiful and challenging to play. Golf pro shop staff was extremely friendly as was the bell staff. Food choices were a big disappointment as was their quality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, Az

Hotel Quality

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Finish the renovation, offer better house wine at their price point.
Location: Easy access to Dublin, great little each town with a couple of nice eating choices.....and the beach was magnificent.
Hotel was undergoing an extensive renovation so don't know what it would be like without the disruption, but the location was fantastic. Miles of beach to roam, easy walk into the village.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Portmarnock Charm

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Sea view and quiet location just outside Dublin. Old home to the Jameson Distillery family. Renovated Sea view room
Cons: Will be a beautiful hotel once again once the hotel common area renovations are finally finished
Location: Walk along the Portmarnock Beach and if you like long walks, you can walk all the way along to the town of Malahide
The Reception staff were lovely to give us the same Sea view room for two nights as we booked two separate bookings due to booked out dates. We had a lovely renovated room, it was very spacious and had an extremely comfortable bed. The Room Service was plentiful! Well worth it to have it overlooking the sea on both mornings
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Early morning drilling and pipe work from 8am-11am

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Lovely dinner, beautiful setting.
Cons: I would not recommend staying in room 201 or any room on that side of the hotel until the construction is done.
Beautiful hotel, lovely food, but for us a very disappointing experience. I pulled key points from a letter I sent to the hotel on 14 August 2016. We received no response from the hotel. We stayed here for the last night of our vacation, 3 July 2016. We had a lovely evening. We planned to sleep as late as possible & check out at noon. In the early morning, in the 8 o'clock hour, we were awoken by loud construction, metal-on-metal hammering sound of banging on pipes that came from the wall directly behind the headboard, and drilling directly underneath us that caused vibrations, and not the good kind. It was quite disruptive to our sleep and it prevented us from having the wonderful, relaxing morning we had hoped for our last night in Ireland. I thought it would be hard to describe the intensity of the noise in words, so I recorded the noise from inside our room, in a video called "4 July Portmarnock hotel", posted to vimeo. Two front desk members attempted to quiet the construction. After a couple of hours without success, the woman offered us to move rooms with a 1pm checkout and free breakfast. We chose to check out instead, because it was late when this was offered, our bubble of relaxation was popped, we'd have needed to pack all our belongings and move rooms. We needed to leave at noon, in order to make it to our lunch destination in time. Overall, I would not recommend staying in room 201 or any room on that side of the hotel until the construction is done.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from No England

Somehow managed to deliver less than it promised

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Plush enough... But the hotel did not appear to be in a fully finished state - almost as if works had started and not quite completed, and in the meanwhile making the best of an incomplete job. Particularly frustrating was the fan in the bathroom which, as the result of its design the staff said, could not be switched off and purred on throughout the night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The location and staffs attention to details
Cons: difficult to say, they don't have a pool, but maybe a Jacuzzi would be good.
Location: perfect location right on the beach front, with plenty of walks and things to see within walking distance.
The hotel is in the perfect location for a relaxing break, straight onto the beach with plenty to do and see within walking distance and some great views of the Irish coast. The staff are fantastic, catering for your every need and always doing that little bit extra so you can focus on enjoying yourself. The hotel is kept to a high standard throughout and the location is perfect, sitting right at the beach front with a superb golf course if you fancy a round or two.