Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful beachside hotel, great spa near Dublin

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The room, service, spa, dining options. The location was great with good proximity to Dublin & Airport. If you love golf, you will love this hotel.
Cons: There was nothing that disappointed us.So I am getting annoyed that I cannot submit because you want to hear something negative!
Location: Dublin, Malahide Castle, beaches, golf
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perhaps my best hotel stay EVER.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Everything, every detail was perfect. What more to say?
Cons: There was nothing to complain about, not a single detail.
Location: On the edge of a huge sandy bay, the hotel is great for walking on the beach when the weather is suitable. Big choice of places to eat & drink.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel am Strand

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Netter Empfang, Upgrade in eine Suite, gutes Essen Schöner Aufenthalt 15 min vom Flughafen entfernt 👍 Nähe zur Stadt auch perfekt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel with a beautiful sea view

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel was located right beside the sea. Spectacular view.
Cons: We wanted to stay an extra night. However all the bedrooms with sea view were sold out. We were offered another room but could not check in until 3 pm
Location: We visited Malahide castle and walled garden and Avoca Café had lovely cakes.
We had a very enjoyable stay. Our bedroom had a beautiful sea view. The bed was comfortable with a large shower. The breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Nice hotel, but terrible staff!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Cons: Front desk staff was terrible
Location: Golf and Mallahide
Enjoy the location, views, and facilities, but the front desk staff was incredibly rude and ruined the stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Hotel and Golf

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: We loved the golf course and proximity to Dublin, Malahide, Howth and other golf courses.
Cons: Hotel rooms are not air conditioned, didn't bother us but it may have if we stayed in the summer months.
Location: Visit the towns of Malahide and Howth they are within a 30 minute cab ride from Portmarnock Hotel, both are scenic and have great restaurants.
Chose Portmarnock Hotel because of the golf course. Great hotel by the sea about 20 minutes from Dublin Airport by car and 30 minutes from Dublin City Center by train. The staff was wonderful!! well informed on places to see.The golf shop assisted us with booking tee times at other courses, everyone at the hotel was terrific. Visited the towns of Malahide and Howth, you can take the train to Dublin from Malahide. Go to Malahilde Castle its has lovely gardens and a nice shopping area and food emporium. Had lunch in Howth at The Deep...great seafood restaurant with wonderful staff and service. Had a great time at Portmarnock can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Very nice, but a little disappointing

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Staff at Front Desk, bell staff and pro shop
Cons: Housekeeping and add air conditioning
Location: several close by golf courses, charming villages (in particular Mullahide and Howth) and easy access to Dublin.
The front desk staff was helpful and friendly beyond belief. Maid service was slow and inconsistent (one day coffee was not refilled an one day towels were not provided). Carpeting in the room was soiled and worst of all no air conditioning in the guest rooms. Bar staff was slow, but friendly. Bar managers were cold. Golf course was beautiful and challenging to play. Golf pro shop staff was extremely friendly as was the bell staff. Food choices were a big disappointment as was their quality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, Az

Hotel Quality

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Finish the renovation, offer better house wine at their price point.
Location: Easy access to Dublin, great little each town with a couple of nice eating choices.....and the beach was magnificent.
Hotel was undergoing an extensive renovation so don't know what it would be like without the disruption, but the location was fantastic. Miles of beach to roam, easy walk into the village.
4 out of 5
by Jaqueline from Warwickshire

Disappointing on arrival

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived to find major refurbishment works in full swing. Although our room was located away from the main work we were still disturbed by dumper trucks going backwards and forwards directly outside our room. The garden was impossible to sit in due to the building works and movement throughout the hotel was limited due to large sections being cordoned off combined with noise and dust. Breakfast was served in a temporary dining room until the new one was finished. The hotel should have definitely informed us of the works at the time of booking. However our room was very nice, tastefully furnished, very new and fresh with a lovely bathroom and a large walk in shower. We chose the sea view room at extra cost but it was well worth it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels