Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great staff

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Upgraded to more comfortable room on arrival.....when manager realised my wife had mobility problems
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN, USA

Nice, friendly, low cost hotel next to ocean beach

Posted Sep 7, 2017
I have been traveling to Europe in late summer for thirty years. This is my second trip to Ireland. We stayed at White Sands for two nights before our departure flight as the hotel is close to the airport and only a few miles from Dublin city center. There are many eating places within a mile of the hotel and the buses stop right out front. I also love the ocean and the hotel is right next to the beach. The room was large and clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was nice with abundant complimentary soaps and shampoo. The hot water never seemed to run out or change temperature. The shower head was removable so you could get the temperature correct before getting in the water stream. There were separate tub water controls. The room had a convenient safe and a large TV with lots of English speaking channels. The fee wifi allowed me to stream Netflix shows. The hot breakfast for 10 euro dollars was very good. Meals in the bar and grill were also quite good. I think I will make this hotel one of my repeat hotels next time I return to Dublin. There is a night light associated with the fire alarm in front of the bathroom. The hotel had tried to dim it some by putting tape over the light cover. If you are on the bed farthest from the bathroom and like to sleep on your back the light might bother you. It was cold outside so the hotel shut off the air conditioning. The room was too warm so I opened up the balcony door for fresh cool ocean breezes. I loved the ocean sound
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Very relaxing time in romantic country

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Great location: beach access, buses, supermarket.
Cons: Staff at the desk could be more friendly. Some of them were very cold and did not smile.
Location: Good to swim and travel to Dublin.
Great Location. The wonderful beach is across. Bus stop to airport is one step from the hotel. And bus stop to Dublin Centre is 2-3 min to walk. Very nice restaurant with dishes worth to try. Stayed 4 days. Had very relaxing time, and travelled ti Dublin. Staff at the desk could be more friendly. Some of them were very cold and did not smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aghadowey

Quiet and restful

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nice and quiet, easy to get to, lots of parking, good wifi, clean
Cons: Could have a few different options on the bar menu
3 night stay at the hotel on business. Room was nice and spacious, clean, tidy and perfect for one person. The hotel was nice and quiet. The colleagues were friendly and polite. Views across the bay were beautiful. Parking was plentiful. Would be happy to return again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Nether United

Portmarnock is Relaxing

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Portmarnock is a beautiful sleepy upscale section of Dublin that rest alongside the Irish sea. The views are incredible and people are up and down the road exercising, walking the beach and enjoying the views. The hotel is short on some of the accommodations I am used to traveling extensively in the states...but the people are all genuinely helpful and go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. My stay was very very relaxing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Great views and relaxing location

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The view, most definitely. Waking up to the sea is not something we can do at home so it makes you appreciate the beauty of the location.
Cons: There were a couple of minor maintenance repairs that need attending to in the room.
Location: Beautiful location with lovely walks along the seafront. Reasonable facilities locally but you need to go slightly further afield for a wider range.
Right across the road from the beach, the hotel is great for a relaxing break. The bus stops nearby to keep you connected to a wider range of facilities or you can enjoy a picturesque walk into Malahide. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful and the weekend away whetted our appetite for another visit soon. An easy 20 minute taxi ride or 40 minute bus ride from the airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Western Canada

Decent hotel beside a beautiful beach

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Location: Two excellent golf courses are nearby. Strolling along the beach was great and the nearby town of Malahide was awesome.
We chose the White Sands because it was reasonably close to the Dublin airport (20 minute taxi ride and 20 Euros) and had far more character and scenery than a typical 'airport hotel'. It was a lovely spot directly across the street from a world class beach outside of Portmarnock. The water is not for the faint of heart but the sand and dunes were marvellous. The lovely beach town of Malahide, with a quaint harbour and many restaurants and pubs, is a five minute drive down the coast road. As for the hotel, it was clean and well appointed and the rooms were a good size. In general, the hotel is due for a renovation. It's clean and in good repair and some things have been modernized such as the bathtub hardware but the overall impression of the hotel is circa 1970's. The cot we reserved for a fourth room occupant collapsed when my daughter laid on it and the replacement cot collapsed as well. The poor gal at the front desk did her best to help but she appeared to have no housekeeping assistance. Indeed, it appeared that she was 'flying solo'. Still, she was very nice and very capable. We eventually held the cot together with the belt from my pants and we all had a good sleep. The breakfast was quite good and reasonably priced. Taxis back to the airport are easy to get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Nice hotel next to beautiful beach

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Beautiful location. Comfortable . Nice rooms and polite friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Romaine

Great location and View

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Greta location, beautiful view, rooms slightly tired but no complaints.
2 out of 5
by Kathleen

There is a reason this place is cheap...Don't Book

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
The walls are paper thin. I could hear the next door neighbor tossing around in bed and they could hear me call a family member to tell them I made it safely to the hotel. There was no refrigerator in the hotel rooms and I had medication that needed to be refrigerated. It was extremely difficult even getting a bag of ice from the reception desk as it seemed it was extremely inconvenient for them. Not pleased at all with my stay. Coming back to Dublin but will never stay at this hotel again and telling everyone I know not to come here either. Only positive thing was the breakfast that was offered and the staff there. Wonderful people really helped put me in a better mood after an awful night tossing on an uncomfortable bed.