Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tegucigalpa

The qualityof the service and facilities is great.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff, cleanliness, apartment-like bedroom, and quiet.
Cons: Rooftop garden should be cultivated with more plants, flowers, and the gym could be improved with one or two upgraded machines (elliptical/treadmill)
Location: Proximity to the Redemcao Park and the heart of the downtown area means easy access to museums, public market, and other sights. Safety is an issue.
The staff at EkoResidencial are friendly and helpful. The overall condition of the hotel is very good. The rooftop gym and urban garden could benefit from some upkeep but I still appreciated having these amenities and the ecological consciousness of the business. The only downside of staying at EkoResidence is the location in a less safe downtown area, which according to locals is subject to more crime lately.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Diogo A, Hotel Management
Dear Alejandra, Thank You for reviewing our hotel, we are happy to know you liked your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the garden and the gym and we are going to see what we can do about it. We hope you can stay with us again. Kind regards, Diogo A, Customer relationship manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas.

Good deal.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
This hotel is honest in its purpose. Comfortable and simple. If you want a very well localized hotel, close to downtown, whit high level service and good food around and a fair rate this is the right place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no regrets!

Posted Nov 25, 2015 on Hotels
Quiet and calm hotel,confortable mattress, nice breakfast service, polite personal
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Tiago Antoniolli, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for you evaluation, we are very glad you liked Eko Residence Hotel, found us a quiet and calm hotel, with confortable mattress, nice breakfast and polite personal. We hope you can return and stay with us again the next time you come to Porto Alegre! Thank you very much, my best regards, Tiago Antoniolli / Customer Relationship Manager
2 out of 5
by Oren from SP

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very bad neighborhood, the bed was uncomfortable and the place isn't welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, Puerto Rico

EKO friendly hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: EKO friendly to environment, guests and wallet.
Cons: Change the hallway carpets. I think they are ready to be retired.
Location: Museums, public market, metropolitan cathedral, government buildings and local small shops.
The hotel is truly EKO friendly to the environment, EKO friendly to the guests and EKO friendly to the wallet. It is located in the historic zone walking distance to many attractions like catherals, museums, government buildings and the public market.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by Tiago Antoniolli, Hotel Management
Dear Manuel, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Eko Residence Hotel, and we are hoping that you can come back any time soon. Thank you very much.
5 out of 5
by christopher from UK

One night in Porto alegre

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel with fantastic sustainability credentials and excellent value for money
3 out of 5
by Gerard from Frostburg

Hostel rather than Hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
This was more a hostel than a hotel. Lots of young people, the room was a minimalist's dream.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

good price but terrible beds

Posted Nov 8, 2014
My room seemed like it was next to the air-conditioning plant for the whole building: therefore I could either leave my window open to get some nice night air but be kept awake by the sounds of motors; or freeze in dried-out air-conditioned air. The bed was very uncomfortable. The bathroom facilities were fine.
4 out of 5
by Wagner

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by izk from Amherst, MA

Very helpful and friendly staff

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Best thing about this hotel - the staff. They are very helpful and speak fluent English - not always the case in Porto Alegre. Other good points: Room big and clean. Good breakfast - although the breakfast room is small, we always found a table.Microwave and Fridge in kitchen. Central location with good transportation nearby. Nice solarium on the top floor. Problems: Room on third floor was very noisy, but after complaining we were transferred to a quiet room on a higher floor. WiFi signal not very strong in the higher floor. The kitchen, although very large, is not usable due to the lack of cooking utensils (no kettle either). After dark, the neighborhood seems a little shabby (although it seemed to be safe).