Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for my purposes; good breakfast

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was acceptable. It is nice having a kitchen space, but the dishes were inadequate and they did not provide anything for washing or drying dishes. The towels in the hotel are totally inadequate, thin and relatively small. Additional bedding should be provided in the room for the sofa bed, should the occupants choose to use it. We should not have to wait until housekeeping decides to get around to us to get the bed made. There should be a full set of bedding including pillows in the closet, and their should be microwave safe cookware for heating food. The view from the breakfast room is wonderful and the breakfast is quite acceptable. The breakfast staff is very nice but the lack of adequate english speakers at the front desk was a difficulty. Since English is the language of international travelers, for a hotel of this caliber to have only one person on shift at a time with ANY english at all is simply not acceptable. And the room rate for a room that will hold up to 4 people should include breakfast for 2, regardless of how many names are on the reservation. I have stayed here before, and probably will do so again, but only because of the convenience. I expect better of them.
5 out of 5
by james from Outremer

One excellent hotel!

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
This is a classy hotel! The room I stayed in was well-decorated, and comfortable, with an excellent shower. The staff was attentive and very personable. Breakfast was superb, with a goodly assortment of fresh fruit, cold-cuts, and great coffee. It's location is a pleasant walk of several minutes to Parque Farroupilha where they have a very nice fair on Sundays.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel for my purpose but...

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
I was told not to walk alone in this neighborhood, especially not after dark. Friends where horrified that I considered it. The hotel layout is akward - 2 elevators, one for each side of the building. To go to breakfast from my room, you either had to go down to the lobby and walk across to the other side of the hotel, or go to fitness center, walk upstairs to the swimming pool and back down stairs on the other side to the breakfast room. I don't really remember anything else about it, so not memorable in a good way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Rooms and staff are excelent.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Rooms, staf, all
Location: You can walk and go to see the park near
Very nice hotel. Rooms and staff are excelent. I´m very happy and i will retur for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

A hidden great place!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: The elevator
Great hotel at the center por Porto Alegre, amazing staff. A place to stay again.
4 out of 5
by Giovanni from St. Louis, MO

A little old, quiet, great staff & price!

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in this hotel the first 8 days of the year. The hotel has a little entrance on the Av. Independencia but in reality it is set inside, after a little stretch of covered walk-away. There is a big park two blocks away. We had a large room on the 6th floor with little kitchenette with fridge, sink and microwave. Separated by a counter the TV room and then bedroom and bathroom. I thought the bathroom was a little too small for the size of the room but still functional. Very quiet. The staff was great all around, courteous and prompt. The restaurant on the 11th floor served breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant is relatively small for the size of the hotel but with a nice view of the city and the river. The issue in the restaurant like in many places in Brazil is the constant noise from TV. A little remodeling especially for carpet and the elevator, that is always by default at -2 level, would move it one notch. If the price stays the same it is a no-brainer to come back.
4 out of 5
by ramon from costa mesa, california

a hidden gem

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels
a truly relaxing and fun stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels
This is a very friendly and good hotel in a good location for most things in Porto Alegre. Close to Total shopping centre, 10 min walk to Padre Chagas Street which has great bars and restaurants with plenty of choice and something for everyone. ZCafe was good. Hotel has good friendly staff who were always courteous and helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choices and constantly being replenished. Nice pool and roof top terrace.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much better than expected

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels
Big comfortable room and much less expensive than the Sheraton.