Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Central to most sightseeing places

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The hotel is accessed by regular buses and restaurants and a nearby supermarket just a stone away. It's got clean indoor swimming pool and a sona which are clean and well maintained with a gym too. We enjoyed these facilities. Staff were helpful most of the times though some do not speak English. Meals, for those lovers of pork most meal are mixed meat, we were luck as we found restaurant that did English dishes and staff were lovely and helpful too. We had one day when our room did not have towels, that is only shortcoming we had but upon talking to reception we were given these. Generally very nice Hotel to visit. I would go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from banbury uk

hotel was quiet

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: location for us.
Cons: tra making facilities in bedrooms would have been nice.
food in restaurant for breakfast and evening meal was good all the time , menu was only let down as it was in portugese .
2 out of 5
by Choccie from London

Not 4 star

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Location: The boat trip along the Rio Douro, visiting the wine cellars (even if you do not drink) and eating fresh grilled fish cooked by the beach.
Plus points: well located between the city and the beach free car parking on site Breakfast included in room rate Negative points: First room had bad smell of cigarettes so housekeeping moved us to another room Despite being told that the heating had been turned on, we could only get cold air in our room so at night it was very cold every night even thiugh it was warm outside in e day time. Breakfast choice. okay with eggs, bacon, yogurts, juice, pastries, cereals and meats but very low quality ingredients
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2013
The hotel is very nice to stay in. It is fare from city center but has a convenient bus line to the center. There are a few parking spaces belongs to the hotel that cannot be reserved, but there is no problem to park in the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Giselle from Derrybeg, Co. Donegal, Ireland

A Great Hotel for Family

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: Location, swimming pool, lovely staff
Cons: The shower hot water lacks from time to time.
Location: Very centered, great range of transport, not far from airport.
The location is great, the staff is really lovely, friendly and helpful! The swimming pool is excellent for little ones, the water temperature is just perfect! A good breakfast and restaurant, with all the warming hospitality you can only expect from Portugal and its people. They love children and are always glad to help them (very satisfied parent!). It´s silent and spacious. My only tip will be about the shower/bath water. The hotel is always busy, and maybe the water pump is not being enough for the guest amount. When we had a shower, the hot water failed after some minutes, later it got back in strong sprays if hotter water, and then cooled down again...If the management could solve this problem, it will be perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete from Liverpool

Great low budget hotel with great staff.

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: Hotel staff so friendly. Free parking and free Internet.
Location: Ring road location. Dead easy public transport into town.
Great hotel. Good location on ring road - free parking and good public transport links into city centre. Free internet too. Hotel staff were so welcoming. Great hotel in a great city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Nice place everything was good, centrally located and pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gill from S.E. London

You get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 21, 2011
This hotel suited us. We had hired a car so the free parking was a bonus. The bus stop was just outside the hotel so we could get into the centre of town quickly and cheaply and Porto transport is excellent. The hotel front desk was friendly and helpful. The room was rather 'old fashioned', but it was comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, clean and plenty of hot water. The air conditioning was pretty old, so we had to have the window open, and the road is very noisy. The breakfast was fine, normal kind of things with no frills but fresh and clean and a wide variety, cheese, cold meats, egg, bacon, rolls, croissants, toast etc. We ate in the hotel one night (mid priced) and it was fine, but only two choices and no menu, but the waiter/chef was charming. No wine list, the drinks came from the bar. For best transport option get an Adante card and ask for Adante24 its good value and you can use all the transport options in Porto. Don't forget the visit the Port Lodges, they are wonderful and some tours are free and include tasting. Overall Porto is a great place to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Martin from GA, USA

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Nov 10, 2010
For staying in Porto, this hotel has a pretty good location. It's not in the city center, a little ways outside, in fact. But they have free parking and the bus going to downtown Porto has a stop right outside the door. Breakfast is rather sparse. Meals at the hotel are expensive but good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid, España

Belver Beta Porto Hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2010
Not a 4 star hotel!!!