Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Martin from London, UK

A good budget option in Porto's old town

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Braganca Hotel is definitely a budget option. For the price it's pretty good. The rooms are small, but clean. The bathroom is shared. The mattresses are super hard, but that was fine for me. There is a kitchen area with a microwave, so you can make your own food if you are really on a budget. There is a staircase and no elevator, which could be hard for some to carry luggage up. The staff were friendly. The hotel is right by the main nightlife, which can be noisy at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Karl R.

Simple and sufficient

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Ebookers
The location was excellent the room basic but I expected that, no TV - on well I can live without it. WiFi was a bit weak but such is life and I coped. The main thing that influences my opinion is the people and here they were superb and helpful. Free guest coffee, port and food was nice to have and I would say next time I'm in the area it will be high on my consideration list.
3 out of 5
by Yasinta from Sydney

it is an ok Hotel

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
The location was good but there is no lift, the recepsionist was not really friendly...the kitchen has no kettle to make hot water. No water on the dispenser...no tea as promised...some improvement for the service would be good..there were mosquitoes on our first day...however it was ok...the price is good. I would not stay at that hotel for future visit though..
1 out of 5
by David B from Toronto

This is a hostel NOT a hotel

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels
This is not a hotel. It is a hostel masquerading online as a hotel. I had booked two separate rooms. When we arrived the guy at the desk tried to give us just one room saying that we only booked two beds not two separate rooms. After we showed him the email confirmation he pretended to go and call someone in the office and left us waiting. When he came back he still tried to give us one room instead of the two that were booked. After about 30 minutes of waiting he finally relented and gave us our two separate rooms. When we got to our rooms we realized that this was a hostel not a hotel. Each room slept four people on bunk beds with a pull out and a single bed. The bathroom reeked and there was no air conditioning. The only way to get air into the room is to open the balcony door. However, the balcony is connected to other rooms allowing other guest to enter your room if you have not locked it before leaving the room. It's a cheap place to stay but it is not a hotel.
4 out of 5
by David from London

Great location, convenient, very helpful staff

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels
The rooms are small but very well maintained and very cool with the fan they install (gratis). Beds very clean and comfortable and the staff incredibly helpful in sorting another bed for the night at another hotel (at a discount no less, and another good hotel just up the road) when it turned out they were fully booked for the next night. Fully recommended for those on a budget who are travelling alone or with another and want the privacy not always afforded by youth hostels.
2 out of 5
by Jessc from USA

great location, not great everything else

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: location, free port wine and water bottles, price
Cons: hot water, better communication and service from staff
Location: Center of Porto .
I missed a night I booked because of a flight cancellation that resulted in a 24 hour delay. The man running the place still charged me for even though I stayed an extra night from my booking. Fine. The Wi-Fi didn't work the first two nights, only the morning that we left after I convinced the cleaning lady to restart it. Fine. The hot water didn't work at all and when I asked he said that it does. It doesn't. I asked the cleaning lady again and she said she doesn't know how to it and to ask the guy when he got back. He never came back before checkout. Not ok. The location of course it's nice although sometimes the street was loud even at night. Oh and the mornings always began early because the cleaning ladies would chat outside our door every morning. The room was small, tv big, common kitchen nice and large. No one spoke English - I spoke Portuguese. We are a young couple that don't mind small inconveniences that don't usually get bothered by hotel rooms because we are always our and about.
2 out of 5
by Lindaura

Not Fair!!!

Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels
It does not worse for the money!!! The hotel was really clean and the employee was really nice, but the cold that was into the room was ridiculous, during the night was really cold and they do not have central heat just a portable heater that was not working and they did not have another to replaced it, and the cover that they have in the room was not enough, was a terrible experience in the cold night. In the bathroom they do not have heater also and was hard to shower in that freezing room. We were 2 couples in a room with a 4 singles bed. Thank God we stayed there just one night . I just wonder why most reviews are good because for that reason I booked, otherwise I could booked at another place, I was very disappointed with the people's reviews from this hotel. Can I get my money back????
2 out of 5
by Portotraveler

Lacking in comfort but convenient

Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Orbitz
Very conveniently located in the center of Porto. The hotel staff is disorganized. It was small but clean. We were in a tiny room with a third bunk bed; there were only two of us and we had requested a double. It was hard to move around in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Pensao Flor Braganca

Posted Sep 4, 2011 on Hotels
Facilities were basic, with a shared bathroom for example and the room a bit small, but the place perfectly adequate and very clean. The staff were helpful. Location was ideal, just a few minutes from the main train station Sao Bento. My only complaint is that the curtain was rather thin, and I therefore had to get changed in the dark. They don't accept all credit cards, so remember to take cash!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels