Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: Breakfast should be buffet to bemore quicker even if costumers have to serve themselves in the little kitchen. There
Christal Guest House is next to everything in a walking distance . And Exactly in the middle of the "party". In a wonderfull neighbourd with nice bars and wonderfull restaurants like "Santiago" ( where you can eat a cheap and tasty Francesinha ) Not the right choice if you want to rest. Specialy in S.Joao the wonderfull party of the city with 24 hours of loud portuguese music and DJs. Enjoy with family,children or friends the "martelinhos" . Do not walk with lot's of money, fancy mobiles etc and you will be safe. Lot's of un for all ages .Cristal is a small but modern hotel with shared bathrooms. Romantic but families, children and teenagers will also love it .The breakfast is not too early is simple but tasty. Go to breakfast with time to wait because it is very slowly , it's served by one person from the little kitchen. Theres an old in the house emplyoee ( Rosa ? ) that also clean the rooms (106 is a good room) She is an amazing professional very quick and helpfhull ( other employee that was on breakfast was rude , slow, and lazy, like to talk with other employees but do not like to work ). You will love Porto, is an old beautiful city Must go in S.Joao where everyone is on streets in a 24 h party of the city . Wonderfull beach Matosinhos, good to surf . Buy the card Andante in Airport (45 minutes from city centre ),top up it with 10 Eur go downtown to Cristal, and from there to everywhere by tube ( metro) or Bus 500 that go by the beach last stop zone 2 Matosinhos.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad smell.

Posted May 10, 2016
There was a horrible sewer smell coming from the plumbing in the bathroom. We stayed two days and it never went away. We asked for a different room and were told that the same smell was in all of them. It made staying in the room almost impossible and sleeping there very unpleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Basic guest house in very good location

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Location. Helpful, welcoming staff in Reception area, and the cheerful ladies serving the continental breakfast..
Cons: Bathroom modern but rather small, the shower area with plastic curtain allows the water to overflow when in use and wet the floor. No floor mat.
As we had requested, we had a quiet room at the back of the hotel . The location was convenient to walk to many of the touristic sights if you are fit!. Plenty of places nearby to eat and drink. The Tourist Office at the airport recommended that we catch a bus from outside the airport and the bus terminal was 4 minutes walk to our guest house and took 45 minutes and cost 1.85 Euros. We spent 4 nights and saw many Baroque style churches and took a 3-in-one excursion which included a 50 minute cruise long the river, a guided visit to a Lodge of a well known port producing co. and learnt a lot about the production and history of the port and wine; also a ride on the little train around the city. Had lovely walk along the river Doura and had nice meals in the many reasonably priced restaurants there. People very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad hotel and noisy.

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Every night till early morning (6 am) many persons near the hotel make nois (talk with high volume voice).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Be warned!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Bathroom condition
Location: metro san bento
First of all, the location of the hotel is at the night life location. With music and noises all night till 3am in the morning. It is very difficult for a traveler to rest at night. Second, not to book a room on the 4th floor which does not have air conditioner. You won't be able to sleep in the heat and the loud noises.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elliot Lake Ontario.

Good location...terrible room

Posted May 25, 2015
Noisy bar area..terrible room..bums everywhere..but a great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wanderfull Porto

Posted May 21, 2015
We have enjoyed the city and the hotel is in a central area where we could walk around. Only problem is on saturday night too much noise coming from the bars until 4-5 in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

GREAT location, BASIC accommodation

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location: EVERYTHING nearby within walking distance.
Cons: The interiors are a bit faded and could use a coat of paint, but otherwise not dirty or dangerous.
Location: Walk out the door and there are bars, restaurants, pharmacies, churches, museums, tourist attractions . . .
This is your typical European "pension" providing the basics: bed, bath, and (continental) breakfast. Don't expect too much more than that. The English-speaking staff made the stay worthwhile as they answered my questions about Porto, got a leak repaired in my bathroom, ordered taxis, kept me supplied into the night, etc . . .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the heart of Porto

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Close to the heart of Porto - Everything is within walking distance or one use the metro, train , bus or trolleys.
Location: Close to the heart of Porto - Everything is within walking distance or one use the metro, train , bus or trolleys.
Excellent staff and accommodations! Close to the heart of Porto easy access to all historical sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Basic but clean and friendly hotel, in city centre

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Middle of city centre, a few minutes walk from Sao Bento, the metro stop from the airport, friendly staff, clean.
Cons: The shower, although very powerful, could have done with a new shower tray, very clean just a bit worn.
Location: Very near the tallest church tower in the city, lots of quirky bars, 10 mins walk from the Luis bridge, between the old town and the shopping area
We didn't need anything posh, just a base to be tourists from. The room was better than basic,very clean, and had its own bathroom. We emailed and asked specifically for a room at the back as we had read on trip advisor that the local streets can be a bit noisy at night. We received an email confirming that we had a back room. The first night it was quite noisy as we had the window open, an unseasonably hot autumn, and had not discovered the air con. The next night we closed the window and all was fine. The breakfast was basic, two rolls and a pastry with Juice and either tea or coffee, I saw people ask for 2nds with no trouble, it set us up nicely for the day. We could have had it in our room if we wanted. The staff were friendly and polite, and offered us advice when asked. There are lots of trendy bars and eateries in the two local streets some of them doing an kind of after work deal of a snack (eg quiche) and a drink (eg wine or beer) for about 4 euros. Nice little place to use as a base to visit the city from and not very far from all the sites.