Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michal from Polomka

Adequate value for money.

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are rather small, what is no problem, because we used them really for sleeping only - but the picture shown during rezervation was much bigger. I would use this hotel probably again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comment. We try to do the best to our customers' satisfaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: Breakfast should be buffet to bemore quicker even if costumers have to serve themselves in the little kitchen. There
Christal Guest House is next to everything in a walking distance . And Exactly in the middle of the "party". In a wonderfull neighbourd with nice bars and wonderfull restaurants like "Santiago" ( where you can eat a cheap and tasty Francesinha ) Not the right choice if you want to rest. Specialy in S.Joao the wonderfull party of the city with 24 hours of loud portuguese music and DJs. Enjoy with family,children or friends the "martelinhos" . Do not walk with lot's of money, fancy mobiles etc and you will be safe. Lot's of un for all ages .Cristal is a small but modern hotel with shared bathrooms. Romantic but families, children and teenagers will also love it .The breakfast is not too early is simple but tasty. Go to breakfast with time to wait because it is very slowly , it's served by one person from the little kitchen. Theres an old in the house emplyoee ( Rosa ? ) that also clean the rooms (106 is a good room) She is an amazing professional very quick and helpfhull ( other employee that was on breakfast was rude , slow, and lazy, like to talk with other employees but do not like to work ). You will love Porto, is an old beautiful city Must go in S.Joao where everyone is on streets in a 24 h party of the city . Wonderfull beach Matosinhos, good to surf . Buy the card Andante in Airport (45 minutes from city centre ),top up it with 10 Eur go downtown to Cristal, and from there to everywhere by tube ( metro) or Bus 500 that go by the beach last stop zone 2 Matosinhos.
2 out of 5
by Farah from Canada

Good location bad aroma

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has a great location but they really have to do something about the awful odour that comes through the drains of the bathroom. The fancy airfreashner couldn't keep the smell out. Which tells me that the hotel staff is aware of the bad odour.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad smell.

Posted May 10, 2016
There was a horrible sewer smell coming from the plumbing in the bathroom. We stayed two days and it never went away. We asked for a different room and were told that the same smell was in all of them. It made staying in the room almost impossible and sleeping there very unpleasant.
3 out of 5
by Jaime from Dublin

Budget Acc. don't justify poor dirty facilities

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty room, share showers also dirty. cheap accommodation doesn't justify have a dirty place. Very noisy at night with a club running until 6am the next morning, double glass will be good idea. Room is basic with a bed and a TV all you need for one night stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor bathroom

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
poor room, smelt of damp bathroom ceiling full of damp and leaking. poor flush on toilet.this was room 316 not sure what others were like
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Basic guest house in very good location

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Location. Helpful, welcoming staff in Reception area, and the cheerful ladies serving the continental breakfast..
Cons: Bathroom modern but rather small, the shower area with plastic curtain allows the water to overflow when in use and wet the floor. No floor mat.
As we had requested, we had a quiet room at the back of the hotel . The location was convenient to walk to many of the touristic sights if you are fit!. Plenty of places nearby to eat and drink. The Tourist Office at the airport recommended that we catch a bus from outside the airport and the bus terminal was 4 minutes walk to our guest house and took 45 minutes and cost 1.85 Euros. We spent 4 nights and saw many Baroque style churches and took a 3-in-one excursion which included a 50 minute cruise long the river, a guided visit to a Lodge of a well known port producing co. and learnt a lot about the production and history of the port and wine; also a ride on the little train around the city. Had lovely walk along the river Doura and had nice meals in the many reasonably priced restaurants there. People very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad hotel and noisy.

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Every night till early morning (6 am) many persons near the hotel make nois (talk with high volume voice).