Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Grand Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Charm, Staff
Cons: larger beds
Location: Great Location!
Hotel is very old but has the charm of Oporto of the past. If you're looking for a hotel with modern facilities, this hotel may not be to your likening. The Grande Hotel de Paris does have good facilities to accommodate ones needs but, maintains the old structure feeling of the early days of the 1900's . Worth a stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SE England

Quirky, old fashioned hotel in good location.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Quirky, charming decor in public areas. Good location. Helpful staff.
Cons: The coffee at breakfast. You had to pay to use the safe in your room. A deposit for the key is ok but a daily charge on top ......?
Location: All Porto has to offer.
This hotel is in a convenient location for the main sights of Porto. Close to the metro which is linked to the airport and the tour buses stop just round the corner. Riverside area within walking distance. It's an old fashioned hotel but we found it charming and quirky.The reception staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. All spoke good English. Good choice of food and drink for breakfast although coffee was from a machine and not so good. We had a triple room at the back on the second floor. It was fine for us 3 mature ladies in that it was quiet and reasonably spacious. The decor was gloomy and old fashioned and the bathroom was very dated but it was very clean and provided everything we needed. Beds were comfortable. We were only in our room to sleep after all! Not for you if you're wanting luxury. This hotel might not be suitable for people with mobility issues or small children as elevator small and lots of winding staircases.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Old building with a lot of charm. Very central. Close to the train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very central hotel, but old furniture.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
I arrived late, the hotel staff were very nice and supportive. I stayed only for one night so it was OK. The hotel has old style decoration and old furniture. Mattresses are not comfortable. Breakfast was less than what I expected for the price I paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not Three Star: Zero Amenities

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Staff were polite and helpful. Hotel is conveniently located.
Cons: Hotel needs to be renovated to modern standards and management needs to be less cheap and provide ameneties that are standard in even one star hotels.
Location: Located in central part of Porto within walking distance of rua Santa Catarina, churches, restaurants, etc.
This is an old hotel in a building over a century old. Unfortunately, it has not been adequately renovated to modern standards. When we first checked in we asked if there was air conditioning because it was a warm and very humid day. We were told there was AC but that we didn't need it, so they would not turn it on or even give us the remote control! Only two weeks later, the night before we left did they give us the remote control for the AC. They did not even provide little hotel sized bottles of shampoo or conditioner. They gave us two mini sized bars of soap, but would not give us (two people) any more or replace soap even when it was gone. (We were there two weeks.) We had to buy our own soap. There were zero amenities: The room and bathroom were bare of any amenities that are usually provided at even one or two star hotels. I would not stay here again in spite of good staff and convenient location. There are much better choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mirfield

Perfect location !

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: The location and staff.
Cons: The facilities in the room
Location: You are two minutes walk from all the night life so it is easy on a night to explore. There are plenty of excellent restaurants nearby.
You could not pick a better location to explore this fantastic city. The hotel is 6 minutes brisk walk downhill from Trinidade metro or 3 minutes from Aliados. Using this location you can easily walk around the city and during our three day stay we did not have to use public transport. Breakfast was reasonable and there was a fair choice for an European breakfast. The rooms were ok, clean but maybe a little warm in the summer and our room overlooked the street so we could not have the windows at night. The shower was good but getting in was a bit snug! The hotel is quirky but the staff are very friendly and helpful. Would go back !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central position

Posted Jun 18, 2016
A hotel with plenty of character and friendly and helpful staff. Within walking distance of tourist attractions and restaurants. Downside was our room was very small and could have done with a lick of paint. However always clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Everything was great about this place...clean, good location, great breakfast, etc. But the bathroom is very tiny and the shower is for shorter, thin people. My wife and I are small and we had difficulty washing ourselves. Other important point is the high level of noise on the street size room...if you are a heavy sleeper then no problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2016
I got a very basic room. Interesting building needs updating. Good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clitheroe UK

Nice hotel in central position.

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Nice antique furniture in the oldest hotel in Porto.
Cons: All fine.
Location: Parks.markets,trams, riverside. Wine tours . FC Porto tour. Five days not enough.
Hotel in great location, staff could not be faulted.Breakfast varied and plentiful. Asked for quiet room and got what we wanted. Good value for money.