Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Michael from Toronto

Enjoyable stay in Porto.

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Old but very beautiful hotel. Located in a great neighbourhood. The hallways and rooms are very simple but clean and adequate. The lobby and public areas are very beautiful. The front desk staff are very helpful. We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely use that hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old, formal hotel on a cool pedestrian street righ

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel is very old-world-comfort downstairs with dark velvet sofas. We prepaid an inexpensive room for 3. Our rooms--there were two--were large, and basically empty except for beds. No attempt at charm. But they were clean and the front desk people were terrific--very nice and helpful. I recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Alfredo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Nadine from USA

Sore Spot

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
I was recommended to this hotel from my cousin who stays here religiously. I was sorely disappointed upon my arrival. Porto is an amazing city with so much to do. The hotel is located in a great location which is perfect for roaming around the city. The hotel is in such old shape though. Upon my arrival, my suite was less than satisfactory. The room spelled of cigarette smoke and when I asked to change rooms I was given a smaller room, but still charged for a suite. During my final day in Porto, the hotel put me back in a suite. The staff was friendly enough, but did not seem willing to assist me initially when I had the challenge with the room--it was a poor display of service, especially given all the money I spent. My best advice? Find a cute boutique hotel in Porto, it's worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Grand lady!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: In a very central area and you could easily walk to any of the sights.
We had a great stay at this hotel. Our room was basic but big and the modern bathroom had lots of space. The downstairs sitting rooms and halls were amazing, with many old photos of the Duke of Windsor and other celebrities, leather couches and fancy chandeliers. Even the breakfast room was grand and served an excellent buffet.
3 out of 5
by Sankar from Berkeley, California and Hyderabad, India

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is old, and has classic ambience. The rooms are very basic, but clean and functional. However, in-room amenities are poor. There is no Kleenex, no bottled water, and most annoyingly, no cable TV. There was only a 16" inch TV with only local channels. For my room rate (160 Euro per night), the amenities should have been much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Only very small point - breakfast is strictly from 7 am so leaving early for a flight means missing it.
Location: Everything in Porto!
This is still the "Grand Hotel" with the lounge and dining areas reflecting an earlier age. The service is good and the buffet breakfast fine. The location is great, right on the main shopping street. We walked everywhere from the hotel - Porto is all hills though and it's up to the Hotel when you're coming back. We had a bargain booking via Expedia and the room was clean and comfortable ... although not one of the largest I'm sure ;-) Great Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: We liked it's location which was very convenient for Sao Bento mainline station and Bolhao metro station.
Cons: The lighting in the bedrooms. There was a roof terrace with tables and chairs but no umbrellas so impossible to use on a hot sunny day
Location: See above. It was situated on a pedestrianised shopping street.
The hotel was very traditional and with dark decorations. Many walls were dark brown and the lighting very subdued. I found the bedroom to be exceptionally dark and, apart from the bathroom which was very bright, the only place to read was lying on the bed with the tiny flexible wall fixed spotlight shining on the page. The public rooms downstairs did not seem any better. We tried the evening meal which was of the nouvelle cuisine type, with the barest of vegetables - one or two minute carrots, broccoli and cauliflower florets but plenty of meat.
1 out of 5
by Franklin from Sacramento

Worse hotel ever

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is bipolar. The entrance is old fashioned Viennese, the rooms minuscule and minimalist and darker than a bear cave. The bathroom without even a kleenex dispenser. The worse part was the old dude at the front desk. He refused to give us the name of close by restaurants because tourists should eat at the waterfront where the dives were atrocious. Eventually, we found a few very good ones next door on our own.
5 out of 5
by Neil from Ealing

Classy hotel in great location

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very stylish (a little old-fashioned, but I mean that positively). Excellent breakfast, lovely environment for dinner. Superb value for money when we went - I'd have expected to pay almost 50% more for the class of hotel