Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Central location to all Oporto has to offer

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Very spacious public rooms, Free wifi, Central location. Excellent breakfast. We were there for the New Year and the staff worked very hard.
Cons: Coffee/ Tea facilities in bedrooms. Routine maintenance on some rooms required.
Location: Central position in very busy shopping street, not affected by noise at all. Horrendous queues all the time at the n/b Majestic Cafe, Grt Shame! HILLY
Some rooms are small, o/k for one night but no longer. We asked for a larger room and were duly obliged. Very nice public rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A truly Grand Hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The position in the centre of the old town was excellent, the staff were very helpful, and the overall presentation was truly Grand.
Location: There are many restaurants and shops close by and museums and the main sights are only a short walk away.
We had a wonderful four nights at the Grand Hotel in Porto. This hotel lived up to its name, with a sense of grandness reflected in its all its furnishings, entrance and dining room. It was very centrally located in the old town, and a short walk from the main sights. The bed was very comfortable, the staff were helpful and polite and the included breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel is located right in the middle of the city and all major attractions. Also close to the subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in the heart of Porto.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The pillows are not comfortable, so we slept without... Shower facilities are not good enough: while taking a shower bouts of hot and cold water is coming ! Annoying...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

At the heart of the city...BUT...

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The location...central with the main station and metro nearby.
Cons: Almost everything inside the rooms.
Location: At the centre for shopping and night life. Stay out as long as possible to avoid spending too much time in the room.
Location cannot be faulted and the splendour of the ground floor is unquestionable.....BUT....the bedrooms themselves leave a lot to be desired. To say they are compact is an overstatement. It is impossible to pass by your room mate on the way to the loo or shower and you will have to draw up a timetable to utilise the scant facilities. There is no provision at all for a hot drink, the sinks fail to retain water, the mattresses are rock hard, the showers lack power and for some very strange reason the walls are covered in mirrors.Clearly meant to give the impression of space but nothing else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Hotel is situated in a pedestrian walk with many shops and restaurants, including the Majestic Cafe, nearby. Within walking distance to other points of interest as well, such as the pier from which you catch the boat tours and the cathedral. If you are driving, the hotel does have a small underground garage. Note that the street does allow cars to enter, though it is a one way. You may have to drive around the block depending on from which direction you are coming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old, formal hotel on a cool pedestrian street righ

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel is very old-world-comfort downstairs with dark velvet sofas. We prepaid an inexpensive room for 3. Our rooms--there were two--were large, and basically empty except for beds. No attempt at charm. But they were clean and the front desk people were terrific--very nice and helpful. I recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Grand lady!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: In a very central area and you could easily walk to any of the sights.
We had a great stay at this hotel. Our room was basic but big and the modern bathroom had lots of space. The downstairs sitting rooms and halls were amazing, with many old photos of the Duke of Windsor and other celebrities, leather couches and fancy chandeliers. Even the breakfast room was grand and served an excellent buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Only very small point - breakfast is strictly from 7 am so leaving early for a flight means missing it.
Location: Everything in Porto!
This is still the "Grand Hotel" with the lounge and dining areas reflecting an earlier age. The service is good and the buffet breakfast fine. The location is great, right on the main shopping street. We walked everywhere from the hotel - Porto is all hills though and it's up to the Hotel when you're coming back. We had a bargain booking via Expedia and the room was clean and comfortable ... although not one of the largest I'm sure ;-) Great Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: We liked it's location which was very convenient for Sao Bento mainline station and Bolhao metro station.
Cons: The lighting in the bedrooms. There was a roof terrace with tables and chairs but no umbrellas so impossible to use on a hot sunny day
Location: See above. It was situated on a pedestrianised shopping street.
The hotel was very traditional and with dark decorations. Many walls were dark brown and the lighting very subdued. I found the bedroom to be exceptionally dark and, apart from the bathroom which was very bright, the only place to read was lying on the bed with the tiny flexible wall fixed spotlight shining on the page. The public rooms downstairs did not seem any better. We tried the evening meal which was of the nouvelle cuisine type, with the barest of vegetables - one or two minute carrots, broccoli and cauliflower florets but plenty of meat.