Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location and early 20th century charming decor
Cons: The BED!
The best thing about this hotel is the location - great access to all the sites in Porto within walking distance. Restaurants, cafes, shopping and public transportation all in near vicinity. The hotel has tons of charm and retains much of its original detail from when it was built. Our first impression was really positive, plus they upgraded us to a suite named after a famous Portuguese cellist, so we had much more room than we expected. Our room was beautifully decorated although the carpet was a dingy, stained and worn. Where we experienced a major negative issue was that the aged floor was sloped causing the bed to be substantially tilted and we therefore had huge difficulty sleeping. One of us had to wedge his feet into the bed board so that he wouldn't roll out of the bed! So, while we loved the decor, charm and spaciousness of our room, not being able to sleep properly is a bit of a deal breaker. We revived our spirits with the lovely breakfast, but we are sad to say we can't recommend this hotel because we couldn't sleep!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everyone was helpful.

Posted May 24, 2017
Some of the other people in our group had extremely small bedrooms. Ours was fine. The hotel was very crowded. Breakfast fairly good.
5 out of 5
by hal a.

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
All services were great.
4 out of 5
by MARGET

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a good 3 star hotel in the center of a lot of activity. It is 8n walking distance to many point of interest and public transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Historical hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Above
Cons: More light
Location: Great location for everything, sites, airport rental car
Best coffee in Europe!!!! Best baked breakfast items. I loved the location and lobby. The room and hallways were dark. Beds were comfortable,but noisy outside at night. Overall, loved my stay!
5 out of 5
by Robert

Grand old hotel, very central to metro, hop on bus

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely old hotel, very central to everything. Metro stop 5 mins walk. Breakfast was ample, lovely opulent dining area. Room was small, and wifi poor, but fine in the reception areas.
5 out of 5
by anthony

Anthony and Susan UK

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very central location and good breakfast. A kettle in room would be a useful addition.
4 out of 5
by Sasa

Old style hotel in a middle of city

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
wi fi was no so good. old fashioned dinning room is amazing
5 out of 5
by Anahid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando Fl

Quiet hotel in middle of everything

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Easy checkin, comfortable room, blackout shudders for sleeping. We had a terrific breakfast included in our rate. Parking in hotel Garage
Cons: For one night stay, not much
Location: Great location, lots to do and see
On a pedesrian street, making it somewhat challenging to find by car, however Rua do Santa Catarina is a major shopping street in Porto.