Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR USA

Centrally located.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: I can't think of a thing.
Location: Metro is literally steps away. Restaurants are nearby and everything is within walking distance or a bus/metro ride away.
Saw this hotel online and booked it. It was in a GREAT location, clean and comfortable. I had a balcony overlooking the square on Avenida dos Aliados. I am a solo traveler and my room was everything I had hoped it would be and more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca usa

Old in center of town

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Advertising deceptive. Should not be on expedia Steep steps to elevetor, that takes you one more floor to reception. Elevator out of order, no help with luggage. Bed narrow and short and hard. I am 5 foot ten. Breakfast so so. Computers out of order. Loud. Very convenient to anything in Porto. I have booked many, many hotels with expedia, This is my second complaint ever
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1 Star Hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
The staff is friendly, but the hotel inside looks old and dirty, if you see the wall, you can see human air, and the breakfast is bad, also you can't take anything out of the breakfast room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
-Good location but for the price we stayed in cleaner and nicer places in Portugal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Street View Rooms are very noisey

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: location service level of hotel staff
Cons: install glass doors or glass windows on all street view rooms to help seal out the street noise.
Location: location is great and very central in downtown area.
Booked a Street View.....what a mistake.....you have a very nice view, however there are only shutters and no glass. So you can't seal out the noise of the traffic and the people. We stayed there on a Friday night and the noise between the loud noise of traffic and the loud people talking/yelling on the street until 5:30am....it went on all night long....we barely got any sleep. I do not recommend booking a street view room if you want some peace and quiet if looking to get some sleep. I would suggest booking an interior room and that should solve the street noise problem we encountered I would think. Another disappointment: - the bed was not soft. - the room are small, the bathroom especially was very cramped. - had to lug suitcases up 2 flights of stairs and then thru a narrow 1/2 door to the reception on 2nd floor level upon arrival. The only other option we found out later was to take a very small elevator that will hold 1 person + 1 large suitcase from street level to reception. Positives: Location and hotel staff service were the 2 areas that I would give it a 5 out of 5. Interior hallways and common lounge room are very tastefully decorated and spacious. All other facilities I would rate 2.5 out of 5 for the rest. The restaurant below the hotel ( not part of the hotel ) is very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The best location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location is the best.
Aliados puts you as central in Porto as you can be. It is steps from the Metro. And the architecture of the building has charm. But if your room faces the street you will have noise at all hours. The room itself was clean and well appointed, but small. The continental breakfast, at extra cost, was quite good and worth the money and served in a pleasant, large room. But at the prices charged by this hotel there is better value to be had in locations just slightly less central.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lisbon

Great value for money

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Great value for money - after discounts, I paid €20 per night for a single room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Nice Hotel in Centre

Posted Jan 27, 2017
This hotel has everything you need. Spacious, clean rooms and free breakfast! The hotel staff is very helpful too. It is within walking distance of most major attractions and right next to a metro stop. Had a great stay here!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, mediocre hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed one night for a one day visit in Porto. Very friendly guest staff. Lots of stairs/small elevator to get to the reception. Room was old fashioned and cute, had the necessary amenities. Bathroom was tiny - comparable to a cruise ship stateroom bathroom with a small standing shower. Breakfast was enough because I am not a big morning eater and it was only 5 euros.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Room slightly noisy from the traffic as it was on the main road system. But good value and good location