Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Good hotel but...

Posted Jun 26, 2017
I booked a twin room to stay with my mum during the St. John festival weekend. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and given our room keys. Upon entering out designated room on the third floor, we discovered that the room only came with one bed. When we told reception, we were shown another room in the very basement of the hotel which was dark to say the least. Asking if there were alternatives, the staff member stated that this was the only available "basic twin room" that I booked. We applied for and got an upgraded suite for an additional 120euros for nights. I asked for a second duvet and was told that this request was not possible during the evening. Next day, we noticed that the two large bottles of water we had purchased had been taken away by the housekeeping staff, but was replaced immediately. It's a clean and well-designed hotel, but for nearly 600 euros for two nights you expect to receive a little more in service-somewhat dissappinted
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
This hotel has a great location which is close to river and we were able to walk everywhere. The rooms were clean. Cons: terrible bed. Very noisy. Strange smell in the hallways. For the price we paid I was hoping for a better bed but you're mostly paying for the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Terrific location in hub of Riberia

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Room was very well appointed clean and roomy lovely bathroom. shower was difficult to work with modern tap fixtures however housekeeping was able to explain the shower tricks. Two light bulbs were blown but fixed immediately. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety of food. All In all an excellent stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Well located in the centre of Porto, close to ever

Posted May 28, 2017
A contemporary hotel which is full of character. The real advantage is the central location and its closeness to the vibrant riverside with its bats and cafes. The disadvantage, because of its location, is that there is no parking. However the hotel has an arrangement with a nearby( ish) public car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to the waterfront.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Lovely mix of old stonework and modern style. Very clean and staff very helpful
Cons: The only minus was the limited wardrobe hanging space. Needed an extra rail with hangers and re jigging of shelf space.
Location: If you want to visit the library near the Clerigos Tower, then book your time slot in advance as space is limited and it is very popular.
Porto easy to get around. Walked mainly but Used tram,chair lift, metro and taxis. all transport reasonably priced. Enjoyed the boat trip up the Douro organised by the hotel reception. It was a long day but worth it. Port lodge trip a must. Great views from Yeatmans Hotel and Taylor's terrace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel just off the River front

Posted May 5, 2017
Hotel is perfectly located for the River bars and restaurants. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are spacious with excellent bathrooms and comfy beds. Breakfast was disappointing, however this was due to the dining room being closed for refurbishment and a temporary facility being in place. Overall Porto is a great place to visit and this hotel is perfect. We will certainly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 1, 2017
Very nice boutique hotel right in the centre of town. Room was very clean and smart, staff were great, breakfast was excellent. Bed was comfy although slightly hard for our taste. One slight issue was the building works taking place in the buildings adjacent to the hotel (on both sides), which meant there was some building noise throughout the day. However fortunately we were staying over a weekend, and the works started around 9am on Saturday morning, and no works on the Sunday, so it didn't bother us too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect Location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The excellent location and style, and especially the charming VERY helpful staff.
Cons: Facial tissues in the bathroom would be useful, along with a couple more hooks for clothes/bathrobes.
Location: Location by a lovely square is perfect. The river is just around the corner. Buses stop close by and main sites within walking distance.
This hotel is constructed from 5 ancient buildings and is in itself interesting. I has no restaurant (although I believe it does during the summer) Breakfasts are served 2 floors below street level in the oldest part of the building with massive thick walls; they are excellent - plenty of fresh fruit and cheese, breads and pastries, which is what we like. For those who persist in eating large cooked breakfast there is no shortage of bacon, scrambled eggs and ham, which guests seem to eat in huge quantities! As a four star, we thought the room was a little small - due to much of the space being taken up by a huge American-sized bed. Personally I'd like a slightly smaller bed, thus allowing for a couple of chairs on which to place clothes and the cushions placed on the bed during the day. We stay in places for at least 7/8 days and invariably find the clothes hanging space inadequate - it seems to be measured out for the average stay of 3/4 days. The bathroom was fine, with a good hair dryer and super towels. However, the bidet was much too close to the wall on one side, and to the toilet on the other side, making it somewhat awkward to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
This hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Porto old town and further afield. The staff recommended some fabulous restaurants and were always attentive and helpful. Will probably be back as we had a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by Maureen

A refreshing break.

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Welcoming reception staff, quick and easy sign in, well presented lobby and sitting areas. Lovely location very near quayside and some attractions. Close to tourist bus stops for several lines, also ticket offices for attractions. Good choice of varied budget eating places nearby so didn't use facilities in hotel. Single room had large and comfortable bed, Good en suite shower etc. All very clean.View over rooftops to Monastery across river. Some renovation work in adjcent building made daytime noise but who wants to stay indoors during day when in such a lovely city? I visited for some winter sun, culture and especially food and was rewarded with all my needs.