Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexpected Treat

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
The place was being renovated and we got one of the newer rooms Really nice and very friendly staff
1 out of 5
by hari lal from Lisbon

It's not fresh

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
I don't like any more
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

You get what you ay for

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: yes - remove mold smell
Location: center of Porto, fantastic city.
Please don't expect luxury, if you pay less you get less. It is a great stay for no more than couple nights to visit Porto.
2 out of 5
by Lisa from Durham

no record of booking.

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
Nightmare. Hotel had no record of my booking. Helpful lady at reception- not staff- negociated with owner who let us have a room for the 4 of us for the night. Hotel across the road found us rooms for the remainder of our stay much nicer and barely any more ecpensive. Beds in sao jaoge hard and creaky. Clean but falling to pieces. Would not reccomend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Manchester, UK

" Great value and location with a smile!"

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Friendly reception, willing to help with any queries with good English! Great location, 10 minutes walk to the main square for late night restaurants, bars etc...
2 out of 5
by Roger from Washington, USA

Depressing

Posted Nov 25, 2009
Good location, close to city center--most everything is within walking distance. Owners/staff very friendly, although no English spoken and conversation in Spanish is also difficult. This was a mistake--pure and simple. I would not recommend staying here unless cost was an overwhelming factor. At best, the location could be described as a formerly charming, but worn heritage building. The pictures leave one open to believing it has a sort of romantic charm and lots of character--that picture fades quickly when you arrive. The staff are very nice, well-meaning people, though.
3 out of 5
by Fábio from Maceio, Brasil

Bom

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
O banheiro muito acanhado, mas o estado geral do hotel é bom, pois estão mudando e modernizando o prédio antigo. Valeu pelo preço.
1 out of 5
by Olivier from Angers

Nul

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Pour 50€ la nuit sans petit déjeuner nous étions logés 2 nuits dans un grenier...matelas détestable avec les ressorts qui nous rentraient dans les lombes . J'ai pris des photos du gourbi et du matelas ..édifiant à la disposition de ceux qui veulent . Scandaleux , je ne comprends pas que des sites de location acceptent cela .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Groningen

Rommelige kamer in gerenoveerd hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Locatie, personeel
Cons: Badkamer, wifi-signaal, grootte van het bed
Location: Het historische centrum van Porto is vlakbij.
Het hotel bevindt zich in een renovatie. De receptie en het trappenhuis zijn mooi en onlangs gerenoveerd. De kamer waarin we verbleven, moest nog worden aangepakt. De deur naar de kamer bleef niet uit zichzelf dicht, tenzij je hem op slot draaide (met een ouderwetse sleutel). De badkamerdeur kon niet op slot (en had een stuk wc-papier in het sleutelgat om het zicht te blokkeren). De wc had moeite met het doorspoelen van de 'grote boodschap' en de stortbak vulde zich langzaam. Bovendien waren er allemaal (oude?) blootliggende elektriciteitskabels zichtbaar in de badkamer. Het wifi-signaal is erg zwak op de kamer. De bedden aan de korte kant. Het personeel was overigens erg aardig en behulpzaam. Wellicht ziet de kamer er veel beter uit bij een later verblijf.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel délabré mais très bien situé

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: L'emplacement : à 5/10 minutes à pied de la rue Sainte Catherine, de la gare de Sao Bento et du pont qui mène à Vila Nova de Gaia.
Cons: L'état général de l'immeuble (murs fissurés, peintures à refaire, etc.).
Obligés de montrer nos résas papier et de "se battre" pour payer le prix affiché sur Expedia... L'hôtel est un peu délabré et n'inspire pas forcément confiance. La porte-fenêtre de la chambre donnait sur un couloir, donc impossible de laisser ouvert pour aérer. L'hôtel est en cours de rénovation, les quelques couloirs déjà repeints/reparquetés sont très jolis. Du mieux en perspective.