Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Very nice hotel near to the beach

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Amazing view from the hotel and very nice spa facilities.. enjoyed my stay there a lot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with 2 super pools

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Wonderful stay highlighted by super restaurant where he staff were great in helping us celebrate the birthday of a Portugeses friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, U.K.

Great hotel in a quiet location outside Porto

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Wonderful three nights. We arrived slightly early and we're still offered the room for checking in. The staff are excellent, friendly and offer great advise. We had a sea facing room - very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was excellent. There is a public walkway along the beach, which is great for walks and one can walk or jog for miles along the Atlantic cuss line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camberley Surrey UK

Healthy holiday

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The hotel has a really good gym and spa, and was close to the beach via a boardwalk. the bed in our room was massive and very comfortable.
Cons: Rooms were a little dated, so to improve the bathroom would be good.
Location: The walk along the beach, with the massive waves crashing in, to Espinho was so good we did it daily, and the town has great restaurants and shops, an
The hotel has a really good gym and spa, and was close to the beach via a boardwalk. The walk along the beach, with the massive waves crashing in, to Espinho was so good we did it daily, and the town has great restaurants and shops, and even a surf school on the beach. We also took the boardwalk to Granja railway station and took a train to Porto for a memorable day. Some of the staff at the hotel were very nice, and the odd one a bit stony faced. Some would say certain parts of the hotel needed a little money spent, but in all honesty, this holiday was great value and we enjoyed it very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Value for money

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel , friendly staff and spacious rooms.
Cons: It's ageing a little but that didn't spoil my experience
Location: Cf previous review above
It's situated 30 mins by train from the main city centre. We bought a 3 day pass which covered the metro, buses and the trains! A taxi to the nearest train station Espinho to the hotel is between € 5-7. We usually walked along the beach from the hotel ( 20 mins) . Hotel staff were very good, polite and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We didn't use the Spa or the pool though as we spent most of our days in Porto. We ate dinner once in the hotel( not great but ok!) There a lots of lovely restaurants along the sea front though and plenty along the river front in Porto. The Hop on Hop off buss was also excellent value for money-€21 each for 2 days with a river cruise and short tour of a port wine cellar with wine tasting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice in parts

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: They had entertainments in the capacious foyer. One night they had a group doing local folk dances which guests were invited to join with.
Cons: Room service could be better. They left an empty bottle and dirty glasses in the room for three days.
Location: It is reasonably close to Porto, which is a wonderful romantic and beautiful city. We hired a car, but there is also a nearby train station.
Comfortable room. Hotel close to the beach, but the water is really cold. Like in England. They have a heated outdoor pool which is nice. Also an indoor pool and gym.. There are a couple of tennis courts, but they are charged and harden and poor quality. There is a paddl court, which is a strange game between tennis and squash and real tennis. Breakfast is ok.. To get to the beach you go through a locked gate. At nine pm they lock it and you can't use it after to either come in or out. Now, that sounds unimportant, but actually the easiest way to get to or from the local town is along the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Have a good look at the location first

Posted Aug 14, 2016
I'm not sure I would rate this hotel 5 stars. The worst pillows in the world, sadly it really reduced my enjoyment and rest time. Swimming pools, spa and saunas are great, food and drink offer is above average. However it's in the middle of nowhere, 20-25 minutes walk from Espinho, which hasn't much too see, public transport too far, there is some free bus leaving from and to the hotel, but not many. 20 minutes drive to Porto, about 25 euro in a taxi. No Taxi stand at the hotel, they have to be ordered. The beach is just a beach: you cannot swim there, it's just rocks in the water. I doubt I would go to Portugal again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very nice hotel !

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Much nicer than expected! Very good service and helpful staff. Only stayed one night but room very clean and comfortable. Dinner buffet was Italian that night and very good since we were looking for something a little different. Breakfast buffet very good as well. Entertainment on bar area at night. Enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Great spot with beautiful beach & pool area

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Great spot with beautiful beach and lovely boardwalk for walks/runs, going to Espinho for shops/Monday market, lively Portuguese 'seaside town' beach and restaurants. 15 min boardwalk trip to beautiful old tile-covered Granja station for Porto visit (or Aveiro). Very helpful hotel staff. Lovely pools and gym/spa. Nice rooms but heavy carpets and grandiose decor in general are a bit old world - why not make it more light and modern and Portuguese-themed (i. e. as in the delightful modern wall tiles near the restaurant)? White floors and luxurious rugs would be more classy in bar area etc. James Bond and Steve MacQueen pictures are a bit odd and 70s. BUT main problems: no outside eating area for breakfast or evening meals. Nice lunch/coffee bar with outside eating area in daytime, but dark bar and evening restaurant does not make a feature of the sea outside. Guests not allowed out round pool after 19.30! What a shame. Breakfast was in a very busy, dull conference room overlooking the car park! Often queuing to get in - definitely not a 5 star experience. Breakfast buffet good but no porridge or omelettes as in Pestana chain. But it is eating breakfast outside that is usually one of the highlights of my holidays
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good choice

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location and access to a lovely Boardwalk along the ocean
Location: City of Porto definitely worth a visit
Close to Porto, easy access to the airport, nice amenities, great breakfast buffet