Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, U.K.

Great hotel in a quiet location outside Porto

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Wonderful three nights. We arrived slightly early and we're still offered the room for checking in. The staff are excellent, friendly and offer great advise. We had a sea facing room - very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was excellent. There is a public walkway along the beach, which is great for walks and one can walk or jog for miles along the Atlantic cuss line.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camberley Surrey UK

Healthy holiday

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The hotel has a really good gym and spa, and was close to the beach via a boardwalk. the bed in our room was massive and very comfortable.
Cons: Rooms were a little dated, so to improve the bathroom would be good.
Location: The walk along the beach, with the massive waves crashing in, to Espinho was so good we did it daily, and the town has great restaurants and shops, an
The hotel has a really good gym and spa, and was close to the beach via a boardwalk. The walk along the beach, with the massive waves crashing in, to Espinho was so good we did it daily, and the town has great restaurants and shops, and even a surf school on the beach. We also took the boardwalk to Granja railway station and took a train to Porto for a memorable day. Some of the staff at the hotel were very nice, and the odd one a bit stony faced. Some would say certain parts of the hotel needed a little money spent, but in all honesty, this holiday was great value and we enjoyed it very much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très bon séjour

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Le cadre de vie
Cons: Les salles de bains pourraient être modernisées. Une navette pour l’aéroport aller-retour serait la bienvenue.
Location: A voir à proximité, peu de chose, à part le village d'Espinho.
Bien que laissant voir les rides de son age, l’hôtel reste de bonne facture mais les prix aussi (compte tenu du contexte local). En particulier pour la restauration. La fermeture de la brasserie en dehors de la période estivale est regrettable pour le soir.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Value for money

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel , friendly staff and spacious rooms.
Cons: It's ageing a little but that didn't spoil my experience
Location: Cf previous review above
It's situated 30 mins by train from the main city centre. We bought a 3 day pass which covered the metro, buses and the trains! A taxi to the nearest train station Espinho to the hotel is between € 5-7. We usually walked along the beach from the hotel ( 20 mins) . Hotel staff were very good, polite and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We didn't use the Spa or the pool though as we spent most of our days in Porto. We ate dinner once in the hotel( not great but ok!) There a lots of lovely restaurants along the sea front though and plenty along the river front in Porto. The Hop on Hop off buss was also excellent value for money-€21 each for 2 days with a river cruise and short tour of a port wine cellar with wine tasting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice in parts

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: They had entertainments in the capacious foyer. One night they had a group doing local folk dances which guests were invited to join with.
Cons: Room service could be better. They left an empty bottle and dirty glasses in the room for three days.
Location: It is reasonably close to Porto, which is a wonderful romantic and beautiful city. We hired a car, but there is also a nearby train station.
Comfortable room. Hotel close to the beach, but the water is really cold. Like in England. They have a heated outdoor pool which is nice. Also an indoor pool and gym.. There are a couple of tennis courts, but they are charged and harden and poor quality. There is a paddl court, which is a strange game between tennis and squash and real tennis. Breakfast is ok.. To get to the beach you go through a locked gate. At nine pm they lock it and you can't use it after to either come in or out. Now, that sounds unimportant, but actually the easiest way to get to or from the local town is along the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roma

Bellissimo albergo a due passi dal m

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Bellissimo albergo ideale per chi vuole rilassarsi coccolarsi e godersi un fantastica vacanza.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nimes

Hôtel accueillant proche de la plage

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Le petit déjeuner et la grandeur de la chambre
Trés bon petit déjeuner très copieux et complet dommage un chien a aboyé tous les matins de notre séjour ! Attention il faut un bonnet pour la piscine intérieure sinon correct.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bordeaux

Séjour de détente

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Hôtel très agréable et au calme, idéal avant ou après une journée à Porto : superbe plage juste devant l hôtel, 2 piscines d eau de mer, sauna et hammam , salle de sport très bien équipée, tous accessibles sans supplément...et sentiment de détente et tranquillité ( pas trop de monde, clientèle discrète). Services Spa avec supplément. Super petit déjeuner buffet. Chambre spacieuse et impeccablement propre. Nous recommandons sans hésiter cet hôtel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jura

Conforme à l'attente !

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Piscine, confort de la chambre, accueil et disponibilité du personnel (ils nous ont fait toutes les réservations demandées : resto, visite cave)
Cons: Rénovation des salles de bain, mais cela ne gâche pas le séjour !
Location: Plage à 100 mètres accessible par tunnel privé depuis l'hôtel et passerelle en bois. Mais en plein mois d'août, l'eau était glacée !
Cet hôtel 5 étoiles est parfait pour un séjour autour de Porto, situé tout près d'Espinho (station balnéaire). Pour Porto, avoir une voiture : 20 min. par autoroute, 30 minutes aéroport avec GPS... La piscine extérieure est très agréable. Piscine intérieure également, mais nous ne l'avons pas essayée. Accès directement par ascenseur, ainsi qu'au SPA (pas essayé non plus) Buffet petit déjeuner parfait, il ne manque rien, comme disent tous les commentaires, tout est bon, fruits frais, breakfast anglais, viennoiseries françaises, gâteaux locaux, céréales, fromages, etc. A volonté... le personnel est très à l'écoute et disponible. Il est assez ancien et les salles de bain auraient besoin d'être rénovées (baignoire sans mitigeur par exemple), mais tout est propre, ménage fait chaque jour. Pour les amateurs de TV, nous n'avons pas trouvé de chaînes françaises ou même anglaises, mais ce n'était pas un problème pour nous. Animations tous les soirs au bar pour ceux qui veulent (groupes, danses traditionnelles...). Verre de Porto offert au bar pour l'arrivée. Petits chocolats chaque jour au retour de balade, sympa ! Pour un séjour en amoureux, c'est top. Bcp de familles aussi, tout le monde avait l'air content. Nous avons dîné 2 fois au restaurant, personnel très sympathique, mais service un peu long. Dîner correct mais un peu trop "gastronomique" pour nous ; nous avons préféré les petits restos traditionnels du centre de Porto.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Have a good look at the location first

Posted Aug 14, 2016
I'm not sure I would rate this hotel 5 stars. The worst pillows in the world, sadly it really reduced my enjoyment and rest time. Swimming pools, spa and saunas are great, food and drink offer is above average. However it's in the middle of nowhere, 20-25 minutes walk from Espinho, which hasn't much too see, public transport too far, there is some free bus leaving from and to the hotel, but not many. 20 minutes drive to Porto, about 25 euro in a taxi. No Taxi stand at the hotel, they have to be ordered. The beach is just a beach: you cannot swim there, it's just rocks in the water. I doubt I would go to Portugal again.