Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Centrally located

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Location was really good
Cons: Lighting - especially in corridors
Location: There is plenty to see and experience - too much to write here, get a guide for Porto and Gaia.
Hotel was clean, quiet, room was comfortable and staff very helpful and welcoming. Hotel decor was dark which gave a gloomy impression and it was hard to see in corridors especially. Breakfast was adequate. Bathroom was awkward, difficult to get into bath/shower due to large lip on bath, and the water from shower flooded this lip and didn't runaway. Only a curtain between bedroom and bathroom. Also, there was no means to plug wash basin which meant water being wasted whilst shaving. Towels were changed daily (if not twice) with no option to prevent this if not required - not very eco-friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Not for people with luggage

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Might try adding somewhere to put your clothes as well us putting in some additional lighting in the rooms and the hallways as well as the eating area
Location: Close to a square and the bus trip transport, good location. Lots of shops and restaurants steps away.
We found the hotel extremely dark throughout. Our first room was just unacceptable, no place at all to put your clothes so for a stay longer than 1 night very inconvenient. Bathroom, no privacy, all glass walls, not even opaque, so totally visible to the entire room. We did finally get another room (has to pay to upgrade) all to get dark curtains to cover up the glass for the bathrooms. The staff tried to the best they could with what they had. Location was pretty good. Breakfast was great, but you had to make sure you were sitting in an area with a light overhead otherwise really too dark to see what you are eating. We were very, very disappointed with the property and we were surprised it had got such high ratings..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Todo me pareció muy bien, ademas esta en una ubicación excelente... Lo recomiendo
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gw

Interesting Hotel Past

Posted May 10, 2016
We stayed here for 3 nights while on a 3 week vacation. The location was great. We walked all over and were close to the stop for the Hop On/Off bus. The reception was varied. Often times helpful and caring. Other times judgmental and cranky. The bar tender was the most consistently pleasant. He told us the story of the hotel, was extremely kind and helpful, and was consistently friendly. The hotel was dark and a bit dreary. I know there was a theme but as a guest it was too dark. We enjoyed Porto and the location of this hotel, however, I would not recommend it to a friend.
5 out of 5
by Henrik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hôtel accueillant calme en plein centre de Porto

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: la décoration, le lieu, son petit déjeuner très très bon, la propreté de la chambre, le calme, en plein centre de la ville
Cons: les toilettes, pas de porte de salle bain et la porte des toilettes et en vitre pas très élégant quand vous êtes pas seul.
Location: à 100 mètres de la station sao bento les lieux proches a visiter le pont Luis la vielle ville, la bibliothèque municipale, le marché en plein air
A 25 min de l aéroport en métro, porto est une ville magnifique beaucoup de rénovation des vieilles maisons tout est a proximité on utilise tres peut les transports en communs si vous aimez la marche, le port est le centre pour déjeuner, boire, ou rencontrer des gens. faire un tour de bateau sur le Douro reste incontournable ensuite aller visiter les caves avec dégustation de porto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 12, 2016
We had a lovely long weekend in Porto. The hotel was very convenient for all the things we wanted to see and do but also far enough away that it wasn't noisy late into the night. Breakfast was good and the staff even managed to arrange champagne and chocolate cake to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
by Helen from London

Good location to explore city.Great bed&breakfast

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Teatro is a good location to explore all of the city and is ideally located a 5-7 minute walk from a Metro station which has direct services to/from the airport. Breakfast choice is excellent. Comfortable bed. Helpful staff. As everyone says in reviews, the reception area, bar, bedrooms etc are all consciously designed to be dark - the only slight negative. However, we would definitely stay at this Hotel again.
4 out of 5
by Olive

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast is perfect. Location is great. Room ok
4 out of 5
by Mark G.

Teatro Hotel Porto

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Ebookers
The location of the hotel is great, set between the river and the main shopping area. Lots of cafes, restaurants and bars within 5 mins walk. The hotel and room design were great. We stayed in an Audience room which was very large and had a great bathroom with shower, and a separate roll-top bath in the bedroom. Previous reviews mention the hotel being dark. This adds to the atmosphere and design of the hotel, and did not cause any issues other than perhaps when getting ready, doing hair and make-up etc. The lack of an iron in the room, or the ability to borrow one is also an inconvenience. Breakfast has a small but good choice, with mostly continental options. Eggs and bacon were the only cooked items. The natas were exceptionally good! Overall a good stay with very friendly staff and a great location.