Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely city centre hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
After a 4 hour delay arrived and was checked in really quickly and shown to our room. Yes the hotel is dark but this is part of the theme of the hotel, being theatrical, this wasn't a problem for us. The room was lovely, comfy bed and pillows. There was a hairdryer, air conditioning and a lovely shower. Breakfast was tasty and on asking made us pots of tea and fried eggs. If you get the chance have the chocolate cake which they make, it's the best you will ever have!!! Also advised us on getting to airport via the metro, only 2.55 euros and definitely value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Very well placed central hotel, would definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long weekend away

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Central location. Quirky decoration, really clean and comfy with tasty buffet breakfast included.
Cons: More tea bags in room! Hardy a complaint though.
Location: Excellent cafes, with plenty of choice. Walked for miles admiring the architecture and decorative tiles on buildings. Cable car over river was fun.
Great hotel in a brilliant location in the heart of Porto. Walked almost everywhere in the local vicinity and used the excellent bus service to go to the beach - Foz du Duro. Would definitely recommend hotel and would love to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Rather dark theatre themed hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Location is relatively handy for metro link to airport. Very low key outside and interior seems to be based on a backstage theatre (the clue's in the name!) with very low lighting, no daylight and stage props dotted around. Corridors and rooms follow the same theme so it's all rather dark. Bizarrely glass screens are used for bathroom doors so privacy is limited; worth bearing in mind depending on who you're traveling with! Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the champagne was a nice treat.
5 out of 5
by Pernille

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ka Lam

Very very very dark hotel I've ever been

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very very very dark inside, just like in a cinema, even can't see myself inside a mirror!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to city center and transportation

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: provide bath robes
Location: shopping, sight seeing, nice restaurants
nice design hotel with great and quite location close to the train station which is a tourist spot itself
4 out of 5
by Katherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to train station and Metro

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Easy to walk around old town and river bank area--if you are used to walking a little bit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

Central and luxurious

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Sparking wine at breakfast and the gorgeous comfortable bed.
Cons: We had to wait a while to be served at the bar.
Location: The hotel is just up the hill from the beautiful railway station. You can walk down to the restaurants in the Ribeira district in 10 minutes.
We were offered a welcome glass of port on arrival. Our room was quiet, the bed was very large and comfortable, the shower was gorgeous and we had everything we needed (tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, toiletries, slippers, safe, and they even gave my partner a shaving kit). The location of the hotel is perfect - you can walk everywhere and it is within 5 minutes' walk of the metro station. The staff surprised us with a bottle of sparkling wine on my partners' birthday - a very nice touch. We would certainly return to this hotel when next in Porto.