Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Very centrally located

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location and friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Beyond expectation
Location: Location is superb for first timers
Check in was smooth and pleasant. Was upgraded to Superior room and early check in. Concierge was excellent in recommending good restaurants. Three minutes from metro station which brought us from the airport. Change to D line at Triande for Sao Station or Aliados Main railway station is three minutes away from hotel too Hotel us palatial and modern. Tourist bus across the hotel. Best hotel for the first timer to beautiful Porto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flushing, NewYork

No need to rent a car. Transportation is there.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Centrally located in the heart of Porto. Excellent restaurant, staff and facilities. A lot of great eateries all over. Great days for walking.
Cons: Don't let the secret out!
Location: From the hotel, either North, South, East or West there are interesting sites that you shall fall in love with.
We truly were received as members of a warm family. Every aspect of our arrival to our departure was handled with detailed concern. We shall return to this hotel soon and with more family members.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Superb Hotel, world-class five star establishment

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Everything, but especially the fabulous staff!
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is centrally located so walk around and explore the area. The train station across road is a gem. Ribeira is stunning for food /drinks.
My wife and I absolutely loved this hotel. Perfectly located at the heart of the city, we had a spectacular city view from our room facing the Parca da Liberdade. The hotel itself and our room was beautiful, but what made this hotel spectacular was its staff. We received the warmest welcome at reception from the moment we checked-in; the Conceige team were extremely helpful and full of great suggestions and recommendations; and in general, all staff we met came across as genuine, helpful and courteous. Made us feel really at ease and welcomed. We would have stayed our entire time in Porto at the Intercontinental, but I wasn't able to book a room for our last day, so we moved across river to the Yeataman where the service was mediocre. We loved Porto and will definitely return and will stay at the Intercontinental again for certain! We highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a very good hotel in an excellant location

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: the hotel itself. the location
Location: located at the historical center. Close to tourist atractions at walking distance.
an outstanding concierge staff. They were very helpfull in recomending and ordering restaurants with travel advices and anything else we needed or asked for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from frodsham

Excellent hotel close to centre

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: We would have preferred a restaurant that was not 'fine dining'
Cons: The double glazing did little to cut out external noise
Location: All the attractions of Porto were within walking distance and the Sao Bento station was only 200 yards away for access to other areas in the region
The hotel was very central. The initial impressions were very good with a large, light and airy lobby. The check in service was efficient. Our room was well furnished and a good size with a large bathroom and had clearly been renovated recently; there were three large windows overlooking the square. The breakfast was good with the option of freshly cooked eggs. We had dinner one evening, which was good, but very ' Masterchef' so we generally ate outside.All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the concierges knew the town and facilities very well
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Service, location, beautiful property.
Cons: All great!
Location: Porto is a lovely city with many beautiful sites.
This hotel was spectacular. The location is perfect, the property beautiful and the service, especially the concierge was spectacular! A home run all around!
4 out of 5
by Veronica W Y

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ithaca NY

Top-notch hotel with character

Posted Mar 30, 2016
The location, within walking distance of much of old Porto, was perfect. The staff--from desk clerks to the concierges--couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was spacious and well-appointed. The hotel is in a historic building, tastefully renovated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A true five stars hotel in an excellent location

Posted Mar 21, 2016
A true five stars hotel in an excellent location Easy access to public and private transportation. It was the first time in the city and the concuerge was extemely helpful.
5 out of 5
by Dietmar B.

Städtetrip mal ganz entspannt

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Ebookers
Erstklassige Lage des Hotels, die Altstadt ist perfekt zu Fuss zu erkunden das Personal ist sehr gut geschult, extrem zuvorkommend und freundlich man fühlt sich sehr gut aufgehoben und umsorgt meine Wahl wird beim nächsten Besuch auf das gleiche Hotel fallen absolut empfehlenswert