Ratings based on 690 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel not far from the action

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: It was a nice hotel in good condition and the staff were very helpful
Cons: Have instructions on how to get there
Location: There is nothing there as the hotel is out of the way. You need to get a cab to go to Porto town.
We drove there and it is very difficult to find although you can clearly see the hotel sign access and finding how to drive there was difficult. The staff are friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Location: a little bit remote from the city centre but not too far from the river and ocean
Good for holiday retreat, swimming pool a little too small, good shopping centre nearby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Location: Taxi ride to Porto centre but not far away
Good hotel, good food, friendly staff, lovely pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice place

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Great staff, very helpful & knowledgeable - nice location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel has a nice breakfast, lobby, pool/playground and towels. The overall condition of the hotel is disappointing. The carpet is disgusting into the hallways and rooms. The beds are very uncomfortable. The walls are very outdated white popcorn style. The only update in the room is the bathroom counter top and floor. However the sink plunger cannot be closed because the part to pull up hits the backsplash. The rest of the bathroom tile has grout missing. The hotel is a short drive from Porto and parking is available in the city center for 1 Euro/hr. Overall a disappointing experience and would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Gageiro, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Porto Gaia. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Pedro Gageiro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BP From Toronto

Nice Hotel Near Porto Center

Posted May 19, 2017
Very clean hotel with friendly staff Breakfast was excellent worth 25 Euros per person but we were charged only 9 Euros per person! Ample free parking and good Wifi . Room very clean The only missing facility is a Gym room .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire UK,

Nice hotel but not for the elderly

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: The food was excellent, restaurant staff brilliant, rooms comfortable & facilities good.
Cons: Better Chambermaids
Location: Without a car there is nothing done easily
Nice hotel but situated on a very steep hill & a long walk into Oporto. The room cleaner was way below par, rest of staff were brilliant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is good located and clean

Posted Apr 21, 2017
It has a good location and is clean but if you open the window, there is some trouble because of cars.
5 out of 5
by Eyal

A great hotel I would certainly recommend

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Wow ! Amazing ! This hotel was one of 14 we took for a large trip across Spain and Portugal, This was certainly the peak !. The hotel looks brand new , with a nice pool and a small playground outside. The rooms were large, modern , and clean . a streaming fast wifi and a small Xbox at the lobby mesmerized the kids. The hotel is a minute away from a shopping center with all kinds of stores and food courts. the price was fair , the staff was great , and the breakfast was amazing , full of goodies. Driving to Porto from the hotel took us about 15 minutes and coming back from Porto to the hotel to rest was a complete good experience. Keep it up .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland, UK

Porto

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Reception staff very helpful, they gave us some suggestions for restaurants and places of interest, really nice friendly people.
Cons: Food was ok but a bit basic.
Location: Handy for sights of Porto.
Porto is a beautiful place, well worth a visit. The hotel is well placed but not right in the city. The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful.