Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Hotel charmant au calme

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Très bon accueil Hotel charmant et au calme Vraiment au petit soin Piscine très agréable vue sur le douro Buffet du petit déjeuner sympathique Les chambres sont agréables Équipements de l'hôtel ont répondu à nos attentes, salle de gymnase, salle de réception, bar, bar prêt de la piscine (très agréable quand il fait chaud au bord de la piscine), wifi Le personnel est très accueillant Les transports sont un peu limités mais le service des taxis est fort agréable pour des vacances
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Beautiful historic palace Hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The artwork on the ceilings was beautiful and the architecture amazing.
Cons: The food choice and value.
Location: The hotel was way out of the town of Porto, 45 minutes brisk walk along the river. Taxi into the port was 6-8 euros. The town is wonderful.
Pousada do Porto is a wonderful hotel, lives up to its 5 star rating. The only thing missing in the room was tea making facilities. Also would have been a nice touch if there was a free bottle of water on arrival. We ate in the restaurant on our first night - very disappointing for me as a non-meat eater, the one token vegetarian offering was pasta. I decided to order cod loin which looked nice on arrival, but was tough and chewy as if not cooked enough so I didn't eat it. My partner ordered a traditional Portuguese meat dish which he discovered had raw sausage in it, so he also left his. When we came to pay the bill for our food we were charged 94 euros. We found eating out was much better quality, choice and value (2 meals including starter for 24 euros) Would definitely return there but would not use the hotel restaurant again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Une nuit à porto

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Nous avons passe une nuit dans cet hôtel avant de partir pour Lisbonne. Hotel est très beau ainsi que le cadre et le personnel très accueillant et il parle français . On y est très bien accueilli et le restaurant est aussi excellent. Une très belle adresse !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SCARBOROUGH

A very smart hotel on the riverside

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Its welcoming nature , the ambience and the friendliness of the staff who were always very smart!
Cons: The indoor pool was being maintained during our visit and it would be helpful if this could be done at less busy times!!
Location: Porto and Gaia are very close and taxi fares are very cheap. There are Port Wine Houses to visit, river excursions, a cable car, and restaurants.
We had an extremely relaxing and pleasant stay where staff made you feel very welcome and went out of there way to ensure everything was right for you. The staff were very smart and always most polite, nothing was too much trouble. Queries were dealt with efficiently and promptly. The food was excellent and the facilities very good. I would definitely like to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

grandeur and style with great hospitality

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Can't beat the location. Get a river view if you can. Breakfast is lavish. The service and staff very friendly. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and modern contrasting the grandeous architecture of a true palace. Swimming pool and bar area has breathtaking views. A five star!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel expectacular un poco alejado del centro

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Genial es como si fuera una princesa en su palacio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 横浜

地下鉄や人気のケーブルカー駅が近くて便利

Posted Jul 18, 2015
地下鉄のRestaura dores駅が近く、3路線のケーブルカーとDe santa justaのエレベーターといった人気の路線も近い。Torre de bellemへ行く15Eや人気が高い28Eなどの路面電車に乗るにも便利な立地条件で由緒ある落ち着きのあるホテルです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Enjoyable hotel with a nice pool and a view

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: The view on the Duro and the fact that it is a nice palace from (I believe) the same architect as the Mateus Palace.
Cons: The diner is over rated and over priced for what it is. We had better diner in restaurants in Porto. Nevertheless, the food was good. Not outstanding.
Location: Porto, Duro
We enjoyed being at the Palacio do Freixo. The 45 minutes walk on the promenade next to the Duro up to the old town is pleasant even if the free shuttle is not always available when fully loaded. The room is clean, well equipped and silent. The staff is very nice and tries to help as much as they can. They seams to be trained in such a way that it sometimes look a bit overdone. For instance during breakfast as soon as we were done with a glass of juice or a plate someone removes it from the table like if they wanted us to finish leave as soon as possible. It was somewhat strange to have the table emptied constantly as we were eating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex, England

Stunning hotel, great staff

Posted Jul 11, 2015
This hotel is great for a relaxing long weekend, or as a base for investigating further afield. A beautiful setting, good facilities and wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from São Paulo, SP

Maravilhoso

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Tudo, recomendo e pretendo voltar mais vezes
Location: Fica as margens do Rio Douro, uns 2 km da ponto Luis I, porem para ir até o centro há necessidade de chamar taxi.
Desde a recepção (um cálice de vinho do Porto) cada detalhe neste hotel,é pensado para que se tenha uma estadia perfeita. A equipe é muito atenciosa, todos são muito prestativos e qualquer necessidade que se tenha é rapidamente resolvida, desde uma reserva para um restaurante até um adaptador para algum aparelho. O café da manhã é muito bem servido, e nada se compara a um fim de tarde à beira da piscina observando o Rio Douro. O local é bastante silencioso, internet gratuita em todo o hotel e não se cobra estacionamento. Porém o hotel fica um pouco a afastado do centro a cidade e se não se está de carro há de se chamar taxi. Recomendadíssimo....