Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

staff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Staff went above helping answer questions and to accommodate
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Superb stay in perfect surroundings near Porto.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Everything. The staff, the restoration and layout of the hotel. The pool and terrace, the gardens, the view, the breakfasts, very reasonably priced.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy ride into the old town, either with the hotel shuttle or inexpensive taxi. Porto is full of history, restaurants and charm.
From the moment we were greeted by enthusiastic staff, through the polite and poised check in and a tour of this beautiful hotel, we knew we were in for a delightful stay. The hotel has been beautifully restored with stunning rooms and gardens. The staff were unfailingly polite and the pool and terrace were from a storybook.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Very beautiful hotel, great staff. Unfortunately too far from everything. Hotel should provide more shuttle bus service into the city main centres.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
よく訓練されたスタッフ。行き届いたサービス。プールを含め立地・景色の良さ。また行きたい。 街の中心には少し遠く、毎回タクシーで移動。タクシーも5~10ユーロなので問題ない。呼べば5分で来る。 土日の朝食が平日と時間が違ったが、説明がなかったのが残念。 貴重な文化財をホテルとして利用・保存して行く国としての政策に大いに賛成。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lovely hotel, pool, breakfast and staff.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Loved the palace hotel, decor, gardens, breakfast and pool
Cons: The design connecting the palace to the new portion of the hotel. Very inefficient to get to the new part of the hotel from the palace.
Location: We had to take a taxi from our hotel to the city where all the restaurants, wineries, and entertainment took place. There are many things to do.
Had trouble winding ourselves through the palace part and new part of the hotel to find our room. Did not like the bathroom. Shower/bath too small - very confining.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maidenhead

A little bit of luxury

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The Palace building and reception rooms have a real 'WOW' factor The pool area is gorgeous. The staff are lovely Lots of choice at breakfast
Cons: I've paid a lot of money to stay here - put a free bottle of water in the room Sort out the gym equipment Bigger, better beds would be nice
We had a fantastic two night stay at the Palacio, after spending 3 days at another lovely hotel (the AS1829) in central Porto. From the moment we arrived the wonderful staff made us feel special and very welcome; they were always happy to deal with our queries and help us choose and book restaurants that could could cope with our allergies and intolerances and keep the family vegan happy. The main palace building is amazing - maybe a teenie bit over-the-top - visually stunning and beautifully kept. It was a pleasure just to wander round the grounds or relax in the public rooms. The pool area is also gorgeous - service at the pool bar is sweet but oh so slow. Bedrooms are in the pink building - unusual olive colour scheme but very corporate looking, well maintained and very clean. We paid extra for river views but I don't think it was worth it - windows are quite small, and one of our rooms looked onto the large chimney in front of the building. Our 'double' bed was two not-very-comfortable single beds pushed together. The bathroom had a window onto the bedroom - it's covered by a blind on the bedroom side, so it's perfect for pranks. The gym was a let-down - too small with poor quality equipment. However there was free, chilled water - unlike in the bedroom. We used the minibus service once but mostly took taxis into town (7-9 euros usually). Minor niggles apart, the Palacio was a lovely slice of luxury to end our stay in Porto and I can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel etwas abseits von der Stadt

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Lage, Komfort, Personal, Geräumig
Cons: Mehr vegetarisches und veganes Essen anbieten
Location: Etwas abseits vom Stadtkern. Es gibt ein Shuttlebus vom Hotel. Ein Taxi ins Zentrum kostet ca 5-7 Euro je nach Ziel
Reise anlässlich eines 60 Geburtstags. Hotel war Spitze. Top hits: Portweinkeller, Dourotal erkunden und Sonnenuntergang auf der Atlantik erleben ( von Foz aus).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, England UK

Out of Town on the River

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The room and the cleanness, the gym, the indoor pool area and the gardens. The way the building has been renovated. The chocolate bar left each night!
Cons: A kettle with tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be good. A better way of getting in to town for example bikes or boat taxi.
Location: Recommend Oporto Mountain Tours for a morning or afternoon trip. Cafe F Santiago opposite the colliseum. Serralves has a great villa and grounds & Art
The Hotel was lovely very clean and comfortable would recommend it. The biggest drawback was the distance of 2 miles from the town. As the hotel chain has another hotel in the town along the river in the main tourist part it would be a good idea to supply bikes at each hotel so that the visitors could cycle along the river to the town park their bikes at the other hotel for others to use instead of having to walk or use a taxi all the time. The transfers from the hotel were very time restricting. One evening we did try to eat in the restaurant but it was fully booked we were offered a bar meal alternative which would have meant sitting with it on our laps as there wasn't any tables and chairs in the bar area. So we didn't bother. Apart from these little niggles we really enjoyed our stay. Porto is a lovely city we stayed for 7 nights and did everything by foot we managed to see everything, if we had used the yellow bus and public transport we probably would have seen everything in less time. The pool areas and Spa were great we didn't have treatments but used the sauna, steam room and gym which again the cleanliness was exceptional. Our flight home was an early one which meant leaving at 6.30am our breakfast was organised for 5.30am in the main lounge and the transfer was arranged by reception which was no trouble. We really enjoyed our stay thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prachtig, sfeervol hotel aan de Douro

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Heerlijk hotel om te ontspannen en genieten. Centrum ligt op 40 min. lopen. Prima zwembad en restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It really was a palace previously!

Posted Jul 11, 2016
The main room in the lobby is quite impressive. Our room had a lovely view of the river.