Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful atmosphere and friendly, caring staff.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Room was great! Shower unbelievable! You feel at home.
Cons: Bed a bit on the firm side. Towels and soap, etc on the skimpy side.
Location: Great location!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Merely Adequate

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The people who run this hotel are extremely nice and work hard to make your stay pleasant. The breakfast was excellent and the location was fine but the room itself was old and needed renovation in the worst way. We were given a room on the second floor facing the busy street and there was a lot of traffic noise. There was no air conditioning, only a large fan and the bathroom was in terrible shape. The shower floor was very slippery making it very dangerous to take a shower. We've stayed at a lot of bed and breakfast places and this was just not that nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Authentic Renovated Townhouse

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The experience. We normally stay in hotels and the homeliness and friendliness was something I really enjoyed
I really enjoyed everything about my stay with such excellent hosts. The house itself has been beautifully renovated, the gardens are peaceful providing sun or shade. Breakfast was very good including home-made cake and cheese. Easy walking distance to town with bus stops also right in front. Wine by the glass available if you feel in need of one. I would not hesitate to recommend or return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best host ever-went over backwards to help us

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Delighted with the comfortable large room that even provided port at our bedside. Even though we didn't have airconditioning the fan kept us plenty cool. Wonderful helpful owner . I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you want to get away from the frenzy downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris, France

Wonderful Stay

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: room size, breakfast
Location: Porto is a small town, easily walkable
Great start to our trip to Portugal. Pedro and his wife were excellent hosts. The place was in a good location for walking around Porto and the room was perfect. Plus, the cake by grandmother! Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent, informative, friendly hosts

Posted Oct 14, 2015
The view from the window gave a glimpse of life in Porto. Beautiful, tranquil rear garden. Can walk to all the attractions in town but missing the tourist crowds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Friendliness and approachability of the staff. Simple amenities in a traditional house. Exceptionally clean.
Cons: Very little
This was a first for me. I've always stayed in hotels when travelling in Europe, never a B & B and leading up to the trip I had thoughts of 'what had I done'. I could not have been more wrong. Porta Azul GH is a secret jewel hidden away in a beautiful city. Behind the traditional tiled frontage lies an oasis of calm and tranquility. The period Portuguese house has many original features and traditional tiled flooring and full sized window shutters create a cool escape after a day exploring a hot city. In the morning I was able to open the shutters of my ground floor room directly on to the garden. However the real secret to this B & B is the staff of Porta Azul. They alone justify a '5 star rating' They could not have been more helpful and more friendly. They were there for your every need, information or difficulty without fail. They created a feeling of welcome, ease and a personalised experience to the holiday that you just don't get in a hotel. Memorable highlights include being given a written personalised walking tour of the city within an hour of arriving; grandma's daily freshly baked cakes and an invitation to the family's Jazz band party in the garden on Saturday evening. If you want simple Portuguese accommodation with all the amenities you would expect of a hotel I highly recommend Porta Azul. Porta Azul has made me re-consider my policy of only booking hotels when in Europe but I don't think I will be able to match this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC Canada

Feels like "a home away from home"

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The recently-renovated house is unique and delightful, but Marta and her staff are what make Porta-Azul exceptional.
Location: Porta-Azul is across the street from the Palacio Cristal and a short walk from the Casa da Musica (10 min) and the centro (20 min).
From the moment you walk through the door, there is a feeling of welcoming and relaxation. The rooms are simple and elegant and the back garden is a delightful surprise! Marta and her staff are always there to offer advice on things to do and see in the city and beyond...nothing seems like too much trouble for them if it will make your stay enjoyable. Although most guests are couples, it is a very comfortable atmosphere for single women travellers. I would be happy to return whenever I am in Porto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warm friendly family atmosphere

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The staff was welcoming, my room was really well-appointed and comfortable. I had the room overlooking the garden in the back. Bed was too firm, however - at least for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derby, uk

Great place, central, welcoming.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
After booking via Expedia, i discovered on the ports azul's own website that check in closed at 10pm. As our flight didn't land until 1030pm, i was concerned about this, especially as expedia said no refund possible once booking confirmed. Rang porta azul, and they said no problem. Arrived around 1115pm, to a warm welcome. We were offered hot drinks, but just took a bottle of water and went to our room. Room was fantastic, with welcoming touches such as free glass of port each and a welcome sign on the table. Up early next day. Lovely home made breakfast, very relaxed, no rushing around. After breakfast, the manager gave us recommendations of things to see and do on our day in porto. We didn't manage to complete them all, but look forward to doing more of them on our return. My one regret is that we only had a single day and night there. We will definitely be back.