Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Kind and helpful hotel staff

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff, and a shower head that is not fixed on the wall
Cons: Metro stations are not close to this hotel, and it is rather inconvenient.
Location: Food court at IPO station provides a variety of tasty food and the price was reasonable. Eating "franceschina" was a remarkable experience to me.
Hotel staff of Star Inn Porto Low Cost Hotel were excellent. Thanks to them, I had a very good trip in Porto, even though I was not speak Portuguese at all. Hotel staff at the front desk spoke clear English and gave me useful information for public transportation. One staff assisted me in taking a taxi when I departed to the airport. Facilities of the hotel were old, but there was not a problem. The interior of hotel room had bright color and pretty. Towels and bed sheets were sufficiently clean. There was no bathtub, but the shower head in the shower booth was not fixed on the wall, so I was able to wash and clean my whole body. This is very important to me when staying at a hotel. The price was reasonable and the stay was comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Fairly comfortable for the price.
Location: The hotel is close to a bus stop, but farther from a train station. Very few restaurants nearby. No shopping areas nearby.
Many staff are poor in English. Getting answers was a bit difficult.. Breakfast was just okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Slovenia

nice but small rooms

Posted Aug 19, 2016
crowdy, cheap furniture, small rooms, but overall suitable for a few days exploring Porto.
4 out of 5
by Hazel from New Zealand

Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
We were very happy with our stay at Hotel Star Inn. It was a break from hostels for us, so even though the room was a bit small it felt like relative luxury. The beds were very comfortable. There is a TV in the room with 60 channels which became our guilty pleasure while in Porto after months of traveling. Small fridge and electric kettle in room also. Room was cleaned daily. Staff were helpful, letting us know which buses to catch and printing our boarding passes for us. The breakfast was plentiful - fresh croissants, various cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread rolls, muffins spreads, ham, cheese, hot and cold drinks. As we were traveling on a budget we definitely made the most of this! The cafeteria is otherwise uninspiring and expensive by Portugal's standards, so we didn't eat there apart from breakfast. Location is not great and we were quite surprised at first that the hotel seemed to be in the middle of nowhere. However there is a supermarket and laundromat in walking distance, and buses close by to take you to the city or the beach for 1.85 each way. (Ask the staff about the buses as you may not find anything online). Taxi to the city centre is about 7 - 8 euro. Taxi to airport around 20 euro.
4 out of 5
by Cheryl from Nanaimo BC

Convenient

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
It was a convenient sto over to barcelona
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El salvador

It was great experience to stay at that hotel.

Posted Feb 28, 2016
It was so great, the hotel staff was really kind, room was always clean and everything that we ask for was ready at the time of check in. Thanks :) Very satisfied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Nice renovated rooms. Good service and very helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by Sueli

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2015
A bit far from City centre but good if you travel by car as there is plenty of space.quiet location and good size breakfast buffet .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015
4 day stay in July 2015. The hotel is incredible good value for money, the staff goes the extra length, the hotel is clean, the design is nice, not single problem! It is obviously quite far away from the citry centre, but you do know that when you're booking here, right? Bus service is good and fast to get you into the city, and there's bus night service as well, so once you learn your ways, it's no longer a problem. And it's even an advantage, as the local restaurants are very cheap as they're out of the tourist catchment area.