Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for the beach

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Despite short notice of booking staff were excellent and accommodating.
We booked this hotel from the taxiway after our plane was diverted from Funchal to Porto Santo as it was the first available through Expedia. It turned out to be an excellent 1 night stop over. The hotel is just 50 metres from 8km sandy beach and would make an excellent place for a planned holiday in the summer. The staff were very helpful in helping with our onward travel to Funchal the next day organising the ferry and taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Beautiful hotel and fantastic location! Rooms really comfortable, breakfast and service great.
Cons: Nothing to dislike about this hotel, location and service are great!
3 out of 5
by John from Wien

good for relaxation

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful island and the hotel enjoys a wonderful position on the long, sandy beach. The rooms a little tired and strange impersonal atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by Joe

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for 2 days, right on beach and has nice pool area. Rooms are old fashioned but to be expected on island.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Manchester, England

lovely location

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful and friendly staff More than happy for us to use our room before and after official check in/check out times. Superb location right next to the beach and great breakfast.
3 out of 5
by susie from London

tired hotel but great location

Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel is very outdated but the location is perfect, close to centre 15 mins and to great restaurants - Allencastre and casa so Avo are great and 5 mins walking. The hotel really needs updating and the spa looks fantastic but everything from the inddor pool to the gym you will have to pay for. It is a separate unit to the hotel so beware of extra costs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SUSAN from ENGLAND

PORTO SANTO HOTEL AND SPA

Posted Jan 1, 2012
Pros: WE LIKED LOW LEVEL HOTEL BUILDING PLUS THE OUTLOOK ONTO THE GROUNDS FROM THE DINNING AND LOUNGE AREA.
Cons: WIFI WAS PROVIDED BUT WE WOULD HAVE LIKE USE OF A COMPUTER.
Location: WITHIN 20 MINUTES WALK OF THE TOWN EITHER BY ROAD OR WALK ALONG THE SANDY BEACH.
UNFORTUNATELY THERE WERE NOT MANY GUESTS IN THE HOTEL. HOWEVER THE STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. THE HOTEL WAS IN A VERY GOOD POSITION WITH THE SANDY BEACH AT THE END OF THE HOTEL GROUNDS. THE GROUNDS ARE VERY WELL KEPT. THE SWIMMING POOL WAS OF A VERY GOOD SIZE AND VERY CLEAN. THE PATIO AROUND THE POOL WAS SPACIOUS. WE ATE SOME MEALS IN THE HOTEL. STAFF WERE VERY EFFICIENT. THE FOOD WAS OF A GOOD STANDARD. WE THOUGHT THE PRICE OF THE WINE BY THE BOTTLE WAS EXPENSIVE.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not worth the money!!!

Posted Feb 25, 2011 on Hotels
I didn't like the idea I had to pay for using indoor swimming pool and something called 'gym'. And believe me, it's not cheap at all! SPA facilities very very poor! Food was not good neither.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charmantes Hotel am Strand

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Ein ruhiger und beschaulicher Hotelbetrieb. Perfekt zum Abschalten.
Was wir nicht mögen: Bettenburgen! Was wir mögen: Stil und Charme der 60er! Beides haben wir in diesem Hotel vorgefunden: Ein eher kleineres Hotel, das sich schön in die Umgebung einfügt mit einem herrlich "historischen" Ambiente, das einen an die Zeit erinnert, als Reisen in solche Regionen wenigen wohlhabenden Herrschaften vorbehalten war. Alles war perfekt sauber! Bad und Zimmer waren 1A; die Betten boten Liegekomfort nach aktuellem Standard und der Röhren-TV lieferte Bilder aus Deutschland. Wir haben die Zeit hier sehr genossen!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

70er Jahre Flair...kein 4-Sterne Standard!

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Außenbereich und Pool ist schön gestaltet. Auch die Strandbar ist nett.
Cons: Zimmer sehr alt und heruntergekommenen. Betten stinken unangenehm.
Location: Direkt am Strand.