Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highworth

Nice little hotel on seafront

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Room was of a good size, although the bathroom had been squeezed into a cupboard so you had to open the doors, then squeeze yourself in and close them behind you. However you just use that for showering and the loo so it wasn't a major issue. Rom was comfy, bed was good and the afternoon iew of the beach was excellent. Breakfast was basic but the owners are very attentive and cater for your requirements. Buses are a 5 minute walk and it's 20 minutes to the city centre, you walk out through the bacl garden straight onto the beach. All in all worth the stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Cons: Car parking spaces
Location: Nothing
I did not have any experience as I could not find a park for my car, no car parks whatsoever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon, USA

lovely place

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Quaint B&B on the beach boardwalk & very close to many historical sites. Would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Location is what makes this guest house

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location,right by the sea. When the room window is open you can listen to the sea - so peaceful. Friendly, helpful & efficient cleaner.
Cons: Room does need some TLC/upgrading. Definitely needs a new bed, sink, blind, lamp. All are very tired/old & ceiling paper needs fixing back on.
Location: Brilliant sea front location, two mins walk from High St. Bars/cafes/shops/reg buses into city all within walking distance.
Stayed in single room on second floor. 42 steps up winding staircase. Room small but adequate. Bed very, very soft. Small 19" TV, no wardrobe just a cupboard with hanging space & drawers. Sloping roof. Window a bit difficult to open but fantastic view of the beach & sea. Blind was broken but I fixed it in ten minutes. Shower & toilet across landing, good size & kept very clean. Towels a little bit rough but clean. Continental breakfast 8-9am. Fairly good selection but the toast is never toasted enough. You enter from Straiton Road where there is space for four cars. You can exit through the back entrance, through foyer with lots of info/leaflets, the back garden gate opens directly onto the prom; you can't get back in this way. Rooms are on the ground & second floor (I think the owners live on the first floor). There is no lounge area to sit in & no reception as such. The owners are foreign but will chat with you if you make an effort. The cleaning lady is very friendly & helpful, even leaves extra tea, coffee & milk if you ask. My bill was put under the room door on the second night. My last night was disturbed by doors squeaking & banging below at 11pm for about 45 mins or so. Best part is the location, right on the promenade & only a couple of mins walk from the high street where you can catch the regular buses into Edinburgh. Note: This is an old building but has lots of character. The skylight at the top of the spiral staircase is wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Miguel

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
wonderful
4 out of 5
by Mark

sunrise

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
watching the sunrise over the water was amazing the beach and boardwalk were very good very little in terms of local food options for dinner though
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient reasonable hotel near beach and city

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
It was a convenient stop over for us as we were visiting our son .Although it was expensive for two people ,it would have proved quite economical for a family with a double bed and three singles .It's position is very convenient and the patrons welcoming .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South London.

Great Location - pity about the accommodation!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location. View over the beach. Great for getting city centre buses. Cleanliness of the room.
Cons: Breakfast is frugal - so, as suggested in other reviews go out to one of the many cafes in the area.
Location: Perfect for the beach. Good restaurants/pub (Espys). Nice coffee houses on the High Road. Playgrounds and amusement arcade for the kids
This B&B really isn't very comfortable and is more suited to travellers passing through who want a bed for the night. Top floor rooms are not suitable for buggies, bad legs or heart problems - no lift. We found the "en-suite" bathroom, inside a cupboard (1m by 3m). Let's just say, a sense of humour helped!
4 out of 5
by Ernesto from Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico

Portobello B&B

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice B&B at a reasonable price. We stayed in one endsuite with 4 beds that was very confortable for the three of us. A full continental Breakfast was great for just 3 pounds per person (compare to 12 pounds for a bad one in our previous hotel). The beach is right there if you wNt to go for a walk. A close bus stop is very convenient to go into Town. The drive to Edinburgh castle takes about 20 min. The only potential problem is parking since there are only 4 parking spaces. Parking on the street is fine if you find a place.
5 out of 5
by Deidre B. from New York, USA

Lovely stay.

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a hidden gem and worth a visit. Incredible location with access right out the back to the sea. Waking up to the sounds and smells of the sea is wonderful. One reviewer mentioned it's "tired". I would say that's part of the charm and to be expected with the price and location. Hospitality was exceptional and would highly recommend!