Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Pleasant, clean hotel in a delightful setting.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Delightful situation, pleasant, clean rooms with fridge and safe. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely beach and pool in beautiful settings.
Cons: I would have liked tea making facilities in the room. As it was a bit remote, a car would have been useful.
Location: Napoleon's summer residence literally next door. Taxi access to a beautiful beach. Easy bus access to Portoferraio which had many sites to visit
Although it was a rather tiresome journey to get to and from the hotel; plane, bus, train, boat and taxi, it was a very happy holiday when we arrived. The scenery was beautiful and it was next door to Napoleon's summer residence. The beach was lovely with nice loungers, and umbrella and basic shower and toilet facilities. There was however only the choice of going for the whole day or not going at all if you didn't have a car. Portoferraio was a bus ride away and we spent several happy days exploring it but again without a car it would have been difficult to visit the rest of the island. The last bus back to the hotel was about 7.40pm so not late enough to eat in the town in the evening. The food in the hotel, though quite expensive, was absolutely delicious and we ate there on several occasions. The breakfast was ample and pleasant but mostly cereal, tinned fruit, cake and toast and jam. Don't expect a cooked breakfast. There was a very pleasant pool with pool side loungers and umbrellas, again set in beautiful surroundings. A very delightful holiday, pleasant hotel and friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wilma from Brisbane, Australia

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Great Hotel, helpful staff. A bit far from the town centre but fine if you have a car
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not worth 4stars

Posted Jun 29, 2009 on Hotels
We stayed 4 nights here in June 09. Overall we were disappointed with the hotel and dont think it deserved its four star rating. We had two rooms (as the first night the standard of room that we had booked was not available). Both bathrooms were poor: the first one stank and had shower curtain missing, the second one had a faulty showerhead that sprayed water everywhere but in the shower cubicle. When we mentioned all these things the staff never apologised but just gave excuses to avoid responsibility. In addition the breakfast was not very good quality - in a 4 star hotel in italy I dont expect coffee from a machine! However, the staff on reception were very good - both friendly and helpful. (eg they allowed us to use their internet and printer in their office as their wireless facility was broken). Also, be warned, the private beach is only available at a charge of 20Euro per day. I would not stay here again, merely because I think it is overpriced for what it offers. However, the island is so incredibly beautiful we still had a wonderful time!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lombardia

Un vecchio hotel da ristrutturare....

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Lati positivi: Dimora storica stupenda immersa nel verde con ampi spazi e personale sempre disponibile, colazioni sufficienti a parte le uova (non prendetele!!!) Lati negativi: Odore di fogna dagli scarichi insopportabile, almeno nella nostra stanza, bagno piccolino per un 4 stelle, aria condizionata come se non ci fosse essendo un apparecchio anni 70 così come l'ascensore che era spesso guasto. Visto i prezzi di questa struttura avrei preferito più qualità ma l'impressione che mi son fatto é che qui si badava al risparmio... Mi spiace perché il posto meriterebbe ma non mi sento di consigliarlo se non per pochi giorni.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Albergo molto bello esteticamente ma...

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Albergo bello, ottima la posizione nella tranquillità della pineta ma lo staff non all' altezza di un 4 stelle.
3 out of 5
by PIERRE from PARIS

Hotel dont le charme s'arrete au batiment

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
L'hotel est un tres beau batimenenavec une belle piscinee à 5 km de portoferrio au fond d'une vallee. Le service de l'hotel n'est pas à la hauteur 4*. Tout est vieillot comme dans les années 70 , comme la décoration et les services. LE Petit dej , malgré le service n'est pas bon. Le bar n'est jamais ouvert. Le Wi-fi ne fonctionne qu'à la réception. C'est tres dommageable. Une voiture est obligatoire.
4 out of 5
by manuela from Ancona

Vacanze relax.

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Posto davvero bello e rilassante, vicino punti di interesse culturali e centro città. Ampio parcheggio comodissimo. Personale gentile e disponibile.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by roberta

toccata e fuga nel verde

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
toccata e fuga, ma sufficiente per testare un gradevole soggiorno immerso nel verde in un contesto raffinato. bellissimi i quadri moderni nel contesto classico.