Ratings based on 485 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Spectacular view on Italian Riviera

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The view from the public rooms and the front of the hotel is amazing. The beach club is spacious; there are 2 infinity pools.
Cons: It feels like it needs a thorough cleaning and update.
Location: About 20 minutes by very expensive taxi to Portofino (40 Euros). Beware - the return taxi is even more pricey.(65 Euros) Ouch!
The hotel is perched up a winding driveway and overlooks its beach club down at the seaside, It was built in 1901 in a grand style. It has an air of faded elegance. It definitely could use some freshening up, although it is very comfortable and the view is amazing. We were a family of 3 adults and the staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High Quality Hotel with excellent staff

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Staff and the turndown service each evening with fresh towels.
Cons: More choice with dining options
Location: Great location a 10 minute walk into town. Lots of choice for eating away from the hotel and nice ferry service to Portofino and surrounding areas.
A great hotel with staff who were always kind and prepared to help. The location was great albeit a short walk to the town but with fantastic views across the bay. The only issue was the terrace restaurant that we found very expensive even allowing for the great view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
si tratta di una struttura che ha una ottima posizione ma non merita le stelle che possiede per via delle finiture obsolete e del livello di servizio pari a quello di un tre stelle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Pretentious and dated!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: Needs to be renovated! Rooms are dated and pool staff is rude.
Location: Beautiful and great location and great shopping and restaurants near by!
It's a beautiful place but lacks warmth. Staff isn't very helpful. Food and drinks are super expensive...15 euros for a small smoothie! Housekeeping was actually the best thing at this hotel. Wifi was weak and only available in the lobby. I expected more for 650 a night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester

Return visit

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: How valued you are made to feel.
Cons: In past visits I have enjoyed many beauty treatments, this year I found that the prices were inflated and therefore not affordable treats.
Have been a past guest to this hotel many times over last fifteen years. Returned this year with my daughter, and an adult grandaughter and a twelve years old grandaughter, to enjoy some precious three generation time. Past trust was not just as good as ever, but most improved facilities. Another superb pool with imaginative additions added especially to our happy hours. The staff stay. Very telling.! so many familiar faces. Professionalism with a heart.. is how every request is met. The Eden Roc Restaurant, was love at first sight fifteen years ago. Who says passion can not last.? Fact is at The Excelsior Palace Hotel....yes it can. Thank you to all. Angela Bithell Jones.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely views and breakfast was good

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Desk staff helpful and informative, breakfast and facilities.
Cons: As above room we had needed update - shower was also small
Room was tired and small & needed a lick of paint. Views were superb and beach club was very good. Easy access of Rapallo - ten minute walk to everything.
5 out of 5
by Chebar from Puteaux

Merveilleuse vue mer

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Très bel Hotel avec un magnifique panorama. La piscine à débordement face à la mer et un très bon restaurant. Le petit déjeuner était excellent.
5 out of 5
by Ingo from Los Angeles

Stunning View and location

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and tasteful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels