Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean, modern hotel; unusual room layout

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Very nice location, gracious staff, excellent breakfast included. Departure too early for 7:30 start time but let us in at 7:20 to get rolls/yogurt.
Cons: Add electrical outlet in bathroom or near mirror in rooms without those; brighter bulbs in light fixtures, or add lamps; add shelf for soap in shower.
Location: Nice (10 min?) paved path above road to very scenic Portofino. Take bus (tkts from front desk?) to Santa Margherita for more restaurant choices.
Stayed 2 nights. First night in room at back that was a triangle; no electrical outlets in bathroom nor near any mirrors. We complained (told us they had 3 rooms with this problem) and were moved to a rectangular room with a view for the 2nd night. Shower was smaller in the 2nd room, and had no shelf at all for soap or shampoo. That was a bit inconvenient. Lighting in both rooms was inadequate. Mid-November is not a great time to go--a bit cold, many places closed, ferry not operating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Great location, staff, room and view. Great breakfast and dinners. Must get a room with a balcony and view. Worth the extra money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Excellent location, hard to identify the property on s narrow busy road. Great breakfast and very nice dinners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel with stunning views

Posted Aug 18, 2016
There were 3 of us. When we checked in we were told that they put us in a special room. We were amazed when we saw the stunning views from the room balcony. Friendly staff, very good breakfast. Made our first stay in Portofino even more unforgettable. Thank you Piccolo! Alejandro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great hotel. Perfect for a Portofino visit.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Staff were helpful with good English language skills. The hotel itself was a lovely old building that had been nicely refurbished. Portofino is a short 5-10 minute stroll away so location is excellent if you can handle a some stairs. The breakfast buffet was small but excellent. WiFi connection was only possible in the hotel lobby which was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

perfect location

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: location,balcony, view
Cons: shower at beach does not work
We only spent one night here but took advantage of everything. The beach is right across the street and though there are a lot of stairs, it is worth it. Easy to walk to town from here and see all the sites the town has to offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Classic double room was very big but with very strange and not comforable layout with no view at all. At 6AM the staff made some unreal noise for about half an hour moving some stuff from next room to the lift. They wasn't very polite when I complained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 30, 2016
Definitely recommend this hotel as it is clean, offers the best breakfast buffet I had in all of Europe and is within walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: the views
Cons: size of rooms
very charming location. relaxing. beautiful views. excellent breakfast. scenic walk to the quaint port town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Perfect dream

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: All
Cons: Nathing
Location: Close to portofino beach
The hotel staff is very nice, fantastic room view and confort.