Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zürich

Direkt am Meer

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Freundliches Personal, Lage mitten im Ort direkt am Meer.
Cons: Platz im Zimmer für 5 Reisende
Location: Meer, Portofino
Alles da was in einem 3-Sterne- Hotel dabei sein muss.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, England

Fantastic hotel in great location

Posted Sep 29, 2016
We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Vesuvio for our 10 year wedding anniversary and loved it! We'd booked a room with sea view and were fortunate to be given a large corner room with a second balcony too ('partial sea view'). From the moment we arrived the staff were nothing short of welcoming and friendly, giving information about local sights (including the regular ferries to Santa Margherita/Portofino/San Fruttuoso...which are a must, and the ferry point only across the road). San Fruttuoso had the most beautiful inlet for swimming too - a stunning coastline. The hotel is within 5 or so minutes walk of the train station (direct line from Genoa Brignole), located on the promenade with many restaurants and cafes nearby. The room was perfect - amazing view, cleaned daily with ensuite having both shower/bath. Nothing more needed! Breakfast was help-yourself continental with cereals, fruit, breads, pastries, meats and cheeses. A great start to the day and to watch the world go by on the Promenade outside. Loved it and loved the area! We'll be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. And the personal service.
Cons: A few basic amenities. A shelf in the shower. Some more storage (perhaps night tables with drawers). Reconfigure some rooms so that they are larger
Location: Great location across from water and promenade and in the middle of many good restaurants. We did not have a bad meal in any of them. Close to bus
We arrived early and the room was ready (Yes!). This hotel/B&B is small (about 20 rooms). Owners are very accommodating and personable and helpful in every way. Can't say enough good things about them. But, our room was terribly small. We have traveled extensively and are aware that many European hotel rooms are small, but I think this was one of the smallest we've stayed in. It was Room 401 and probably the smallest in the hotel. Please, try not to book this room. We were there for 4 nights after spending a week in Genoa, so had a lot of luggage. There was some storage, but not too much. We had to stack our suitcases on top of each other and walk single file. The room only held a bed, wardrobe, nightstands - and we had to live out of our suitcase for the 5 days. The bathroom was even worse. VERY tiny shower and NO SHELF in the shower. You had to juggle soap, shampoo, conditioner in your hands and bend down to put them on the shower floor. We are older and it was very dangerous. The shower floor was slippery, so we asked (and received) a mat. But, they really need to add someplace to put the soap. Also, there are no basic amenities. There was a shower cap (used it - not replaced) and shower gel/shampoo combined. That's it! No conditioner, no lotion, and NO TISSUES. Really, these are basic amenities that should be provided. The Continental breakfast was adequate, but not great. Cold cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, pastries. No hot food. Pleasant breakfast room
4 out of 5
by Valerie

Diappointing

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival we were very disappointed in the room and facilities. We sent a review to Hotels.com which was also received by the hotel and the next morning most things were rectified.There was still no place to hang the towels and nowhere is the very very small shower for soap etc. The room was far too small for a stay of 5 nights but I understand these annoyances could not be fixed overnight and the room cannot be changed therefor the charge should be lower.Hotel Vesuvio is in a great location and the staff and Management a very professional. We enjoyed our chats with Luciano. Luciano seemed a little annoyed that we hadn't spoken to him first but for 165.00 euro p/n we didn't think we should have to.
5 out of 5
by justine from Bethune

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Séjour très agréable quartier très vivant et personnel très sympathique
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from schweiz

Perfekt für Altstadtbummel sowie Strandnähe

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Ebookers
Idyllische Altstadt zum Schlemmen und Geniessen.Lange Spaziergänge der Promenade entlang. Alleine oder zu zweit immer schön was los.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrew from hawaii

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The staff/owners were incredibly helpful right from the start and the room was great. They told us where to go to see the best stuff and were incredibly helpful leaving as well. If you can, ask for a direct ocean view room. We had one to the side but the room and view was still very nice.
5 out of 5
by Christian from Stockholm

Great hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely loved this hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful staff who always had time to help out, give information about Rapallo and the surroundings etc. I was staying in one of the single bed rooms with a balcony offering views over the harbour and the room was kept clean during the visit and the room was big enough. Breakfast was good and again the staff very helpful. The wi-fi in the hotel was fast and above all stable which isn't always the case in hotels. This is clearly the hotel of choice in Rapallo, I can't think of anything to complain about. Great staff and probably the best location in the whole town. I will absolutely come back again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Stephan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels