Ratings based on 1,299 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Cheap Hotel in Portsmouth

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Price.
Cons: Care of furniture, bedding, and carpet.
Location: Many breweries, (Shipyard, 7th Settlement, Portsmouth Brewery, Red Hook, North Country Hard Cider, etc...) are nearby. The outlets in Kittery.
My girlfriend and I wanted to get away for the weekend and we decided on the Kittery, ME / Portsmouth, NH area. This hotel came up and was super cheap. Check-in was easy and the room was clean. However, there were cigarette burns on the carpeting and on the bedding. We had a great time, but spent little time in the room itself. If it wasn't for the super cheap price, the tone of this review may be different.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Mikaela- Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Derek, thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you were about to enjoy the different attractions in the area. You will be happy to hear that we are beginning renovations this month. Every room in the hotel will be renovated from top to bottom with new furniture, carpets, bedding, etc. The entire hotel will have a fresh, new look. I hope you will come by and see us again and check out some of our changes
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel has bedbugs!

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Absolutely terrible place. I only decided to book it because i was in town for one night, and just needed a place to sleep and take a shower. I checked in late, and around 3 am i noticed something crawling on me - it was a bedbug. I had to get out of the hotel right away, and when i let the person at the front desk now (i brought a bug that i killed on a towel to show them), they were not even surprised. Not to mention, they never apologized or anything! So i'm assuming they know the "situation" they have going on. Also, the rooms next to me kept on getting deliveries of what i could only hope was pizza late at night, but i doubt that what it was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Mikaela- Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
I am sorry for your poor experience with our hotel. Our management staff takes every claim very seriously. Our manager called in professionals to check the room over from top to bottom. There was no signs of bed bugs but we did have the room cleaned an a precaution. This was an isolated incident. We have not had any reports about any other rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe, comfortable and a great value.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast (included), very clean, bargain-priced in-house laundry ($2 wash, $1.50 dry). Good car location just off Portsmouth circle, but not an easy walk downtown. No pool, but access to pool at Best Western across the street (just show your America's Best key & bring your own towels).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Mikaela- Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of the pool at our sister property, The Holiday Inn. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

very close to highway

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: staff, accommodations and breakfast a nice variety
Cons: the thickness of the walls, listened to a baby next cry all morning and woke me up
Location: shop, bingo
experience was good staff was very professional, water pressure in shower was very good for the third flood
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Mikaela- Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Linda, Thank you for taking the time to review our property.. I am glad that you enjoyed the time you spent here with us. I am sorry about the noise. We are a 24 hour front desk and we are always available to assist you with anything that we can. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maine

Not impressed

Posted Jan 19, 2017
We reserved a king room and got 2 queens no biggie. We were in the basement old smoking rooms. The smell was over whelming. Asked to be changed put us in a room with 2 fulls. Which was fine, however I think the mattresses were from the 1800's. Asked for a extra blanket and got a sheet they were out of blankets not good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Mikaela- Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Bean912, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, America's Best Inn of Portsmouth, NH. I am sorry that we could not accommodate your requests during your most recent visit. We will be renovating the entire building from top to bottom. I hope you will come back and give us another chance. Have a great day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
i WOULD HAVE LIKED A RECEIPT NOW YOU ARE GETTING SO PUSHY I MIGHT HAVE TO LOWER ALL RATING.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Mikaela- Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
I am sorry that we were unable to give to you a receipt during your stay. If you booked online through a 3rd party, such as Expedia, then we are unable to issue a receipt per Expedia's policy. But you can contact then and they would be happy to issue you one. If you booked directly with a member of our hotel we can email you one. If you have anymore questions please contact us at the hotel. Enjoy your day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Good hotel The staff at this hotel are very friendly people. They are also very willing to be helpful. For example the week before last I sprained and ankle badly on my way out of work. I was trying to tough it out but as the evening wore on the swelling and pain increased to the point where I would've killed for an aspirin or something. I called the front desk and the person working there brought me up some Tylenol which is the only reason I got any sleep at night at all. Kudos and thank you so much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Mikaela- Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so glad to hear that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. I hope you will come see us again soon, hopefully injury free so you can enjoy yourself a bit more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean warm hotel, easy accessible

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Easy accessible, close to Portsmouth
Cons: N/a
Location: Close to Portsmouth, very pretty town. Also close to Kittery for shopping in Outlets
Very friendly staff on front desk. Hotel was very clean and warm. Breakfast was self service but adequate choice in cereal, toast, fruit, bagels etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Mikaela- Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope that you will join us again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay more enjoyable during your next stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangor, Maine

Short drive to downtown.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
We were spending one night in the Portsmouth area doing some Christmas shopping. Hotel was fine for an overnight ....small, worn room. Beware of Portsmouth parking meters and enforcement! Might rethink a return trip for that reason.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Mikaela- Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
David, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our rooms are going to be renovated and updated this winter so they will have a brand- new look in the spring. As far as heading down town the parking can be difficult. Our front desk staff can recommend alternate transportation into the downtown area.