Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

Memorial stay

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Loud, lack of cleanliness, 2 police cars out front one morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Margie , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. Yes police cars where here but they went to every hotel that morning looking for someone of interested . We take great pride in the cleanliness if there is ever anything you need please call the front desk at any time and we will do what ever we can to fit it. We hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very loud traffic small rooms breakfast mediocre

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Wouldn't recommend this hotel price is good that's it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you again
4 out of 5
by Charles

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester MA

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Pretty clean hotel. Continent breakfast was good. bed was pretty comfortable.
Cons: Hotel decor was a little dated
Location: Location was excellent and not far from Downtown Portsmouth. This was a major selling point for me in deciding to book a room here.
Room was perfect for what I needed as a last minute booking. I was attending a conference in the area and the conference hotel location was fully booked. Only needed one night and this worked out great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your Kind review of our Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Portsmouth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Mass

Relaxing place to stay

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Cons: Breakfast was just OK. Only hot option was waffles.
Location: Short drive to downtown Portsmouth. Great for walking around downtown. Tons of shopping options within a short drive.
Location is right off the highway. Easy access to downtown Portsmouth, or the malls and shopping. Clean nicely run hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are very pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth, NH.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean with paper thin walls and flo

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Room was fine if you don't mind looking out at a parking lot on a level with your windows. Curtains did not shut properly. We had to endure the constant walking and running of occupants in room above us. We were also treated to their selection of tv shows which were loud and clear in our room. During the middle of the night we were again subjected to an audio disturbance. This time someone talking on the phone for a very long time. The shower was nice though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are looking into the Issues you have mentioned . Please remember at anytime feel free to call the front desk and they will help you in anyway they can, by calling the loud room even walking the halls to see who is running around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should be called the Barge Inn and Suites

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was fine and as advertised. It was just about a mile to town which meant easy drive, walk, or UBER. The pool/hot tub area was great - clean and roomy. And the breakfast was adequate (and as advertised). My only complaint was that at 9:15 on the morning we were checking out (check out time was 11am) the manager let herself into our room (without so much as knocking, let alone calling to see if we were in) and acted surprised that we were there or that I was notably perturbed that she walked in. Fortunately we were dressed and in the process of packing up but had she walked in 15 minutes earlier it would have been a different story. She wasn't all that apologetic until I reemphasized that regardless of what her housekeeping sheet said she should never ever let herself into a room without knocking first. I will be complaining to Hotels.com and the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us . We will look into what happen that day. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very good,affordable, convenient hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Convenient to I-95 and a short drive to downtown Portsmouth.
I booked this hotel through Expedia because the rate and location were what I needed to attend a nearby wedding. . However, I was more than pleased. The staff were friendly and helpful, even changing my room to an upper floor when I checked in an agreeable manner.. The pool and hot tub were pleasant surprises, as as the free Continental breakfast, including a waffle iron. :) Only suggestions: breakfast on a Saturday ended at 9 a.m. , a bit early. On the other hand, the pool was open till 11 p.m. -- so I had a nice dip when I returned from the wedding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and we do hope you will visit again on your next trip to Portsmouth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murrells Inlet, SC

Pleasantly Surprised! Fantastic Newly Remodeled!

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: We felt welcomed by outstanding staff, especially Cameron the young man who was the Manager.In addition, the place is looking pretty spiff.
Cons: After the 2nd floor is finished, it will be perfect!
Location: Downtown is great! Great walking town or Uber for 6 bucks. Great dining, pubs and shops. Kittery Mall also.
It was far better than I expected. They appear to be about 80% done their remodeling and it is coming along great! The 1st and 3d floor are completely re done. The pool and hot tub are open and are excellent. The location is great also as we took Uber out in the eve. for eats and drinks and was only a mile away. Altough it is close to the highway we did not hear any cars. Very quiet! The complimentary breakfast was better than expected. Cereal, muffins, coffee, juices, milk, tea, waffles, fruit such as apples, oranges ans bananas. I would also like to commend the staff especially the manager, a very professional young man named Cameron. He was helpful, astute, attentive, professional and knowledgeable. He is clearly a great asset to the hotel and we hope that his superior know that. He made our experience outstanding with direction help, early check in help, and such a calm demeanor when he was in the middle of a busy check-in time. In addition.....I just looked at some negative reviews and I have to say that some of the things guests stated are innaccurate or exaggerated. The bathrooms were clearly average size, beds VERY comfortable, great breakfast for FREE.As far as breakfast, go down about 10 min before it is over and there are only a few people there and yes, the food is still there. They left coffee and tea out all day. Yes, for a time their pool and hot tub were
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel and Staff. We look forward to your stay here with us again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safe, Convenient -

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Solid, safe, clean, place with good front desk, a little noisy where we were next to the employee stairway, but otherwise fine. It's close to highway access, easy in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our Hotel and Staff. We so hope to see you again on your next trip to Portsmouth.