Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very good,affordable, convenient hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Convenient to I-95 and a short drive to downtown Portsmouth.
I booked this hotel through Expedia because the rate and location were what I needed to attend a nearby wedding. . However, I was more than pleased. The staff were friendly and helpful, even changing my room to an upper floor when I checked in an agreeable manner.. The pool and hot tub were pleasant surprises, as as the free Continental breakfast, including a waffle iron. :) Only suggestions: breakfast on a Saturday ended at 9 a.m. , a bit early. On the other hand, the pool was open till 11 p.m. -- so I had a nice dip when I returned from the wedding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and we do hope you will visit again on your next trip to Portsmouth
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wauwatosa, United States of America

Staff are friendly and always ready to help.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Good location. Close to downtown Newport & the Mall of Kittery.
Adjoining room doors have poor sound proofing. We had to keep tv on & sound up so we don't hear the next room constant coming & going traffic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Sorry to hear about the noise from the other room. Please feel free to call to the front desk and let them know about the noise . We will always try to move your room if you'd like if another one is available .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OLD

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL AND LEAVING
Cons: room and bath room were dirty shower had paint pealing in the tub also breakfast closed at 9 AM but ran out of food at 8:30 AM
STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL AND THAT WAS ABOUT IT
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great quiet location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Only a 5 minute drive from downtown Portsmouth and pretty inexpensive compared to other hotels in the city. Awesome staff and cool hot tub. Definitely bring your own towels and toiletries because the quality isn't there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for all of us here at The Anchorage Inns & Suites
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Fine hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: good location, clean, affordable
Cons: the hotel wasn't updated: we were looking forward to the pool and hot tub which were advertised, but were out of order when we got there indefinitely.
Location: right outside of the center of activity so it was quiet, but easily accessible to central Portsmouth. Boat tours, dining, drinks, shopping nearby
This hotel was reasonably priced, located in a good location in comparison to the center of activity in Portsmouth, and the room was nice, clean and safe. The breakfast was nice as well
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review of our hotel . We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Portsmouth
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Decent Hotel Close to Highway

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Room was clean and comfortable. Free wifi and breakfast are great pluses.
Cons: Room key cards were "iffy"; we had to try several times to get our room open every time.
Location: Everything you could need is within about 1.5 miles of the hotel. Very good location, easy on and off I-95.
We stayed over on Thursday/Friday nights for a class reunion in downtown Portsmouth. Hotel is decent for the price. Free coffee all the time in lobby. Parts of hotel are being remodeled. New carpet was just installed throughout. Free parking is apparently a huge bonus for this area. Staff was very nice, even walking to our room to open the door with keycard once when we couldn't get it to work. We didn't get up in time for breakfast. :-) We'd stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

FAIR

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
THE ROOM WAS SMALL AND STUFFY THE AC DID NOT WORK VERY WELL PLUS THE FREE BREAKFAST WAS MOSTLY CERAL AND TOAST AND COFFEE NO EGGS OR MEAT I WOULD SKIP IT AND GO TO THE ROUNDABOUT RESTURANT ACROSS THE STREET
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Desayuno terrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sherbrooke

Le moins chers !

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: La localisation et j'ai trouvé sympathique le petit mot laissé par la femme de chambre nous remerciant d'avoir choisi cet hôtel.
Cons: Réparer la piscine/Jaccuzzi, voir à ce que ça sente bon et réparer les bris généraux et revoir la qualité du personnel
Location: Très bien, soit à environ 10 minutes de voitures de Potsmouth et très près de l'autoroute 95.
Nous avons choisi cet Hôtel car il était le moins chers... mais à quel prix! Bref, la chambre puait la vieille serviette humide, la piscine était vide et brisé, ainsi que le Jaccuzi. Mon collègue se lève dans la nuit par insomnie et décide d'aller marcher et voit le tenancier de nuit qui surveille l'hôtel complètement soul. Les coussins de lit était sale. La porte de toilette était horriblement bruyante et difficile à fermer. Aller voir la personne à l'accueil pour avoir des informations sur les activités et se faire dire qu'on devrait aller voir sur google, car elle ne comprend pas la map et qu'elle ne sort pas souvent de chez elle, car elle est du genre pantouflarde à la maison avec ses 3 enfants; bref on s'est débrouillé seul. Avoir su, j'aurais payé quelques dollars de plus pour les hôtels avoisinants qui avait la même localisation et semblait mieux.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do hope you will come and visit us again to see the great changes we have been doing to the hotel.