Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester MA

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Pretty clean hotel. Continent breakfast was good. bed was pretty comfortable.
Cons: Hotel decor was a little dated
Location: Location was excellent and not far from Downtown Portsmouth. This was a major selling point for me in deciding to book a room here.
Room was perfect for what I needed as a last minute booking. I was attending a conference in the area and the conference hotel location was fully booked. Only needed one night and this worked out great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your Kind review of our Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Portsmouth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very good,affordable, convenient hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Convenient to I-95 and a short drive to downtown Portsmouth.
I booked this hotel through Expedia because the rate and location were what I needed to attend a nearby wedding. . However, I was more than pleased. The staff were friendly and helpful, even changing my room to an upper floor when I checked in an agreeable manner.. The pool and hot tub were pleasant surprises, as as the free Continental breakfast, including a waffle iron. :) Only suggestions: breakfast on a Saturday ended at 9 a.m. , a bit early. On the other hand, the pool was open till 11 p.m. -- so I had a nice dip when I returned from the wedding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and we do hope you will visit again on your next trip to Portsmouth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wauwatosa, United States of America

Staff are friendly and always ready to help.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Good location. Close to downtown Newport & the Mall of Kittery.
Adjoining room doors have poor sound proofing. We had to keep tv on & sound up so we don't hear the next room constant coming & going traffic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Sorry to hear about the noise from the other room. Please feel free to call to the front desk and let them know about the noise . We will always try to move your room if you'd like if another one is available .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OLD

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL AND LEAVING
Cons: room and bath room were dirty shower had paint pealing in the tub also breakfast closed at 9 AM but ran out of food at 8:30 AM
STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL AND THAT WAS ABOUT IT
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great quiet location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Only a 5 minute drive from downtown Portsmouth and pretty inexpensive compared to other hotels in the city. Awesome staff and cool hot tub. Definitely bring your own towels and toiletries because the quality isn't there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for all of us here at The Anchorage Inns & Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Fine hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: good location, clean, affordable
Cons: the hotel wasn't updated: we were looking forward to the pool and hot tub which were advertised, but were out of order when we got there indefinitely.
Location: right outside of the center of activity so it was quiet, but easily accessible to central Portsmouth. Boat tours, dining, drinks, shopping nearby
This hotel was reasonably priced, located in a good location in comparison to the center of activity in Portsmouth, and the room was nice, clean and safe. The breakfast was nice as well
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review of our hotel . We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Portsmouth
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Decent Hotel Close to Highway

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Room was clean and comfortable. Free wifi and breakfast are great pluses.
Cons: Room key cards were "iffy"; we had to try several times to get our room open every time.
Location: Everything you could need is within about 1.5 miles of the hotel. Very good location, easy on and off I-95.
We stayed over on Thursday/Friday nights for a class reunion in downtown Portsmouth. Hotel is decent for the price. Free coffee all the time in lobby. Parts of hotel are being remodeled. New carpet was just installed throughout. Free parking is apparently a huge bonus for this area. Staff was very nice, even walking to our room to open the door with keycard once when we couldn't get it to work. We didn't get up in time for breakfast. :-) We'd stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check the amenities before you go!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
The hotel was located in a decent area (walkable to town) but the room was damp. The pool and hot tub were under repairs (2 weeks into it when we arrived) with no email, notice to guests. Very disappointing. For the price it was ok but will probably look elsewhere next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traffic noise, annoying staff, construction.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Location: A long was from anywhere in Portsmouth
Staff member who checked us in took forever, talked too much, made me promise not to smoke, then put us in a room where someone had been smoking, so we had to ask for another room. The hotel is under renovation so it was a mess. It's right next to the interstate so the traffic noise is loud inside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Need maintenance

Posted Aug 17, 2016
The pool, which I was looking forward to using was closed for maintenance and as I learned been for some time, no mention of it when booking. In the hallways some of the wall covering was falling off and there was no cove base molding just exposed adhesive. The room itself was clean although most of the trim needed painting. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well.