Ratings based on 827 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Convenient, Clean and Comfortable

Posted Oct 23, 2017
No problems. It was a good resting place after a long drive. Breakfast was well laid out and kept very clean. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
The bed was hard as a rock, the pillows (if you could call them that) were flat and almost non existant, and the bedding was flimsy. The walls are paper thin and we constabtly heard a running water sound since we could hear the plumbing perfectly through the thin walls. Spend the extra money and go to the Holiday Inn down the road!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. Please keep in mind there is someone at the desk 24 hours a day to help you with any issues you may have during your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bakersfield,ca

A day in portsmouth

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The staff was great!! loved Portsmouth!! The continental brkfst was just enough to get us on our way the next morning!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ulster County New York

Much Better than Expected!

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Read above. Staff should be commended for their appearance, attitudes, pleasantness and willingness to go the extra mile. Great location.
Location: Portsmouth is very up-to-date but quaint. Great Irish restaurant. Took the harbor boat cruise - well worth it. Lots to see.
After reading many of the reviews, I almost decided not to stat here but we did and I am glad to say, we both enjoyed our stay. Excellent hotel staff, friendly, courteous and more than helpful. Bobby Jean took the time to mark a map so we could find the downtown area and tugboats. Another staff member stopped immediately to help program our tv. Breakfast was most enjoyable and had make your own waffles! It is located right off the highway so you drive right into the hotel parking lot. Really nice pool and a waterfall by the hot tub. Room was attractive and clean as was the bathroom. Bbed fairly comfortable (I like it a bit softer). We stayed two nights and would definitely stay here again when in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Margie , Hotel Management
Thank you for your Kind review, and yes Betty-Jean is our little Gem. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth and we look forward to seeing you then.Thank you again for your stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Keep Looking........

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Cons: See Review
Location: If you don't mind a mile or mile and a half or so walk it is possible to walk downtown. 5-10 minute walk crossing a busy street RoundAbout Diner.
I travel to the Portsmouth area regularly and I simply seek reasonably priced clean, modern accommodations. I am not in need of many other amenities. I have stayed at this property occasionally over recent years and have seen a steady general decline in the condition of the property and services provided even though there was an "up-date" of the property a few years ago. After a wait at check in for someone to come from behind the wall, I waited again as a new employee was trained on the check-in process. The room was clean but showing signs of wear. The closest ice machine was "out of order" requiring a trek to get ice. The continental breakfast (available from 5am to 9am) is limited and was pretty well cleaned out by the time I was ready to eat at 8am. It appears there is a clientele that get up early to get to the worksite/jobsite and they must have been hungry! I watched an employee who felt the need to perform basic housekeeping in the breakfast area while I ate, drop the cleaning cloth on the floor she was cleaning the counter with and simply pick it up and continue with cleaning the counter. Overall, while I have found this property in the past to be a good value but this time I paid the going rate of area hotels. I will keep looking for other value accommodations in the Portsmouth area for future trips.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Margie , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. Yes we do go behind the wall of the desk to clean the back area at times and we do need to train people at check in so they may learn how to do the job correctly. We are sorry if this inconvenienced you in anyway. Breakfast is stocked up till 8:45 am if there is ever anything out or low please feel free to ask someone for assistance for something, and we do need to do cleaning of the breakfast area while people are in the area so we may clean up after people. I will look into the dropping of the towel that is not something we allow in any way. We do hope you will change your mind and come and see us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

close to highway

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Was quiet for sleeping plus close to highways
Cons: Needs a bar and grill
Location: Wasn.t there long enough.
Was ok, but only stayed for one night. No restaurant or lounge, disappointing in that respect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and yes we do not have a restaurant on site but we do have a great one right across the street. And we are only 1.5 miles from downtown and there is a lot to choice from there as well. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Beach and good restaurants, downtown Portsmouth was a plus, loved it.
It was a nice hotel, the pool on the inside was not what I expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Margie , Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
This is a terrible hotel, and not safe. I don't intend to use Expedia again for our travel arrangement. E. Dunn
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
We are sorry you felt unsafe here at our hotel. Their is someone here 24 hours a day and we walk the halls and the grounds all the time to make sure all is well and everyone is safe. During your stay we addressed all of your concerns even offered to move your room and you didn't want too. We are sorry that all we offered and tried to do didn't meet your standard.
3 out of 5
by daniel

Mixed feelings

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
All was good except the thinness of the ceiling. If you stay there, make sure that you book an upstairs room not one on the lower level. It sounded like a herd of elephants above us. Also checking in took time only one person was on duty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, We are sorry you heard people above you that does happen from time to time. I am sorry to hear you arrived in between or after the 2nd front desk person was here or went home. We will work harder at that issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review we wish you would of added some comments so we would of known how you enjoyed your stay here with us. We do hope to see you again.