Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

should hold a block of rooms

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Just stayed at hotel. Room was acceptable when we checked in. Came back from a wedding and room had a strong electrical burning smell. Called front desk they came and agreed. Could not find the source and assured me there was no danger. Asked for a manager but apparently managers do not stay after office hours. Asked for a new room and was told they were completely sold out. We were stuck to remove the noxious smell ourselves-no help from the hotel! We had no where else to go and were told there could be no credit for the room due to booking on Expedia. We asked to be moved to another room and we were told that they were totally booked. Highly unsatisfactory and would not recommend this hotel due to their inability to resolve problems and deliver a safe and good nights sleep to its guests. I also witnessed another guest at the front desk complaining and was visibly upset. Not sure what her complaint was but who knows maybe she had the same bad experience. You pay to sleep in a safe place but this hotel failed to deliver. This hotel gets an F but could get an A if they changed their booking policies and had a manager there 24X7 who could make things right. No happy memories but the Wedding was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by CJ Shaw, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent visit with us. Guest's feedback is our greatest tool that we use to enhance our performance and ensure that we are improving and exceeding our guest's expectations. I understand the frustrations expressed would like to express our sincerest apologies. This negative deterrent does not reflect our true operational performance and we truly apologize. We strive to provide first class service and give the best product possible to all of our guest and I am sorry that we failed to do so during your short visit. Please rest assured that this was an isolated issue. Again, we greatly appreciate your understanding we look forward to better serving you in the future. Thank you for your time and continued patronage with Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
I needed a hotel close to family or a short quick vacation. Courtyard by Marriott provided everything I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

near downtown , friendly staff and great shuttle

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Booked this hotel for our anniversary night . The staff was very friendly and informative . Our room was clean and comfy :) The shuttle staff was awesome and helped us get back downtown after our dinner .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Close to shopping . Safe hotel. Nice pool and exercise room .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2016
It was a great stay and the staff is amazing. The hotel has a van to take you into Portsmouth so you can enjoy everything that has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from western mass

nice hotel near the beach and shopping centers

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Location: we love the diner nearby
Hotel staff were courteous and welcoming upon arrival. Suggested using the pool and hot tub. They were both relaxing. Great snack supply down in the lobby. AM coffee excellent. Would be better if breakfast was all inclusive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The fire alarm went off on our floor at 2:00 am on

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: The room was nice.
Cons: Alarm system
Location: Xxx
The fire alarm went off at 2:00 am on our first night. The hotel had no way to turn it off so. We had to sleep in the car. It was Labor day and all other hotels were sold out. It' s unthinkable that the only person who knew how o turn it off lived 4 hours away. This situation ruined the entire trip as we were too tired to enjoy the weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great people, use their courtesy Van.

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Start thinking upgrades from the 60's.
Location: Down tone Portsmouth a lovely, great town. Foodies, brew pubs, shopping. Kittery is across the river!
We've stayed a number of times and it's an okay hotel, should start thinking about some room upgrades though. Price is always right, a five minute straight to town and restaurants, bars, brew pubs, boutique shops. front desk excellent, staff from maids to bartenders great people, alert and friendly. Surprisingly quiet that close to I95! I did notice a couple if their meeting rooms full, they do a good business there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Too far from the action

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Hot tub
Cons: Decor, rugs removed, only one elevator.
Expedia initially booked us in the wrong town, we had wanted to be booked at a certain hotel in Portsmouth, NH and they booked us in another town on Portsmouth Street. After spending 45 minutes on the phone we spoke with a manager who recommended this hotel. It was dated, smelly, had mold growing in the room, which caused my husband major allergies and was too far from the city centre to walk. We did not like it at all and were very displeased with the recommendation. There was a fire alarm at 3:40AM in the morning due to a malfunction on one night and no information was given to us, we had to inquire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect distance from town

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. Our room smelled a little but it subsided (can't explain it) but other than that it was a perfect stay.