Ratings based on 674 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautifully appointed "boutique feel"hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Loved it immediately! The location was perfect! Right in the middle of all of the action in downtown Portsmouth. The service was courteous and professional. Our check in and check out times honestly took less than 5 minutes each. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Great place to stay!!!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The staff was wonderful and friendly. The hotel was so clean! The bar was fabulous with live music and all. And great location, walking distance to all the great spots!! It was a fantastic weekend!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Good location to Portsmouth amenities

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Nice room in a great town but definitely not worth the 173.00 dollar per night charge we paid. This price does not include free parking- they charge another 25$ for that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Ron, Hotel Management
K, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent time in Portsmouth. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful town and will consider staying with us the next time your travels bring you to the area. -Ron Rockelein, General Manager
4 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Nice hotel for weekend getaway

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location and hotel staff
Cons: Better temperature control for the rooms
We booked this hotel for a weekend getaway with a group of friends. It is located close to the main downtown area. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff was helpful with suggestions for local restaurants and activities. The weekend breakfast buffet was good and included many classic breakfast dishes cooked to order and brought to your table.
5 out of 5
by Shanyelle

convieient and clean

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
love the bartender, hotel is so inviting, warm, clean. love the lobby and great breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a few minor issues.

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, spacious, comfortable rooms, terrific staff. Three minor complaints, two about the restaurant: First, the coffee is terrible. No excuse for that anymore. It's too easy to get some starbucks or some other decent coffee. Second, the hotel services guidebook says that kids 12 and under eat breakfast for free, but they charged me twice for my 12-year old son. The first time I asked that the charge be removed and the waitstaff did so, but not until telling me that it was generous of them even to give my 9-year old daughter free breakfast. The second time I just paid it. Finally, there is no free parking. You can either handle parking on your own or pay the $25/night to valet it. I think hiding the parking fees is misleading customers about the price per night. Maybe in NYC it should cost more, but not in NH. Overall a nice hotel with good staff, but they should fix these minor issues.
5 out of 5
by David

Unbeatable Location and Modern Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is an excellent value, as the location is unbeatable. You're right in the middle of Portsmouth which is a beautiful town with lots of restaurants, boutiques and by the seaside. The hotel is impeccable, rooms big and modern and staff very friendly. There is also a free coffee and hot chocolate bar in the lobby which is a nice plus. The pool and hot tub are fine, nothing fancy but good for the kids. We come back to Portsmouth every year and always stay at this hotel.
1 out of 5
by Edward

Great staff negated by bad bed an bar.

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The mattress was awful and the sheet was short making an otherwise fun weekend terrible. Also, while pleasant enough, the bar serves very weak drinks but charges premium prices
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Edward, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent time in Portsmouth. While are very happy to hear you had great interactions with our staff, we are sorry for the short comings you experienced. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us in the future for an improved experience. -Ron Rockelein, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bar Harbor

Ok place, not worth what you pay

Posted Dec 20, 2016
First of all we had to pay $25 a night for valet parking. The only other option was the parking garage across the street and it was the same amount. The only time we got our cat in a timely fashion was when we were checking out! Otherwise usually it was almost a 30 minute wait. Once we actually asked the girl at the front desk, very politely where our cars were. She went back to check and said they're on their way. We went outside 5 minutes later to check, again. And still no cars. Luckily we ran into one of the valets who asked why we were still waiting around for so long. He showed us the key wall so we could find the keys on our own. And right there in front of us were the or keys. 45 mins of wait time and no one had even touched our keys. That's just ridiculous, especially when you're not busy! Second of all being room cleanliness. It was OK but there were a couple of stains on the sheets. Not to mention that the bed frame was too big for the mattress so we kept ruining into it. shower floor was also pretty dirty from obvious neglect. Find a Tootsie roll under our sheets. Pretty sure it wasn't left by staff. All in all I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It's simply not worth the money with the bad service. Next time I'll go to the courtyard