Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon, CT

Excellent hotel in prime location

Posted May 15, 2017
The best location of any hotel in the city. Market Square and the Waterfront are easily walkable. The room was well-appointed in a modern decor. Beds were very comfortable and the bedroom and bathroom were both extremely clean. You could not hear any noise from the street or from other rooms. The restaurant was surpsingly good. Made to order breakfast was better than most hotels. A small salt water pool and a hot tub were perfect for our overnight with a 3-year old and a 1-year old. There is no parking on-site but there is a city garage directly across the street ($25/day). Overall, for a 3-star hotel it exceeded our expectations (and for context, I am someone who travels frequently for business and often stay at 5 star hotels). A good value and perfect hotel if you're looking to explore downtown Portsmouth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
I love this hotel. Walking distance to everything. Very clean and updated. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautifully appointed "boutique feel"hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Loved it immediately! The location was perfect! Right in the middle of all of the action in downtown Portsmouth. The service was courteous and professional. Our check in and check out times honestly took less than 5 minutes each. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms very clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
The location was great, and the staff was fantastic, however, the pillows had no substance at all, and there was a faint musty smell
5 out of 5
by eileen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by debra

PORTSMOUTH STAY

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
GREAT PEOPLE AT HOTEL! GOOD LOCATION . BEDS NEED An UPGRADE
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice lobby, clean room with a great view. Pool was not very nice, jacuzzi was dirty. Tv was difficult to use and no pay per view options.
3 out of 5
by Eric

Add on fees that you should know before the bill

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
They were very friendly but I didn't like the fact that I was hit for extra charges. Parking, breakfast, etc. it would have been nice to know before hand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Eric, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn during your time in Portsmouth. We are glad you were treated well by our friendly, hardworking staff. To prevent our guests from experiencing unexpected fees, we are transparent with our prices on both our brand website and Hotels.com. Our parking is listed as $25/day and our cooked-to-order breakfast is offered for a charge of $12.95/person + tax. We do hope you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area. -Ron Rockelein, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Great place to stay!!!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The staff was wonderful and friendly. The hotel was so clean! The bar was fabulous with live music and all. And great location, walking distance to all the great spots!! It was a fantastic weekend!!!
5 out of 5
by William

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed convienance of location to downtown, expect to pay for parking either valet or parking garage across the street.