Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon, CT

Excellent hotel in prime location

Posted May 15, 2017
The best location of any hotel in the city. Market Square and the Waterfront are easily walkable. The room was well-appointed in a modern decor. Beds were very comfortable and the bedroom and bathroom were both extremely clean. You could not hear any noise from the street or from other rooms. The restaurant was surpsingly good. Made to order breakfast was better than most hotels. A small salt water pool and a hot tub were perfect for our overnight with a 3-year old and a 1-year old. There is no parking on-site but there is a city garage directly across the street ($25/day). Overall, for a 3-star hotel it exceeded our expectations (and for context, I am someone who travels frequently for business and often stay at 5 star hotels). A good value and perfect hotel if you're looking to explore downtown Portsmouth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
I love this hotel. Walking distance to everything. Very clean and updated. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautifully appointed "boutique feel"hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Loved it immediately! The location was perfect! Right in the middle of all of the action in downtown Portsmouth. The service was courteous and professional. Our check in and check out times honestly took less than 5 minutes each. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms very clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Eric

Add on fees that you should know before the bill

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
They were very friendly but I didn't like the fact that I was hit for extra charges. Parking, breakfast, etc. it would have been nice to know before hand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Eric, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn during your time in Portsmouth. We are glad you were treated well by our friendly, hardworking staff. To prevent our guests from experiencing unexpected fees, we are transparent with our prices on both our brand website and Hotels.com. Our parking is listed as $25/day and our cooked-to-order breakfast is offered for a charge of $12.95/person + tax. We do hope you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area. -Ron Rockelein, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Great place to stay!!!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The staff was wonderful and friendly. The hotel was so clean! The bar was fabulous with live music and all. And great location, walking distance to all the great spots!! It was a fantastic weekend!!!
5 out of 5
by William

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed convienance of location to downtown, expect to pay for parking either valet or parking garage across the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Good location to Portsmouth amenities

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Nice room in a great town but definitely not worth the 173.00 dollar per night charge we paid. This price does not include free parking- they charge another 25$ for that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Ron, Hotel Management
K, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent time in Portsmouth. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful town and will consider staying with us the next time your travels bring you to the area. -Ron Rockelein, General Manager
4 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Nice hotel for weekend getaway

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location and hotel staff
Cons: Better temperature control for the rooms
We booked this hotel for a weekend getaway with a group of friends. It is located close to the main downtown area. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff was helpful with suggestions for local restaurants and activities. The weekend breakfast buffet was good and included many classic breakfast dishes cooked to order and brought to your table.
5 out of 5
by Shanyelle

convieient and clean

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
love the bartender, hotel is so inviting, warm, clean. love the lobby and great breakfast