Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel near UNH

Posted May 7, 2017
My 3rd stay in 3 years. Very convenient for visiting UNH and NEARFEST in DEERFIELD NH. Only negative this time was construction which impacted the breakfast bar; in addition, the complimentary coffee was cold a few times.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Cindy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 Star review. Yes we are updating the hotel and doing the best we can to make our hotel as comfortable as possible for our guests during their stays. We did have to move our breakfast room for a short period of time while we renovate the new one. Sorry for any inconvenience. We look forward to your next stay with us when we are completely finished. Enjoy your travels. Cindy Ladd
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Excellent location for my visit.
Cons: Open the breakfast buffet earlier. I was luckily able to be flexible with my time, but the people I work with at the university like to start early.
The hotel is well-managed and centrally located in Durham. There is a good selection for the breakfast buffet, but the opening time is a bit late if you have to get an early start (6:30 - 9:30). Rooms are well-appointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Cindy, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and are so happy you enjoyed your stay while visiting UNH. We are in a great location close to UNH and can easily walk to all your campus needs. We have updated our hotel to make it comfortable for all of our guests and hope you will choose to stay with us when your in the area again. Enjoy your travels. Cindy Ladd AGM
4 out of 5
by Robert

Good location in renovated older building

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Nice location within easy walk of restaurants. Breakfast was adequate, but the same hot dishes every day. The room was cold and only became adequately warm by turning the thermostat up to 80. Toilet flapper didn't seat right about 75 percent of the time causing water to continue flowing until it was fixed manually.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our cozy hotel here in Durham, N.H. We appreciate your kind words and 4 star rating. We apologize if you had cool room while here. We very rarely have this happen and would have certainly looked into it promptly. We understand no one likes to be cool in the middle of the winter.We do offer a nice variety of food with our complimentary breakfast and try to keep it different everyday. We are in a great location walking distance to UNH, nice restaurants and local events. Portsmouth and the seacoast area are a short drive for the hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Enjoy your travels! Cindy Ladd AGM
5 out of 5
by Alexander

A nicely appointed hotel in beautiful Durham, NH

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful holiday stay at the HIE in Durham, NH. The staff was friendly and welcoming despite having to work over the Christmas holidays. The rooms were clean, bright and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the nice review of our cozy hotel here in Durham N.H. We really appreciate it and are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay here! Yes we have recently updated our guestrooms and glad you found them to be bright, comfortable and clean. I will share your kind words with our staff. Happy New Year to you, and we hope to see you back in the future. Happy Travels, Cindy Ladd AGM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Easy in and out. Great breakfast.
Location: Very convenient to UNH.
Easy check in check out. Great Quick Breakfast. Good stay if you're on business
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Cindy Ladd - AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review of our cozy hotel here in Durham NH. You are correct about the great location close to UNH as well as many businesses. We are happy you enjoyed your stay along with the clean guestrooms and wonderful breakfast. We try to make most everything quick and easy and happy this worked out well for you. WE hope you will choose to stay with us again when your here for business or pleasure! Enjoy your travels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect. Comfortable. Great location.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the place! We will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Durham. So happy to hear you " Loved the place"! Thank you so much for the 5 star rating. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Enjoy your travels, Cindy AGM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so happy you had a good stay with us here in Durham N.H. We appreciate you giving us the 5 Stars. Our hotel is warm and friendly and in a great location for those visiting UNH and the seacoast area. I hope you will be able to visit us again in the future. Thank you, Cindy Ladd
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Have stayed here multiple times. Renovating throughout 2016, although rooms were fine in the past. One of two queen beds had mattress that felt tilted, so used other bed. Bathroom floor looked like it needed a good scrub despite being newly tiled in last year. I have never encountered this in the past. Will definitely still stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the feedback and and will check on our room amenities. We have been renovating the hotel as you know and we are happy for your continued support while we finish updating the guest rooms and public areas. We look forward to having you stay with us again when your visiting the Durham area. Best Regards, Cindy Ladd
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
It was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast had many choices and good coffee. Walking distance to UNH
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Cindy Ladd - AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. We are so happy your stay was comfortable. The staff here is always accommodating and keep the rooms clean as we are updating the entire hotel which will be finished soon. We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast and the coffee ( which I agree is very good ) If your future travels bring you back to the Durham area we hope you choose to stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express. Enjoy..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the 4 Stars you gave our hotel here in Durham N.H. Glad you had a good stay and were happy with the accommodations. When your traveling back to the Durham N.H. area we hope you choose to stay with us . See you again!!! Thank you, Cindy Ladd