Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nicest hotel in the area.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The hotel is easy to find and parking was a breeze. The pool area looked nice but we didn't utilize these facilities.
Cons: Unfortunately the biggest issues for the hotel (small bathrooms, and single elevator) would be very difficult to remedy barring major construction.
The hotel is the nicest hotel in the area. However the rooms are small, the elevator is small (and there is only one) so during busy times getting too and from your room may take some time if your on an upper floor. The hotel feels to have been remodeled recently, however there is nothing that can be done about the cramped rooms and tiny bathroom is our double bed room. While small it was nice enough for our overnight stay to attend a funeral. The hotel also has a nice restaurant and pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by scook350@aol.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. Please stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oh

Comfy and convenient

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Beautiful rooms, comfortable, helpful staff. Close to shopping areas and entertainment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by scook350@aol.com, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2016
The best hotel in Portsmouth, but still only a polished turd. If there was another decent option, I would take it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2016 by scook350@aol.com, Hotel Management
Portsmouth Ohio is a wonderful City with several decent Hotels. I wish you a better stay the next time you visit our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Close to work event. Good restaurant in the hotel, walking distance to shops & food. Wonderful lounge/pool/work-out facilities. A little dirty in the room (stray hairs) and closet for a bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2016 by Sally, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. I will pass on your concerns to the housekeeping Dept. Please stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portsmouth oh

Locked in bathroom

Posted Nov 6, 2015
I was locked in bathroom in my room with no way to get out. Door knob was broken. Finally after 7-10 min I got out Front staff didn't care I ended up late for work
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies. There was a maintenance report concerning the bathroom door the morning of your departure. The Clerk on duty reported the incident, but didn't realize until after you left that your reservation was through Expedia and we didn't have any contact information on you. I hope you return in the future to give us a second chance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

One of the few places I'd stay at in Portsmouth

Posted Oct 10, 2015
This is a very good hotel considering the selection in the area. Overall very happy with my stay. Weird wires strung around my rooms ceiling and had outlets that didn't work. Moldy caulk in shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I will personally check the conditions you commented about. Please stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Almost like being home.

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: The Pool.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Many. Need to develop Riverboat Cruise.
Staff were phenomenal! They handled everything very professionally.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our Hotel and for the nice review. I would love to have a Riverboat Cruise Company in our Area. There is a Riverboat Dinner Cruise that docks here once a year in the Summer (From Cincinnati) and it is Fabulous. Please visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Overpriced and underperforming

Posted Jan 7, 2015
This is the most expensive hotel in Portsmouth. This price point in any other hotel within a 500 mile radius would have much better amenities. The pool looked nice. The first room I was assigned was missing the fridge and microwave, but they quickly assigned another room once pointed out. The building has been poorly remodeled. No sound deadening insulation whatsoever between rooms. I got to listen to every word of a Skype conversation in the ajoining room. I've received better meals at Burger King than what I received from the restaurant downstairs. Microwaved pretzel bites, over cooked crab cakes, burnt onion rings, and a decent salad for over $30.00 once room service gratuity was charged. No complimentary breakfast provided, but off menu options from the resaurant were available. After the previous nights dinner, I took my chances with fast food. Overall, friendly staff, clean but cheaply remodeled room with valueless amenities. I'll risk the Super 8 down the street at a third of the price before ever staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I'm disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us. There is a Fridge and Microwave in all of our King rooms. We are awaiting new order for all of our double rooms, so all rooms will have these items in the future. We have also added the Keurig coffee brewers to all rooms. I will pass on your comments to the Restaurant Management so they can address these issues as well. I do hope you try us again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, OH

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The lobby and the pillow top beds
Location: The flood wall murals are a must see and lots of local pubs and bars. Also the best steak at the Scioto Ribber
We stay at this hotel once a year for the past 9 years and when it changed to Holiday Inn, it has improved 100%
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm very happy you have noticed all the changes over the years and I hope we always make you feel comfortable.
3 out of 5
by traveler from wi

Might be the best your going to get in the area

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Pool area looked nice although I did not make use of it.
Cons: The staff, the parking, the elevators, the coffee area and creamers.
Location: Don't know.
Hotel is not accommodating to guests. I pulled in during a storm, checked in, which was a slow process even when I had booked online, and went to park my vehicle. There were no parking spots available. They told me I'd have to park on street or a couple lots back. They also told me that when people at their bar leave I may have a chance at a spot. I paid a hefty price to lay my head for 8 hours in an old remodeled dump with slow elevators and could not even park my car on property I paid for. Small styrofoam white cups for coffee with only powdered creamer in packets. Don't waste your money here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry you encounter problems at our property. Our Employees take pride in their Guest services, and it looks like this time we let you down. Thank you for letting us know the problems you had. I do hope you will visit us again.