Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Convenient for the dockyards

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: breakfast was very nice with friendly helpful staff arround
Cons: Better signage to find hotel
Location: Very convenient to the Mary Rose Museum which we had come to visit. All dockyards available but we did not have time to stay to visit the rest of it
We initially had a problem finding the entrance to the car park.Breakfast was very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chelmsford

Near to dockyard

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Convenient
Cons: It was like a motel
Location: Close to HMS Victory and dockyards. Not too far from centre.
It was near to the dockyard but the Express is closer. We were told it was a 10 minute walk by reception but it was nearer 20 mins. Taxi was £5.00.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointed

Posted Aug 1, 2017
I booked this hotel with Expedia and was told it was a room with 2 double beds unfortunately my room had 2 single beds that the hotel staff said they could do nothing about as my booking was with Expedia.....very disappointing. Also my room wasn't made up one day. When I phoned to complain they apologised and said the housekeeping staff had all gone home but that they would bring me new towels. After waiting half an hour for the towels I called back. The staff said that they had been waiting for me to call back as they had forgotten my room number! Very disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

HOLIDAY INN PORTSMOUTH

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Being close to all amenities and not having to use the car during our stay.
Cons: The leisure facilities could be cleaned more regularly.
Location: The hotel is close to the university, sea, beach, Mary Rose, HMS Victory and shops and restaurants at Gunwharf.
We had a good time at the holiday Inn in Portsmouth. It is situated close to the beach, university and the Gunwharf entertainment area so we were able to leave the car in the hotel carpark during our stay. I'd read about problems with parking but we had no difficulty. The restaurant in the evening was fine and choice at breakfast time was plentiful. The staff were polite and helpful. The only downside was the fact that towels were not provided for swimming in the leisure facilities, which we have not encountered previously with the Holiday Inn, so we had to purchase some at Gunwharf before we could swim. Also the leisure centre changing rooms were not very clean and on our final day they switch the male and female changing rooms - this regularly happens apparently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Clean and pleasant hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: See above - mainly staff and food.
Cons: Double room very small, more suited to single. Decoration of stairway and swimming pool area is tired. Bar looks nice, but seats are uncomfortable.
Location: Near Gunwharf Quays and Historic Dockyard.
My husband and I stayed for one night during a quick visit to Portsmouth. Hotel staff were very helpful and courteous throughout. We found our room rather small with a tiny bathroom which only really had space for one set of towels (we found the second set in the wardrobe) and only one comfortable chair + 1 office chair. Great to have a pool and jaccuzzi on site although this area was in need of redecoration along with one or two other areas of the hotel. Food: Nice to have access to an all day restaurant and breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
by David

Holiday Inn Southsea

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Love the location and the breakfast is consistently good but the place feels like it is going slightly down market in style these days. Still our favourite place to stay in Southsea.
5 out of 5
by Diogo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Christine

Enjoyed Portsmouth

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Ok. Don't take first floor next to lift and main entry. Noisy. Short walk to Gun Quay. Service could be better at breakfast but food ok. Enjoyed our visit to all the ships in historical harbour.
4 out of 5
by Charles

Not to grumpy

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is clean, tidy and well placed in Portsmouth. The room was very good, however the air-conditioning did not work, the fridge was 'hot'. The bed was not very comfortable for us.(personal view). The staff were informed of the problems and apparently the air con was an ongoing problems on some floors.
5 out of 5
by Alliya

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels