Ratings based on 1,339 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We were just looking for a cheap, basic hotel to stay a few nights in the Portsmouth, NH area. Although a Howard Johnson is by no means a luxury hotel we were very impressed by the quality of what they offered. The staff were very nice and helpful. There was a basic, but nice breakfast. Think the the thing that we were the most impressed with was the cleanliness of our room and the hotel in general. The halls and rooms were freshly painted, and the carpets were very clean. The comforters on the beds also seemed brand new, and they were WHITE, so there was no room for the least little stain! I think this was the first time I stayed in a hotel that had almost TOO MANY pillows on the bed! Highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean rooms, friendly staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
My kids loved the bright fun colors in the room. It was updated and clean. A great option for a lower budget visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Get the old cigarette smell out of the rooms
Location: Good location near interstate
This hotel is undergoing remodeling, which caused some inconvenience. Our room smelled like old cigarette smoke, so it was obviously formerly a smoking room. The breakfast was scant. The location was good. Overall it was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Hotel was very good and good location local sites.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Price and convenient to Portsmouth sites...
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Our trip was to visit family.
During our stay the hotel was being renovated, which made parking inconvenient. I believe the renovations are now completed & and things are now better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean hotel right off the highway easy on our gre

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Nice beds clean sheets water good breakfast Easy on and off from Highway a really good diner cross the street for burgers and eggs and eggs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but no swimming pool

Posted Jul 5, 2017
My room tub and sink was Water was draining slow and pillow was like a rock Sprain my neck
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin South Carolina

Disapointing

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Good location. Good price.
Cons: See items above
Location: Good location. Plenty to see and do nearby.
Nobody knew which rooms were ready for customers. Workers were still painting in the room. Still installing door knobs. We never got the chair that was supposed to be in the room. Maid had trouble understanding English.
4 out of 5
by John

Nice Option in Portsmouth Area

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for the UNH Graduation. The staff was fantastic - there was some renovation going on but it didn't impact the comfort. The room was perfect for the purposes we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Posted May 19, 2017
Perfect location for what we needed and the woman who checked us in was amazing! She set the tone for the experience. Clean, nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Nick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels